We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family activity”
Review of EcoCruising

EcoCruising
Ranked #3 of 4 Tours in Sidney
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family activity”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We are a family of four including three year old twins from Alberta. We wanted to get out on the water the water, learn a bit about the area and see some wildlife. The whale watching tours are too lon, expensive and not well suited to young kids. EcoCruising was the perfect option for us.
We ended up being the only people on a 1.5 hour tour with Brian from EcoCruising. The weather looked not great for the day but turned out great as even though it was overcast and looked like it might rain it was very calm making for a pleasant boat ride. Also, even though it rained for a short period of time the boat is fully enclosed like a solarium and we were totally warm and dry. The set up of the boat was also great as the kids could move around a bit.
Brian really tailored the tour to be interesting to the kids which was great we also saw a bald eagle and nest, seals, star fish and little beach crabs.
We took the tour from the canoe cove location but I think they also offer tours out of brentwood bay. Canoe cove was only about a ten minute drive from Sidney. Contact number to book tour was 250 655 5211.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YoungFamilyTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Memorial Service I've ever attended!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Captain "Crunch" Brian was our host for this memorial service, as we scattered my mum-in-law's ashes in the Pacific as per her request. He was sensitive to the occasion, and suggested we hold the service and then do the eco tour.

Highly recommend this company AND this process for a memorial service, whether you have ashes to dispose of or not. Brian described it as a very "organic" way of letting go and moving on.

His tour of the natural flora and fauna was inspiring, the views stunning. We saw Harbour Seals, and a Sea Lion, numerous types of starfish and anenomes. He took us over to the now abandoned site of the old Bamberton Cement Plant and gave us the history of the place and an update on what is happening to the site.

He GPS'ed the location of the ceremony, pointed out the viewpoint on the Malahat drive to Duncan and told us how we could stop and locate it if we ever wanted to revisit for a quiet moment.

The highlight of the trip was when he brought out a bucket of sea water with three types of sea stars in it, explained about them, and let the kids touch and hold them. Bet they never forget Gramma's funeral.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible Memories Made Today, Thank You Brian!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It was the most incredible thing I'd done on this trip to Sidney. "Captain Crunch" Brian welcomed us on board with a warm smile and a few "bad" jokes.

We were on the cruise to say goodbye to my grandmother out on the ocean and he took us to the middle of the bay where we could toss our roses and rose petals in as the family gathered to take a few minutes to remember her, this cold Easter weekend. After our memorial service, Brian took us on a tour of a couple alcoves where we found wonderful ocean life. He even had brought on board some Starfish for the teens and a tiny tot to check out and touch.

It was an adventure I can now check off my bucket list.

Thank you Brian for making it so pleasant. I'm sure you ordered the weather and cleared out the boats, too, because it was a perfect way to spend the afternoon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TLynneWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local Knowledge”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Away from the mainstream tours, this little gem takes you around the hidden islands just north of Sidney. A full glass enclosure gives the ultimate viewing experience while keeping you warm and comfortable. A surprising amount of wildlife can be seen, especially in the morning or at low tide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoonstarship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Baby Seal”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The tours with Brian Smiley are informative and he'll do his best to make sure you have a chance to see the wildlife in the area. July and August are great for seeing the newly hatched seagull & cormorant chicks and August is when the Harbour seal pups are born. The area is home to migrating summer and winter bird life, so always changing. As a Piers Island resident, we are on the boats often and every trip is like a tour. A great idea when you have out of town guests as the boats can take up to 12 on a private tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EcoCruising also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to EcoCruising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing