We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Sun City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a good stop over for one or more nights. We are traveling to Jasper so we were just there one night, but the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. We highly recommend it! We would stay here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann_Stan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    128
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
123
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife, 18 mos old son and I stayed here the weekend of the Ironman in Whistler. We were happy to get a room in the area for sure. Our room was massive. More about that in the tips to get a good room. The internet worked but not well enough for us to watch any videos which was a shame as we had lots of things we wanted to check out on youtube because of the ironman. Parking is ample and there is both outdoor and covered parking depending on what you prefer. The pool has a waterslide as well. We didn't get a chance to use it as the pool was undergoing maintenance while we were there...and the good kind that actually had people working on something not just the "closed for maintenance" sign. Rooms were clean and the staff friendly. We had a great breakfast at the attached restaurant...a nice twist on eggs benny where they used a portobello mushroom cap instead of an english muffin

Room Tip: We stayed in room 228. It was massive. According to the fire escape charts it's about twice the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, BC, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful during my stay. As we had a power outage in the region, the staff was active in walking guest to their rooms and ensuring the best comfort possible. The wi-fi sure can use some improvements. We were unable to connect from our room and had to go to the lobby for use of our computer & iPad. The pool and fitness room was good. Overall it was a good trip and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanson, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Everything in the hotel was very nice except the awful pillows. My head could not even make a dent in the pillows, and my neck was crooked at a 45 degree angle. I had to take the bathroom towels and roll them up and tuck them under my neck to sleep. If you stay here, plan on bringing your own pillows.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My 9 year old son and I stayed at the Best Western in late June while doing some rock climbing in Squamish. I usually do not expect much from small town hotels, but this was a very pleasant surprise. Though it was busy with a wedding party checking in, the receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Her son also gave us interesting information on Squamish and where to eat.
The room, with two Queen beds, was spacious and spotlessly clean. It looked to be recently updated. My son loved the pool, especially the waterslide. The pool was busy with vacationing families, and all the kids loved using the slide.
We ate dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant. The prices were fair, and the food was well prepared. The waitress was excellent, and accomodated my son's dietary demands.
We would definitely stay at the Squamish Best Western again next summer, on our next climbing trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertonU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were looking for a hotel with a pool but we got so much more. The service was great!! Friendly and so helpful. The room was much better than expected and immaculately clean. Nice restaurant and pool with water slide. Price was really good!! Can't wait to visit again for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talent, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I wanted to vacation in a nice place with allot to do. This trip was that, yet my daughter and I refused to let our accommodations ruin our trip. We called the resort because we knew we were running late, we were assured we would still have our room.When we pulled up to the resort at 1 am we checked in and went to our room. we found our room was already occupied, as we woke up a very tired lady trying to open the door to our room. Maybe that was why the people at the front desk were some of the most rudest unhelpful people I have ever had to deal with. On the second day we went into the pool area and were just going to relax. The hot tub was 114 degrees. We let the front desk know. They didn't seem to think anything about it. I was worried about little children so we asked again what they were going to do about the hot tub. They finally put cones around the tub and told us we were the second people to say something and they got in trouble for not calling the repair man sooner. Third day I asked for some coffee for the room because I didn't have them clean it. They were bothered by that but gave me some. Fourth day we asked for the towels for the pool at the front desk and the same girl was more worried about her salad she didn't get with her dinner order then scraping up some towels for us. She just said they didn't have any and the pool closes at 10, it was 9:10 we had plenty of time. In the lobby there is complimentary coffee but by the second day it was tea. It was allot better then the coffee in the room(fresh beans) but nobody seemed to know how to put fresh coffee in it because when My daughter asked about it the same lady got in my daughters face. This place has a few nice people but at the front desk most are rude and lazy. They don't want to bother even being nice. I thought it was just us but I talked to a couple others and it was the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
1.0 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#2 of 9 in Squamish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing