We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, beautiful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alder Road Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alder Road Retreat
Ranked #7 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, beautiful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The house is unbelievalbe - a dream, plenty of room to spread out. House and amenities were all top notch. Spectacular sunsets and views. The owners were extremely gracious and helpful. They were also very prompt to return phone calls and e-mails with answers to questions.
I would highly recommend this property for large families.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vennej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alder Road Retreat and highly recommend. We appreciated the quiet and tranquil surroundings of the beautiful countryside. Brenda, the owner, was a a pleasure to meet and made us feel warm and welcome as soon as we arrived. The room was lovely; spacious, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable bed with a private ensuite bath with high end amenities. The owner's personal touches made our stay such a wonderful experience. The location is in close proximity to the Victoria airport, ferry terminal and short drives to so many great sites. You must visit Sydney by the Sea which is a delightful little town. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is a lovely Bed & Breakfast tucked away off the highway but with fabulous access to everything in the area. The bedrooms and bathrooms are wonderful - the common room very comfortable and set up with everything you could need or want. Your hostess, Brenda, is so gracious and accomodating - I would highly recommend this as a spot to stay for anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loma Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Warm and welcoming rooms that are clean and nicely appointed. WONDERFUL homemade granola always available (I need the recipe!). Homemade muffins (still warm from the oven) were enjoyed each morning, beverages & snacks were always available as well. Loved the patio with the relaxing view of the small lake. It is a bit off the beaten path, but my husband and I got to all the places we needed to quite easily. I DO recommend staying at the Alder Road Retreat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

This B&B has three large guest rooms, each with a private on-suite, and all three suites join a spacious, comfortable common area where there are lots of snacks (coffee, tea, fruit, pastries, cold drinks and more). The service was superb. On the property is a large pond where we watched ducks and lots of birds. There are lots of walking trails in every direction. On our business trip we used all three rooms (two couples and one individual). Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The entire family really enjoyed our weekend stay. Brenda was very accommodating and so helpful (thanks for the fabulous restaurant recommendation!) . The suites are lovely with very comfortable beds and luxurious spa like bathrooms.

Overall really exceeded our expectations. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a getaway that's private, relaxing, yet conveniently located only about a 20 minute drive from Victoria

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We would definitely stay here again. A terrific spot. Host was experienced, super and accommodating. Rooms are terrific offering privacy and a common area. A real great B & B!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burkevillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
3.3 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Swartz Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
Swartz Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 7 in North Saanich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Belle Maison Aupres De La Mer B&B
1.9 mi away
Future Friends B&B
Future Friends B&B
#2 of 7 in North Saanich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amante Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Road Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Road Retreat

Property: Alder Road Retreat
Address: 11120 Alder Road, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 5R3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alder Road Retreat is a peaceful, comfortable place to stay while visiting Victoria, Sidney and Vancouver Island. Located about six minutes from both the Swartz Bay ferry terminal and the Victoria airport, it is a great jumping off or jumping in spot when visiting the Island. The Retreat is a small B&B snuggled in a forested valley, next to a busy wildlife pond, in the northern tip of the Saanich Peninsula. The gardens are beautiful; the view and ambiance are wonderful. The Retreat features a beautiful deck area, walking paths, lovely gardens and a spacious common area with fireplace. A delicious breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing