We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm lake, great place to end the day after a hike!”

Alice Lake Provincial Park
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Squamish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic park contains four lakes and is perfect for hiking and swimming.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Warm lake, great place to end the day after a hike!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We started our day parking at Shannon Falls, hiked the Stawamus Chief (first peak, and ended here for a swim and snack.

The lake was warm compared to other mountain lakes and the ocean and a welcome reprieve for our aching hiking muscles. There were bathrooms and a changing room right off the parking lot, so it was an easy place to stop for a dip in the lake.

While we didn't camp, there were large and private group and individual sites, so I would seriously consider coming back here to camp. There were people canoeing there and the park patrol said that the "Four Lakes Trail" was a lovely 1.5 hr hike. This is definitely a family friendly location, but doesn't have to be. I'm already looking forward to returning!

There was no fee to park or for day use, but there are camping fees of course. Be sure to check out the website for official fee information and other reviews for other cost info.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    64
    11
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family camping location or for day trip hikers”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Fantastic park with all the necessary amenities required for a family: water, rv/tent sites, dump areas, pit and flush toilets, showers.

If you are just stopping by for a day trip, great hiking and swimming options.

Would return

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StewieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We decided to take our intex out to the lake, but this was a very bad idea. It was very windy this day and everyone on their boats were getting pushed back to shore. It would be a nice stop for a picnic or a little dip. The lake is definitely a family destination.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandHVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely ($40) campsite but no dogs allowed near the (small) lake!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were happy to find such a beautiful campground but would have rather paid $20 for it. Especially since the dog was not allowed to walk around the lake on the trail or go in the water. Bathhouse was clean and well lit. Water was available and tasted great. We were tent camping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneSip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Reaching a Point Where Visitor Numbers Need Limits”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A beautiful setting that is starting to be ruined by proximity and ease of access: this park has some lovely small lack and river back trails that children over 9 years old should be able to manage with adult accompaniment but now a days most visits are of the beer-cooler, car park, sit on the main lake variety. Sadly chip, coffee, sushi, chocolate bars, and other waste containers are becoming the norm. There is a true disconnect between wilderness and conduct/responsibility to same. If you can drive it there in your car, you can drive it out when you leave!!! It may be time to limit visits per day, as has become the norm in the National parks, for better and responsible park management. Many people need to be saved from their own lack of foresight when it comes to how they "use" a park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Coonhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice Lake Provincial Park also viewed

Squamish, British Columbia
 
Squamish, British Columbia
 

Been to Alice Lake Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing