We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bang for your buck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
langley, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Clean, quiet, well run hotel. The best overall accommodations for the price. The Timberwolf restaurant has the best food at great prices. Centrally located between Vancouver and Whistler. The pool with the slide is a favourite for all ages.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    128
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
123
82
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a great value hotel in Squamish. We stayed for two nights, family with 2 kids. The rooms were surprisingly nice and well-equipped. Biker convention in town and we were a bit worried about noise, but the room was down the hall and was perfectly quiet. The kids loved the hotel pool with waterslide. Free parking can't compare to the $35/night parking in Whistler!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have modest hotel requirements. Clean and quiet are all we need. Though it's also nice if the facilities (climate control, bathroom sink/toilet, fridge, lights, etc) are in working order.

However, the shower we had at the Mountain Retreat deserves special mention; it was the BEST shower I'd EVER had at ANY hotel! It had TONS of pressure (low-flow laws must be different in BC than other provinces). The temperature was quick and easy to set and stayed put after you did so. The shower head was adjustable in both position and spray pattern. The shower curtain had strong magnets and kept its distance during your shower (some can get a bit cling-y).

The price was also very good (barely over $100), though perhaps rates in Squamish are all below average?

Would stay there again for the shower alone.

The only criticism I have is that our room was at the far end of a very long hallway. Fortunately, we didn't do a lot of coming and going.

Room Tip: Ours was a double-queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great place to stay.....Great Value.....Great Service, staff were very friendly, helpful & Professional. The restaurant however, I would never go to again, the service was shameful. No greeting from servers, 15 minute wait to be acknowledged, almost ready to walk out until what I presume to be the hostess, came over to our table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

There were four of us girls, staying in one room. There were two queen sized beds, which were sooooooooo comfy. There was coffee ready for the morning, then we went down for breakfast. Was very nice, and the staff were lovely and efficient. They remembered what we ordered yesterday! They suggested what we could do, or go to, and were very helpful. We used their pool and hot tub which made us more relaxed. Lovely place to stay, for sure.

Room Tip: I have no suggestions - it was all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehollist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have been staying at the Best Western for work over the last 3 weeks and I found the staff very unhelpful. They do not have enough properly trained staff working at reception, I always had to wait at reception to be attended to and often the receptionist was a trainee with no support from management.
On multiple occasions the swipe card to my room was not properly programmed and I would have to go back downstairs to wait at the reception to get the swipe card reset to get into my room.
I ended up staying at the Executive Suites towards the end of my work trip which was a far more enjoyable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, beds were very comfy,fridge in the room,free parking,good location,bathroom was clean and staff was friendly and helpful.i never got a chance to use the pool but it looked nice .i would stay here again.the vending machines in the hallways were empty but I really didn't care as I don't eat that kind of stuff anyway

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terka88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
1.0 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Property: Mountain Retreat Hotel
Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V08 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing