We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay, Great Location for Outdoor FUN!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 7 Squamish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay, Great Location for Outdoor FUN!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I booked the Howe Sound Inn online and asked if I could have a view of the Squamish Chief in the comment section. The person who recieved the booking, immeadiately replied and let me know they would try their best to insure I had the view. I'm not sure if my request, made a difference; but, I got a room with the view of the Chief. It made me happy. Check in was easy, the room and bed were comfortable. While the Inn is part of the brewery, there was never excessive noise. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Squamish Chief.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM-from-Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
63
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed here twice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is an elevator to the second floor. The onsite restaurant and bar are good value. The micro brewery puts out a good range of decent beers. Parking is on the street outside but that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This must be the best place to stay in Squamish! We stayed here before a short trip to Whistler and then on to Vancouver. Room was clean and nicely decorated; from our bed we could look out the window and see the Stawamus Chief mountain. Squamish exceeded our ecpectations; once you get away from the highway, it's a small town with character. In the evening after checking in, we took a short walk to the wharf and then past the lumber yard to a trail leading to a small beach on the Sound where we watched the sunset. It was a nice change of pace. We ate at the restaurant because it was so convenient and it was excellent - everything from gourmet stone fired pizzas to full dinners. The flatbread pizzas were the best ever - and a great price.
Because the inn is above the restaurant we were a little worried about noise. But we found it very quiet (and we had the window open!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place while looking for a dog friendly room for the night. Luckily they had one room left. The staff were very friendly and polite. The rooms were clean and charming, with their cast iron accessories and wooden touches. The pub was delicious, and the servers were very accommodating. The next time we return to Squamish, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, and the inn has a great view of the surrounding mountains. The brewpub downstairs was also great and opened early for breakfast. Don't forget to buy some of the beer-based soaps that are for sale at the front desk. They smell wonderful! My only caveat is that the walls of the hotel are quite thin and it's possible to hear other conversations or tv's (so don't discuss any state secrets while you're staying there! LOL)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel has its own brewery, and the beer was excellent. Everything else was as good as it gets, decor, rooms, staff, food, stunning views of the cliffs opposite, great weather (although I don't suppose the last is actually guaranteed.

Laid back, but efficient and friendly, with a bustling dining and drinking area, I'd recommend this small hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Best views at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrost8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

An old school friend recommended we stayed here on our first night on our Canadian trip. Friendly staff,nice room -really liked the window seat even if we were looking out at rain. Had a marvellous view of the mountains. Clean room,quiet ,free wifi, able to eat in restaurant downstairs. Would certainly recommend a stay here. Good value . No complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandsixpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
3.9 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
2.0 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
0.2 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
Highlands B&B
Highlands B&B
#1 of 1 in Garibaldi Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.

Property: The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Address: 37801 Cleveland Ave., Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howe Sound Inn and Brewing Company is a character northwest inn located in the town centre of Squamish, B.C., a scenic 45 minute drive north of Vancouver, and only 35 minutes south of the resort of Whistler. The Inn offers gorgeous views of the Stawamus Chief, Western Canada's premiere rock climbing venue. Our warm and casual atmosphere provides guests affordable accommodation, with great food and award winning ales brewed on the premise. We're a minute's walk from downtown shops, the local marina and the Squamish Estuary. The estuary offers excellent walking and running trails and is a site for great birding opportunities all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing