We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception desk service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I understand that reception staff can have difficult time occasionally, but an incoming traveller needs also to be treated respectfully and not with rude and curt attitude. I was not pleased with the reception and the check/out because it looks like the staff did not know how to resolve issues and one was particularly rude and disrespectful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank baldguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice, spacious rooms , quiet and well maintained ,has an attached small bar and liquor store and a restaurant with very friendly service and good food .Best part of this hotel is the pool with a waterslide and small hot tub, fun for kids and adults as well .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We played in a two day mixed doubles golf tournament at the Squamish Valley Golf Club on the August long weekend. We booked for our selves and four other couples and were treated wonderfully. There is a beer and wine store on site so you don't have to go far for libations or ice. Rooms were comfortable with mini firdge, coffee maker and micro wave in each room. Rates were a shade over $100.00 which is good considering it is prime tourist season and the logging show was on at the same time we were there. I'd recommend this hotel and stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwm145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I love Squamish and have stayed at this hotel for several days on three visits over the past three years. This year a new staff member greeted us - Magali. She was amazingly friendly and welcoming. It made the stay all the more enjoyable. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, great pool, good location to hiking and other activities. Quiet, pretty. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Clean, quiet, well run hotel. The best overall accommodations for the price. The Timberwolf restaurant has the best food at great prices. Centrally located between Vancouver and Whistler. The pool with the slide is a favourite for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a great value hotel in Squamish. We stayed for two nights, family with 2 kids. The rooms were surprisingly nice and well-equipped. Biker convention in town and we were a bit worried about noise, but the room was down the hall and was perfectly quiet. The kids loved the hotel pool with waterslide. Free parking can't compare to the $35/night parking in Whistler!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have modest hotel requirements. Clean and quiet are all we need. Though it's also nice if the facilities (climate control, bathroom sink/toilet, fridge, lights, etc) are in working order.

However, the shower we had at the Mountain Retreat deserves special mention; it was the BEST shower I'd EVER had at ANY hotel! It had TONS of pressure (low-flow laws must be different in BC than other provinces). The temperature was quick and easy to set and stayed put after you did so. The shower head was adjustable in both position and spray pattern. The shower curtain had strong magnets and kept its distance during your shower (some can get a bit cling-y).

The price was also very good (barely over $100), though perhaps rates in Squamish are all below average?

Would stay there again for the shower alone.

The only criticism I have is that our room was at the far end of a very long hallway. Fortunately, we didn't do a lot of coming and going.

Room Tip: Ours was a double-queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.4 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
83 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunwolf
Sunwolf
#1 of 1 in Brackendale
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Hotel

Address: 38922 Progress Way, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain Retreat Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Squamish
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Retreat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing