We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
August Jack Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Squamish B&B and Inns
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The location is really great. The owners are nice.
However. The rooms are outdated, nothing is particularly clean and most of the appliances don't really work. The pet rooms are also the smoking rooms and they smell like it!
For the price, I'd expected a bit more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank northernlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
16
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived in Squamish and were booked into another hotel that was unsatisfactory. Driving around Squamish we found the August Jack that had ground floor rooms with large sliding glass doors opening onto a park. Actually there are parks on four sides! We were offered a variety of rooms, all large and spotlessly clean. Some had kitchenettes and the other rooms included fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The proprietors and staff were very helpful and friendly. Downtown location within walking distance to everything, reasonable rates and clean spacious rooms, quiet, what's not to like?

R & M

Room Tip: There is a good selection of a variety of rooms. Ground floor have large glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Service:

I booked our room (107 - ground floor - Queen with Kitchenette) over a month in advance (definitely don't need to book in advance) for my boyfriend's birthday. When I booked the room I asked if there was any possibility that I could have early access the morning before check-in. We live in North Vancouver and I was wanting to sneak snacks, beverages, groceries and a birthday cake in the room before my boyfriend and I arrived that night to surprise him. The lady on the phone (who I believe to be the owner - also the same lady that was there there the weekend we stayed) was MORE than accommodating. She was so nice, not only over the phone but when I arrived the morning of May 23rd. We were SOO IMPRESSED with the customer service and the friendliness of all of the staff the entire weekend. I had phoned a few other hotels before finding August Motor Jack Inn and none of them would grant me early access, which I am now so glad for. My boyfriend and I take monthly weekend trips out of the city and this is were we will be going from now on! Also, when I checked-in I was asked if we would like the 'maid' service over the weekend which I declined, mainly because I knew we would be doing a lot of lounging in PJs and watching sports. However, when we went to the front desk the morning of the 25th and asked for a few more towels and coffee she was more than happy to oblige.

The Room & Grounds:

Let me just say, the outside of the building nor the hallways do this hotel justice. Parts of the room are a little dated (probably because it is a pet-friendly room) and if not for that I have a feeling the rates would go WAY up. All of the parts of the room you would want to be new and clean are (most of the floors were redone, the washroom was completely redone, the kitchenette was new, beautiful and worked so well, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in - not joking). Oh, and also the room came with absolutely all of the dishes and cookware I needed to cook breakfast, lunches, and dinners. Originally when I called to book the room I had asked for the second floor (I read in other reviews it was much nicer and view of The Chief) but because we had a large dog with us only the ground floor suites were available to us. Thank goodness for the dog because if not for her we would not have ended up in the room we did. Our room FLOORED both of us!!! THE ROOM WAS HUGE!! The entire back wall was one huge window sliding door (with curtains that make the whole room almost pitch black which is great for sleeping in). The big sliding door opened up onto a big very green and lush community park and there is even a little area outside the sliding door to set up patio chairs and to enjoy the views and fresh air!

Overall:

As you can tell from my review we absolutely loved this hotel and will be returning many many times. From the welcoming staff and huge rooms to the great rates and overall convenience of location, I recommend this hotel to everyone. Whether you are just looking for a room to return to at the end of the night or, like us, looking for a room to catch up on relaxation you can't go wrong booking at the August Motor Jack Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms bordering the park were our favourites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_boivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were in Squamish for a concert and did not want to make the late night trek back to whistler. We were looking for a reasonably priced room that was quiet. The August Jack more than delivered! Large room with king size bed and full size fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Spotlessly clean and the front desk staff were helpful in getting us a cab. Excellent!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The August Jack Motor Inn is the hotel I almost always stay in when in Squamish due to the fact it's the best value in town. The bed covers, carpet and decor may be older, but the rooms are always VERY CLEAN and comfortable. Moreover, the location is excellent as you are in walking distance of a number of great restaurants and breweries.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitesofFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived and were checked in no problem, owners are very nice. Hotel needs upgrades, bathrooms have been done but nothing else. The ac did not work in the first room and they moved us no problem. Rates are pretty high for the quality, we stayed in Whistler after this for the same price and a much better room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Squamish hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room that I stayed in smelled so bad! It must have been a smokers room for years and years and they just never changed the carpet/curtains/paint when they switched it to non-smoking. My parents stayed in another room down the hall, and theirs was just as smelly.

Besides the horrible smell there was also a long, black hair on the pillow case - not even hiding, just sitting right there - that made me question the cleanliness of the sheets and towels. And, the room was facing the road so there were people walking by on the sidewalk right outside the glass door (which were open to air the place out) and noise from the passing cars.

Reading the other reviews on tripadvisor, its hard to believe that they're talking about the same place. The only way I can understand how people can call this place clean, quiet and worth the cost is that there must be some rooms that have been renovated and others that haven't.

Based on my experience, I would stay anywhere else but here. Really, I would have preferred to sleep in my van because at least I know that when I wake up in the morning I won't sell like an ashtray.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are for people with pets, and are in need of renovation and some are right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E7648AC_cm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
3.1 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
0.1 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#3 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Howe Sound Inn & Brewing Co.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Jack Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Jack Motor Inn

Property: August Jack Motor Inn
Address: 37947 Cleveland Avenue | Box 373, Squamish, British Columbia V8B 0A3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Squamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — August Jack Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Vancouver and Whistler, August Jack Motor Inn in Squamish is the perfect base for an active retreat, whether that is golf, skiing, climbing or hiking. The motel is adjacent to a park and near all amenities in downtown Squamish. Rooms come with air conditioning, cable television, wi-fi high speed Internet and complimentary in-room coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your August Jack Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing