We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A million dollar view looking out over Straits of Georgia and the incomparable Mt Baker. Superb staff, friendly and professional. Would not hesitate to return. Within five minutes of the BC Ferry to the mainland and the same to Victoria Int'l Airport, the location is ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean side are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest; Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review, our staff will definitely appreciate your comments. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    102
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
105
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I recently spent two and a half weeks in Sidney for work. I followed some of my colleagues up there, and they made my reservation for me. Overall, I'm impressed with the hotel, and when I return, I think I'll stay here again.

The room was very large, and I was comfortable there all the time. The view toward the mainland was great, as was the balcony. I will say, however, that the number of tv channels locked out seemed a little high. You're probably not going to Sidney to watch tv, and neither was I, but it looked like someone hadn't paid the cable bill. Small stuff.

The continental breakfast was modest but good. I enjoyed cereal a few times a week. The staff were all friendly, and they were fairly attentive. The whole place was very clean and well put together.

I will probably stay here again. It's hard to find a place as friendly and comfortable as this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest; Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, our staff work hard to help our guests feel comfortable
We have addressed the TV Channels issue and now offer 45 new HD channels including Movie central, Sports & News.
We look forward to your return stay. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We experienced a smooth check and were allocated a ground floor room overlooking the car park. This didn't matter as we only spent our sleeping hours there. The room was clean and comfortable and at a reasonable price. The hotel is very conveniently located near the main street and sea and has a large car park. Having spent two weeks dinning out we decided to purchase some salad etc from a supermarket across the street. We asked reception if they could provide us with some plastic cutlery but were given proper knives and forks and also plates and napkins. Little things like that really elevate customer satisfaction. Well done to the lady who was so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest; It is always our pleasure to help guests out in any way to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Styed here several time for business. Location to ferries and airport is good but the rooms are getting outdated. I have always had a room that overlooks the parking lot that can be noisy. Nice addition now is that they are serving a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webfeetads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest thank-you for taking the time to write your review. We are in the process of getting quotes to upgrade our room furnishing. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

An old building with little redeaming characteristics other then it's location. Small rooms and small bath. Minimal decor upgrades,the most impressive of which is the first floor hall way with a psuedo nautical theme. The room and bath millwork are plastic laminate, all low-end finishes. No contemporary upgrades like curved shower curtains or electronic locks. You can hear your neighbor sneeze or the party above you walk the floor due to the wood construction. The breakfast offering was limited to cold cereal, toast and yogart.

The front desk attendants were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest , thank you for your comments. We are in the process of upgrading our room furnishings. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Thought we were just passing through but enjoyed it so much we stayed another night. We were fortunate to be able to get a room with more than 1/2 an ocean view. Considering it was Canada Day long weekend and the fireworks on the Sunday night were right out front of the hotel I felt lucky.
The linens were beautiful and the room was so much more than just a little box. The bathtub was luxurious and much needed after a long ride.
The front desk staff were very freindly and extremely helpful.(even to the point of charging my ipod)
I would definitely stay here again, so central and a wonderful stay

Room Tip: The suites have amazing bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SidneyHotel, Manager at Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear valued Guest; our staff, who read the reviews, will definitely appreciate your comments. Thank-you for taking the time to write such a favorable review, we look forward to your next stay with us. Yours in hospitality, Denis Paquette GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Disappointed. Not because the facilities were bad, but because the pictures are not like the facilities. Slightly outdated. Clean enough. Very average. Also, this hotel was MUCH more expensive than a fancy hotel I stayed at in downtown Victoria. Save your money and stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aesojka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
15.4 mi away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites

Property: Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Address: 9775 First St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3E1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites is conveniently located on the waterfront, the only Hotel on South Vancouver Island with a beach. Just 20 minutes from Victoria and five minutes from Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries & the IOS. From your balcony, only feet from the ocean, take in Sidney by the Sea's breathtaking waterfront & views of the Gulf Islands. Relax in front of your fireplace in a cozy wicker chair or soak in a large jetted tub. Enjoy our recently updated rooms and suites, high speed internet, free N.American long distance 24/7, 45 HD TV Channels and free parking. Enjoy Boutique shopping on-site in The Cannery & discover waterfront dining in our Beacon Landing Restaurant and Lounge. The most Affordable rates on the Waterfront in Sidney-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing