We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service so poor didn't stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Spot

White Spot
Ranked #61 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Service so poor didn't stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We thought we would stop for dinner after arriving on the island for a vacation. we got there at. approximately 5 p.m. and we figured it would be great, as we would have beaten the rush. When we arrived there were two other (separate) people waiting and no wait staff. My first glimpse of the wait staff was the server being hugged vigorously by some man in street clothes. He was staring at us, and I commented, are you serious? The excuse for the server hugging this man is she just got out of a staff meeting....must have been quite the stressful meeting for her to need the comfort of some one dressed in his street clothes. When she sat us, we chose a table that was just cleared, for the location, and she wiped it clean. Or should I say, she sloshed water over the table? She then tossed our flatware, napkins and menus on the very wet table. My husband asked for it to be dried and she said she would grab a handful of napkins and wipe it, and after she walked away, so did we. We continued our trip to Duncan, and went there for dinner. I casually asked the server what she thought about our previous experience, and she said the server acted inappropriately, and said she most certainly shouldn't have been hugging her coworker, street cloths or not, in a public setting. We did enjoy our dinner in Duncan, but wanted to share our experience in Sidney. We will not be going back there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maitiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who'd A Thunk!?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

For such a busy place, service was quick and attentative. Ordered their Dessert Special which was Pumpkin Pie, expected a rubbery slice with canned whipped cream on the side, got a baked mini pie, sprinkled with Cinnamon and drizzled with Caramel. Perfect Combination, found right at YYJ Airport. Who'd A Thunk!?!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“As far as White Spots go, this one was excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was the first place we saw when we were driving from the Airport to Victoria, so we stopped. :)
We ate here twice, once on the way to Victoria, and once when we were leaving the Island. We had 2 different servers and both were equally excellent. We really appreciated how they conscientiously assisted us in getting our picky daughter's meal just right.
The food was the same each time. Standards are being held. I think this is the best White Spot we have ever been to. I'm not usually a fan, but I really enjoyed these experiences.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brittney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The only game in town on a Sunday night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We arrived in Sidney on a Sunday afternoon and on looking for a restaurant in Sidney that was open, could find none that were not 'fast-food' type places.

So we ventured out to the airport and ate at the White Spot.

We were greeted at the door by a host who turned out to be the manager. We asked for a booth. He told us we couldn't have a booth because there were only 2 of us and they needed to keep them open for larger parties. The next couple that came in after us were given a booth. They did not have anyone else join them making it a larger party.

The food was standard White Spot food - burgers and fries and were good. Service was quick and efficient. Our server was friendly and pleasant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dhughesehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The service was so slow that I finally left”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

When my Westjet flight was delayed I headed to White Spot with a $10 coupon. I was seated immediately but no one came to take my drink order or my meal order. I saw a young woman who appeared to be a waitress standing by the cash register, but I could not get her attention so I finally asked the person who had seated me to bring me some water. When she finally came over ten minutes or so later, she walked away again saying she would be back in a few minutes. I left and had dinner elsewhere. This is an airport restaurant. People don't want to linger. The food is okay and I will return, but I will leave again if I have a similar experience in the future. I have to wonder who is managing this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean_alberta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Spot also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to White Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing