We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I suddenly found myself needing a room in Squamish and did a quick search on hotels.com and low and behold, a room at Best Western for $75.00! I literally booked the room within six hours of needing it and it all worked out fine.

I was a bit worried that when I arrived that there would be a glitch with our booking. No glitches, when I arrived my reservation was there and all ready to go.

The front desk staff was great! I was asked for a credit card (which I don't have) for "incidentals" but instead they took a $50 deposit on the room. Thank you for making it simple!

Now to the room: I don't see many hotels at this price range that are so nice! The beds (two queens) seems to have too many pillows (I'm kidding, too many pillows is good), the sheets were amazingly soft and fresh, the TV was a decent 32" LCD (though not quite enough channels, and a wall mount that let's you change the angle would be nice). The bathroom was top notch, very nice decor and amenities. Looking out the window, well.... mountains, very NICE mountains! Also included were a fridge, microwave and of course a mini coffee maker.

The only drawback was traffic noise on the highway, but that's to be expected since this hotel is on a highway, duh. I'm fine with that as it actually puts me to sleep (white noise), but if you're not, ask for a room on the west side.

Enjoyed this stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85punkrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    128
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
123
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Suuuuper clean hotel. Safe parking, swimming pool. Quiet room. Fridge and microwave in the room. Concierge Magali was very helpful.
There is adjacent restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. "Sushi Sen" are 5 minutes drive North for a nice dinner.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onnekas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

just because a hotel says it offer something, don't take it for granted that it is availble. Pool, waterslide, hot tub, automated door and movie services were all out of order when we arrived. Make sure to ask staff if anything is out of service before booking with BW.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Awesome place to stay close to Whistler for a fraction of the cost. beautiful place in an amazing town! If your on a budget and needing to get away this is the perfect place to spend your night and have dinner at their great restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Chose to stay here over the Christmas holidays, and at $75/night, it was less than 1/5 the price of the hotel rooms in Whistler. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Hotel was quiet. Pool and hot-tub were clean. We were unable to check out the restaurant due to it being closed for the holidays. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFValet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A good budget friendly hotel close to the highway and other amenities. The pool was small though had a water slide. I came with pets and the front desk was happy to provide me with a blanket for them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magali B, Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for your comments We share them with all departments and we strive to provide customer service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Cute town to stay in the night before heading up to Whistler. Helpful staff. Restaurant was convenient and enjoyable. Liquor store connected to building as well. Maintenance man helped us get into our vehicle after my husband locked the keys in the vehicle. Very thankful for his help at that time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magali B, Manager at Mountain Retreat Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Thank you for submitting your comments We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing