We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for an In-Transit Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Okay for an In-Transit Stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this property for one night en route from Toronto to Salt Spring island. Like most airport hotels, it's proximity to the airport is its attraction. The motel is less than a 15 minute drive from the airport and it's not much further to the ferry terminal.
I don't see what the "plus" in this property is - the room (302) we had was large but somewhat dated. The buildings appear to have been around for a while but the owner is keeping them up. The shamrocks on the doors must be the "Emerald Isle" part of the name. The bed was comfortable enough, there was a flat screen TV and decent toiletries. As other reviewers have indicated, a breakfast is not included (there is Keurig coffee machine in the lobby - so you make your own). We were not told about any discount at the nearby restaurant. Since it was after 11PM when we checked in, we asked what restaurants open nearby and were told "nothing" (not true - there is a Macdonalds if you are so inclined). The surrounding area is commercial/industrial - other hotels, grocery, care repair and such. It's not the Irish countryside.
Compared to other BW Plus properties, this one did not rate the "plus" to me. Air Crews stay here though - make of that what you will.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a breakfast discount at nearby restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of our property. The Emerald Isle portion of our name is to pay homage to our owner's ancestory, and yes, complete with shamrocks on the doors! On your next pass through on your way to or from Saltspring I encourage you to spend some extra time in Sidney to discover this wonderful town's shops, restaurants, waterfront and attractions. They are all just blocks from the hotel. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    133
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
94
123
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked this hotel due to its proximity to the Mary Winspear Theatre where we were going to see a show. Was right across the street. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Close to the ferry and Beacon Street was a pleasant surprise with its many shops and was not a far walk to the ocean. Only problem we had was the smell of old smoke in our room. We talked to the desk about this and they indicated that it had one time been a smoking room but not for a long time but the smoke smell has lingered. They brought us an air freshener for the room which only slightly helped but fortunately we didn't notice the smell once we were in the room for awhile but was definately noticeable each time we walked in. Next time would make sure to ask for a room that never had smoking in it. They also had a room where we could store our bicycles and was a quick ride to the Lochside Trail. 25% discount in Smitty's Restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that never allowed smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momma_gSurrey_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here and your desire to return, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Everything we needed was within a few short blocks walk. There was no reason to use a car! It was an absolute pleasure not to drive. Beacon avenue is quite busy, limited parking. So leaving the car at the motel was a benefit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel's location. Everything you may want for a visit is close by or within walking distance. We are part of a great destination that is "Distinctly Sidney"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was very convenient--very close to the ferry and not very far from Victoria. We were within walking distance of grocery stores, shops, and restaurants. The waterfront is close and is a beautiful area for a walk. We really enjoyed Sidney!! The hotel was very pretty, clean, and quiet. Our beds were comfortable and the suite was spacious. The internet connection was better than most. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We used the fitness room--the only complaints--it was a little warm with the hot tub in the same room and it would have been nice to have a TV available. There is not a complimentary breakfast. We chose not to eat at Smitties next door, but walked to a near-by café for breakfast. Smitties stayed pretty busy, though. If we're ever in the area, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
Thank you so very much for the great review, Sidney is such an amazing Town, the people, the Ocean, the beautiful stores and restaurants and of course our great Best Western PLUS Hotel.

We hope you return again very soon,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean, pretty and in a good location. But missing all the amenities that the others have. No pool, hot tub still out of order, no breakfast but if you ask you will get 25% off at the Smitties next door. Wouldn't bother coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Please accept my apologies for not communicating the 25% discount off to our guests in Smitty's. The discount is a favourite for our guests letting them choose the breakfast they want, made to order. The hot tub is "repaired"....kids wanting to make bubbles with hand soap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
709 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

my 2nd time staying here. Great beds. Very friendly people. Love the BW standards !
get a room over looking the parking lot- quieter than the street side.
walking distance to just about everything in the town center.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2015
5 STARS and wonderful comments, thank you so very much, we are so pleased you had a nice visit and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

One of the very best Best Westerns. This hotel has that rarest of all amenities – a ceiling light that actually lights the room very well. The annex rooms are spacious and quiet. The bathroom apparently was redone recently in 1960s style (straight shower rod, round toilet seat) with lots of chrome. The facilities are beyond super-clean to shiny sparkle. Attractive grounds and adequate parking. A grocer, drug store, and liquor outlet are just across the street. Beacon Street is a pleasant walk for 700 meters down to the waterfront. Plenty of places to eat on Beacon, including the superb Beacon Landing Restaurant and most will be better that the Smitty's Restaurant attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay and the beauty of Sidney. We are all very proud of what we have to offer and experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
148 reviews
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing