We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for for access to biking and hiking trails”
Review of MTN Fun Basecamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Squamish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTN Fun Basecamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A great location for accessing local mountain biking trails and hiking trails for people of all skill levels. New owner was very friendly and welcoming of our group of mountain bikers. Looks like lots of improvements have been done and more are underway. Great spot to relax around campfire at night. This group of riders will definitely make a return visit.........soon!

Rayoooo Hounds
dw

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks Dale! We love hosting bike events! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We looked at this campground a few years ago and it use to look like a bad trailer park, with lots of garbage around due to parties and a disgusting bathroom. The new owners have done a lot of work to clean up the place. They were very helpful and approachable which was unlike the previous owners. We stayed at one of the creekside tent sites. Our kids loved exploring the creek and the mountain near our site (the older kids thought it was better than Alice Lake). There is still a lot of work to be done, to compensate for the noise you get from the highway. I hope they can renovated the bathroom, get new sink to do your dishes in and will be able to keep party trailers near the highway. We love supporting new business, especially if they have the right motivation and good customer service. It is a good place to stay a night or two, but maybe in the future it will be more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doloris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Service was excellent, very nice and friendly people. The tent area is well organized and privet. Washrooms and showers are a little bit far from the tents area, though there are some close by mobile toilets. Convenient location, colse to lots of great nature attractions that Squamish have to offer. Had a great camping experience, will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Abby986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks a lot for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This campground is very nice.
Beautiful place with a lot of trees and large location for trailers.

The management is very friendly and helpful
Close to town but very quite place

Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean-Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Being a private campground, the sites are much closer together than at provincial campgrounds, and in most cases there don't seem to be many trees between sites, so there's very little privacy/noise barriers. Speaking of noise, there's a big group site right in the middle of the grounds which means you likely won't get peace and quiet and there didn't seem to be "quiet time" like at other campgrounds we've been to. One of those party vehicles had an off-leash dog that came after our leashed dog in a rather aggressive way. Fortunately it retreated just as I was about to smack it with a piece of firewood. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose Alice Lake instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Manager at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Sorry to hear your expectations were not met. We've only been campground owners for two months. And you learn things along the way. Your feedback will help us get better and we hope you give us a chance another time. If you do come back, please make sure you ask for me personally and I'll see what I can do to make your stay better this time. -Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at wonderland valley camp ground twice now and both stays have been amazing. Its such a beautiful location, very peaceful and quiet. the staff were super friendly and accommodating. The camp ground is located at a nice distance from squamish downtown it is also close to some the most spectacular hikes and lakes squamish has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks Luke! We appreciate your repeat business and kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Craig and Courtney are the new owners of Wonderland Valley Resort (formerly Dryden Creek) and have been working hard for months preening and cleaning and sprucing up the place. The 5 hotel rooms are beautiful, each with a kitchenette. The campsites are cared for, surrounded by rock and trees and accented by the lovely Dryden Creek. But also - this little campsite is right in the middle of one of the most amazing trail networks in the world - biking, hiking or running - or just take your kids into the woods! Climbers too will be just minutes away from many famous pitches and bouldering areas. And did you know Squamish is on the waterfront? Wind surfing, kayaking - fishing! A weekend getaway in the Squamish Valley, just minutes from the city. 45 minutes from Taylor Way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badcraiger, Owner at MTN Fun Basecamp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Squamish hotels
1.3 mi away
Executive Suites Hotel & Resort
3.0 mi away
Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish
2.0 mi away
Sea to Sky Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Squamish
Hotel Squamish
#4 of 8 in Squamish
184 reviews
4.6 mi away
Squamish Adventure Inn
Squamish Adventure Inn
#1 of 9 in Squamish
83 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Hotel
Mountain Retreat Hotel
#5 of 8 in Squamish
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTN Fun Basecamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTN Fun Basecamp

Address: 1796 Depot Road, Squamish, British Columbia V9B 0C2, Canada (Formerly Wonderland Valley Resort Campsite & Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Squamish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Squamish
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to MTN Fun Basecamp. We offer over 50 serviced and unserviced campsites and 5 chalet style hotel rooms. Our property has a creek running through it and sits on 13 acres of rainforest. Squamish is famous for its nature, activities, sights and sports. Mountain biking,eagle watching, kiteboarding, skiing, hiking and trail running are just a few of the activities you can enjoy here. Situated at the edge of Alice Lake Provincial park and at the trail-head for some of the best mountain biking in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing