We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab some fish and chips”
Review of Fish on Fifth

Fish on Fifth
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grab some fish and chips”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We ordered some fish and chips for take-out on our way to the ferry. The food was good. the service was a little slow, maybe not experienced enough. The atmosphere is casual and adequate for a family outing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    116
    41
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Halibut Lousy Service”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I have visited Fish on Fifth each time I visit Vancouver Island. It has had it's up and downs but still in my opinion serves one of the best Halibut and Chips anywhere. The last couple of times service has been less than good. This time it was dreadful. I was dining alone as I often do while traveling and had to wait at the door to be sat for more than 10 minutes much longer than others coming in after. Once seated I waited almost 30 min before a waitress noticed me and asked if I had been served. I was happy to order before they lost me again. I ordered my favourite Halibut and Chips very expensive but usually worth it. Also had a local beer. Food came in good time. Halibut was excellent frys ok. Waitress came buy asked if I wanted another beer which I did. It did not come until well after my lunch was finished but I did manage to get it down. The last straw was when a couple who came in long after me were offered a apology for their wait and a free drink. After being given the bill without me being asked how my meal was or if I wanted anything else I decided to go up and pay my bill. While not usually worth the hassle I complained about the service particularly about not being given a apology. To their credit they were very apologetic and offered to reduce my bill. The restaurant is clearly under staffed and I don't blame anyone but the mgmt. Will try it again next year and hope it gets back its old magic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Humdrum”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I confess that I come from an area with really good seafood. If that makes me have high seafood standards, so be it.

That being said, I was not wowed by this place. Service took a bit of time (no big sin, but other restaurants do it better), and the flavor was just all right. If this had been a Long John Sliver's meal, I wouldn't have been so harsh, but it wasn't sold as such.

If you're in the area for more than a short stay, you might find your way over here. You may not be disappointed, but I doubt you'll be impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Ate dinner with the entire crew. Two had fish and I had a salad. The fish was very good and the fries were excellent. We had heard other crew members recommend this restaurant and we were not dissapointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joepilot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good haibut fish and chips”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On our way to Victoria, we stopped Sidney lunch. We picked this small fish n chip palce from the navigation system from the rental car. It turned out to be a good pick. We had several oreders of fish n chips. The halibuts were the best.

We also likes the clam chowder. The chowder has small claims instead of chunks of large claims. The small claims taste better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilN92121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish on Fifth also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Fish on Fifth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing