We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A comfortable pace to stay with fridge, flat screen TV, liquor store nearby. Looks like they are in the process of improving things. The restaurant looks recently updated and has a good menu. Great Bennies and a really good Salmon burger sandwich. Good Wifi in the room as well. Don't worry about the proximity to the highway - it wasn't a problem.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank myroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for commenting on the hotel renovations we completed 2010. The Bennies are one of the best in town at the Timberwolf. Also thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
Barbara Clendenning
General Manager
Best Western Mountain Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

The place looks a bit dated from the outside, and there's some construction around the front entrance, but don't let that stop you. The service is friendly, the rooms are large and very clean with comfy beds and flat panel TV's. I would guess they have renovated recently because it appears as if the rooms are brand new. Easy access to the highway, but no noticable noise. The pool area needs a bit of new paint along the deck, but other than that it was perfectly fine and the "lame looking" waterslide is actually very fast and a lot of fun!!! The restaurant attached was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freightcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for commenting on the hotel renovations we completed 2010. We have re painted the pool deck and just finished the yearly maintenance on the waterslide (which makes it even faster for every age of guests). Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Hopefully now that Spring is here we can start on the gardens.
Barbara Clendennlng
General Manager
Best Western Mountain Retreat Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Pleasant reception staff on arrival. The hotel is in a strange place at the edge of an industrial area but in fairness a room on the top front provides great views of the mountains and waterfalls directly opposite. No breakfast included so no info to give, room was spacious and we were quite comfortable. Nothing to get over excited about but no complaints at all. A bit further north was the Shady Tree Pub, just off the main road. We had a good meal there. A good choice to go to Whistler as you are not very far away but have a good value base.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are a great option for any ski vaction to Whistler as we are only 45 minutes from Whistler.
Thank you
Barbara Clendenning
General manager
Best Western Mountain Retreat Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our first anniversary and we are glad we did. Our corner room, 336 I think, had a king size bed and was shockingly spacious with couch, chair, table, large flat screen tv, fridge, coffee maker, etc..A great value. Though it is in a slightly industrial looking area, the view is nice and the location is central for easy access to the local attractions. It is modern and clean. The staff were really friendly and anxious to meet us because of the purpose of our stay. Vey nice people. We also got great use of the hot tub, pool, water-slide and updated excercise room each day we were there.

The attached restaurant/lounge is adequate and there is a liqour store on site. If you need to get up and leave quickly in the morning, Tim Hortons is almost right beside the hotel. We highly recommend visiting the Britannia Mine Museum and the Howe Sound Brew Pub for food and drink. Our next stay will include a visit to the West Coast Railway Heritage Park or a day of skiing up at Whistler. We hope this helps you plan your stay in the area.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on opposite side of the highway with King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpenceAndHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Our large corner King rooms are great for a quick rommantic getaway or a corpotate travelor as they have lots of room to spread out.
Barbara Clendenning
General Manager
Best Western Mountain Retreat Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Decided to stay in Squamish on our way to Whistler for a long weekend. The room was suprisingly comfortable, decent ammentites, very clean and quiet- given that it's right off the highway. We didnt see spending and extra $200 on staying in the Village on a Friday night, so we decided that the Best Western, only 40 mins away from the mountain with free parking, was the best deal. Checked in late, so the on-site restaurant was just closing up. Too bad, looked quite nice, but the staff recommended a place just 5 mins drive up the highway, shady tree (?), great pub and grub. As mentioned, the room was comfortable, but the bedding was a little skimpy. Could have used an additional blanket, might ask for one in advance. They do have a small fridge in the room and a convenience store next to the hotel, ideal for snacks and beverages. This was a great choice for us to make a ski trip up to Whistler as price friendly as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCA1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46Barbara, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are a great option for any ski vaction to Whistler as we are only 45 minutes from Whistler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Best Western is a good dependable chain. Large clean room with a dull view of the parking lot and industrial businesses. Snow plow did a great job of cleaning the lot--our morning entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a pretty standard hotel. The room was up-to-date and had the basics. It was surprisingly quiet, being near the highway. The staff were very friendly and helpful with local info. The location was convenient, with a small selection of food and drinks near. The pool and hot tub were crammed with kids until late.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
190 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
190 reviews
1 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range: £63 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing