We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
August Jack Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Squamish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room that I stayed in smelled so bad! It must have been a smokers room for years and years and they just never changed the carpet/curtains/paint when they switched it to non-smoking. My parents stayed in another room down the hall, and theirs was just as smelly.

Besides the horrible smell there was also a long, black hair on the pillow case - not even hiding, just sitting right there - that made me question the cleanliness of the sheets and towels. And, the room was facing the road so there were people walking by on the sidewalk right outside the glass door (which were open to air the place out) and noise from the passing cars.

Reading the other reviews on tripadvisor, its hard to believe that they're talking about the same place. The only way I can understand how people can call this place clean, quiet and worth the cost is that there must be some rooms that have been renovated and others that haven't.

Based on my experience, I would stay anywhere else but here. Really, I would have preferred to sleep in my van because at least I know that when I wake up in the morning I won't sell like an ashtray.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are for people with pets, and are in need of renovation and some are right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E7648AC_cm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

Judy Graimger:
May 22, 2013
Suite 116
Rating excellent
Very nice- reasonable + clean.
We will come back when we are in this area again.

David Sketchley:
June 21, 2013
Suite 207
Rating: Excellent

Svendsen:
June 23, 2013
Suite 116
Rating: Excellent
Comment: :)

Coxhead:
June 22 2012
Suite: 216
Rating Excellent for Value
Excellent for Courteous, Helpful staff
Very Good for clean, comfortable suite
Comment: Excellent value and good facilities.

Corey Hollick
June 23 2013
Suite 214
Rating: Average for clean and comfortable
Excellent for courteous, helpful staff
Very good for value
Comment: good stay, great location!

Vijay:
March 24
Suite 215
Rating: Very Good
Comment: Very good room, very comfortable. Thank You!

Evan Seminerio
June 21, 2013
Suite 117
Rating: Very Good

M. Jolly
June 21, 2013
Suite 202
Rating: Very Good for clean and comfortable
Very Good for helpful and courteous staff
Average for value
Comment: Very clean and comfortable.

Alfaleh
Suite 104
Comment: The staff were very nice. I like the motel so much.

Room Tip: Excellent municipal Brennan Park Recreation Centre and privately owned Fitness Centres are nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Wonderful motel, great location, large and spotlessly clean room with kitchinette, very comfortable beds, TV, fridge, very quiet, friendly staff.Our stay here was amazing.Definitely would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evcedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

staff welcoming and helpful
large room, correctly equiped
large Windows, but curtains need some refresh

quiet
good value for money
try to resist in what looks like a degraded environment (closed stores, closed restaurants, few people in those still open) Seems the activity of Sqamish is leaving downtown and shifts towards commercial areas along the highway

Room Tip: verify large windows on the street are well-locked before leaving the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay in Squamish for the night and booked here via Priceline. Arrived in the middle of Saturday farmer's market, a great spot to grab lunch. They allowed us to check in early and gave us a choice from the rooms they had available. We ended up in a second story room with a view of the Chief. Never before have we had such beautiful views for such a low price. Everything about our room was pleasant and functional, and we very much enjoyed our stay here. We would come back again when returning to Squamish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brookshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Our room was very comfortable and clean and large with all the amenities. The king size bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the kindness of the staff. We will be back next time we come to Squamish. We liked being able to park next to the door since we had several items to carry into the room

Room Tip: We liked parking right in front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judybug888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We got a great rate for this place off priceline and probably should have known better. We showed up and after some general confusion about our booking (and an explanation that she had to charge us $50 instead of $49.50 because the $49.50 rate mixed up their calculations...not a big deal for 50 cents), we discovered we had a single room instead of a double. The woman(owner I assume) suggested that we park our truck in front so we could keep the dogs in it and watch them from the room...which is a bit strange considering we paid a pet fee.
The room itself was fairly clean with the exception of the carpet and the smell (I think it was a smoking room maybe- we had to open the door up for fresh air and even bought a scented candle to help). We had a kitchenette with only one burner working and very limited cooking utensils (luckily we had brought some). Our sliding door opened out onto a sidewalk basically with a screen door that had a huge rip in it (and it looks like most of the screen doors were in this shape). For some reason, this particular street is quite busy and so we dealt with people walking by our room a lot. The bed was probably 10 years old with an old comforter that I doubt was cleaned recently.
I bought a bottled water from the pop machine and had to reach past the spider webs to retrieve it. I would say this is indicative of the overall look...a little old, weathered and in need of some TLC.
Basically, we got what we paid for (barely) and probably won't bother going back.

Room Tip: I would definitely confirm what room you are getting...if the other reviews are accurate, then 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinaandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
1.9 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
3 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Jack Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Jack Motor Inn

Address: 37947 Cleveland Avenue | Box 373, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Squamish
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — August Jack Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Vancouver and Whistler, August Jack Motor Inn in Squamish is the perfect base for an active retreat, whether that is golf, skiing, climbing or hiking. The motel is adjacent to a park and near all amenities in downtown Squamish. Rooms come with air conditioning, cable television, wi-fi high speed Internet and complimentary in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your August Jack Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing