We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great property, close to shopping and restaurants. The place is spotless and the staff are so nice. We had an upgrade to a suite and it was beautiful. The beds are to die for! The price of the rooms are very reasonable for what you get, no breakfast but Tim Hortons is right next door! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    130
    51
    17
    18
See reviews for
126
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having stayed in many Best Western Hotels this was very disappointing. It's situation isn't great, being opposite car repairs etc. Our room definitely smelt of smoke. Whether this is a deep ingrained smell from long ago or a recent thing from the previous customers I don't know but it was unpleasant. The wifi only works intermittently, so it's difficult to watch anything on a tablet or browse the internet properly. Maybe it's better in other rooms. The bath had stains which was a little off putting. It had been cleaned, these were permanent stains. There was no safe, the first hotel we have stayed in without one in two weeks. No breakfast included, which is so unusual for a BW. I spotted a coffee machine in the lobby which I assumed was free but you had to pay, unlike other hotels. The room was large with a desk and an easy chair, a fridge and a microwave. It has an adjoining restaurant which we didn't try but has good reviews. I wouldn't stay again as would rather chance my luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a paddle trip in Squamish. This is a standard Best Western with large clean rooms, friendly staff and decent location. Would have been nicer to stay closer to a busy area as there isn't much that is close walking distance to the hotel, but everything is conveniently reached quickly by car.
Beds were comfortable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, wa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here several times on our way to/from Whistler-Blackcomb at less then half the cost of our accommodations there. A cost effective way of adding an extra day of skiing. Always comfortable with a good restaurant attached and convenient stores etc. nearby for last minute shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALBERTA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We loved our overnight stay at this hotel.

Pros:
- You get a lot of comfort for the affordable price
- Very welcoming staff
- Our 2 lab dogs were greeted personally as well by cleaning staff - that was kind of them
- Never went in pool - but it looked like it would be very fun with slide too
- Beds were very comfortable providing a good rest
- Terrific walking path along the outside of hotel
- Covered parking
- Great restaurant in hotel - small breakfast menu, but delicious Benedict options!! Really good
- Beer & wine store in hotel as well
- Easy, short driving access to other great restaurants

Cons:.....more of a request
ONLY 1 - wish they had more garbage cans outside hotel & parking area...as well as along the walking path. Making it easier for pet owners to be that much more responsible for cleaning up after their pets. On the path we noticed a few areas where people had left their trash in piles indicating they would've appreciated some garbage cans as well.

We really liked staying at this hotel - very inviting & comfortable...easy to relax with our furry friends...we'd highly recommend this hotel...and would stay again for sure

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVEL_LOVER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The non smoking room we got for our first night had an unmistakable and strong cigarette smoke odor. No other rooms were available so we bought a febreze candle and stuck it out. I think there was also some pet dander left in the room from previous occupants because my eyes got red and swollen and I sniffled and sneezed all night long.

The next morning after someone else left we got another room that didn't smell like smoke. It was a suite that they upgraded us to at no extra charge. There weren't many rooms open that weekend because of a national basketball tournament happening nearby so they probably didn't have much choice but to upgrade our room. Still, it was a nice way to compensate us for our less than ideal first night.

The staff handled our complaints graciously and gave us a different room as soon as one became available. That bumped what would have been 2 star review up a notch, and the fact that they put us in a king suite instead of a king room bumped it up another notch to 4 stars.

We moved from the mountain side of the building to the highway side. I was a bit concerned that the highway noise might bother us in the new room but it was fine. It might be a problem for someone who sleeps lightly but we barely noticed it.

Based on some of the other reviews I expected to hear some rowdy celebrations after the basketball tournament's final game. We did hear a little noise but it was only for a few minutes and it didn't bother us at all.

The hot tub is on the small side and the pool can sometimes be a bit raucous because of the kids playing on the water slide.

All in all we had a good stay even if it started off a bit roughly. The awesome staff definitely saved it for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonefta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Let me begin by saying that I found this hotel last minute on Kayak for $69.00 USD. Everything else in the Squamish and Whistler region were going for $229+ a night, and even this one had a rack rate of $109 a night, so I was tickled pink with the rate score.

I was expecting much for the price and was shocked at how nice the hotel was really. The rooms were clean and spacious, there was free wifi (a must when you travel), a really nice indoor pool with waterside and decent laundry facilities. All in all, a tremendous value for the price.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful (despite the cliche's, this is not normal in Canada). I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the area!

Room Tip: Look for last minute deals on Kayak, you can save a fortune!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
163 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
158 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing