We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Decided to stay in Squamish on our way to Whistler for a long weekend. The room was suprisingly comfortable, decent ammentites, very clean and quiet- given that it's right off the highway. We didnt see spending and extra $200 on staying in the Village on a Friday night, so we decided that the Best Western, only 40 mins away from the mountain with free parking, was the best deal. Checked in late, so the on-site restaurant was just closing up. Too bad, looked quite nice, but the staff recommended a place just 5 mins drive up the highway, shady tree (?), great pub and grub. As mentioned, the room was comfortable, but the bedding was a little skimpy. Could have used an additional blanket, might ask for one in advance. They do have a small fridge in the room and a convenience store next to the hotel, ideal for snacks and beverages. This was a great choice for us to make a ski trip up to Whistler as price friendly as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCA1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are a great option for any ski vaction to Whistler as we are only 45 minutes from Whistler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    137
    51
    17
    19
See reviews for
132
84
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Best Western is a good dependable chain. Large clean room with a dull view of the parking lot and industrial businesses. Snow plow did a great job of cleaning the lot--our morning entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcchik
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a pretty standard hotel. The room was up-to-date and had the basics. It was surprisingly quiet, being near the highway. The staff were very friendly and helpful with local info. The location was convenient, with a small selection of food and drinks near. The pool and hot tub were crammed with kids until late.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Came to squamish to visit my sister. The hotel was easy to find. Once we arrived, the staff greeted us with a smile. Since we had two small kids, and had been driving for two days they suggested an upgrade. We got to stay in the honeymoon sweet, which had WAY more space to let the kids run around. We were very greatful. The pool was great, the slide was fast and so much fun. All around we had a great trip. We had breakfast and lunch at two birds eatery just down the street. The food was delicious and family friendly. Looking forward to our next visit to squmish. :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thejonesadventurefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at this motel during a two day trip from Vancouver Whistler. We looked for a place to stay in Squamish town but the places looked terrible and overpriced. The BW was a good option. The rooms were on a regular BW standard: clean and tidy. They have indoor pool and a smal gym. No breakfast here but they have a nice restaurant attached to the motel.
The lady at the counter was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is our second time staying at this hotel. This time, we booked the family suite. It was huge and nice! We spent 3 nights there and never felt crowded. The suite included a small refrigerator, microwave, hot plate, and dishes all in a little kitchen area. The front desk staff, as well as the housekeeping staff, were excellent! Our kids had a fun time in the pool and on the waterslide. I wish they offered breakfast as part of the price, but we managed fine at the McDonald's down the road. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Staff at the front desk were very friendly & helpful. The rooms were very clean and seem to be updated as well.My daughter & I were visiting my neice who had just had a baby. This location is close to the hospital, shopping,,restaurants and fast food places. It was quiet in the evening had a great sleep, beds were comfortable what more could you ask for. They have a huge water slide in their pool, didn't use but had a look.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna_5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
80 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing