We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Terrible front desk”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The front desk was a major issue during the stay. They were rude (Laura/Agnes) on several occassions. Lost my credit card for payment of the room. The GM does not return phone calls or seem concerned at the lack of service provided by his staff. Save yourself the headache and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I am perplexed by this post as this issue had been resolved and communicated to the satisfaction of the guest and your office before you posted your comments .Both Agnes and Laura are exceptional service providers, regularly recognized by our guests. In this case there was a human error in filing that was admitted and quickly resolved. I don't feel the incident is worthy of your public dressing down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    124
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
83
118
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The whole experience was good. The décor was good and room was very roomy and clean. There was discount if one wanted to eat at Smittys. Well worth the walk down to the beach for an excellent walk along beach by ocean. Hot tub good pool was nice but made for families with children as deep and shallow ends are both 3 feet deep

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherrypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay, our location and our facilities. The short walk to the waterfront is delightful; one of a kind shops, restaurants and coffee shops line the street making it most enjoyable...it is "Distinctly Sidney!" Regrettably, we do not have a pool, however the Panorama Recreation Center is close by featuring a number of pools for all members of the family and a great water slide to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Emerald Isle Motor Inn in Sydney was an excellent place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and had al the amenities we needed. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and the hotel restaurant (Smitty's) was excellent. We would definitely stay here again for our next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our staff are our greatest asset, we cannot thank them enough for all they do. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huxley, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Rooms very small, not enough room for two people to sit only one chair in room. Did not have breakfast bar, they had a Smitties but that is very exspeisive eating time you pay for your meals plus the tips it adds up very fast. Not having the internet was very madding and the airconditioner not working also was not a good thing. Our food spoiled in the fridge that was not working. Staff was great but over all the room sucked big time you would not know that this was a plus hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle, and please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. We offer a 25% discount to our guests for breakfast in the adjoining Smitty's restaurant, allowing our guests to enjoy a fresh breakfast of their choice. We recently upgraded our Internet solution to provide both wireless and wired service in all of our rooms, a 24 hour guest helpline is available for support. I regret these options were not presented to you during your stay. I have sent an offer to discuss your stay to you directly to further explore the issues you experienced, I look forward to discussing them with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, british columbia canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This property is located very close to shopping and the airport, it is also within walking distance to the ocean walkway. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Beds excellent as we find is standard with BW.. I would recommend this for a stop over before a flight or a quick nights getaway from it all. Sidney is a neat little town!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank food53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the Town of Sidney. Starting this week and for the remainder of the summer, we have the Sidney Street Market on Thursdays. Beacon Avenue is closed in the evening to feature local vendors and artisans...it is a great way to spend an extra evening in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Make no mistake, this is a tired property. I stayed here some 20 years ago and I don't think it's been updated since. And it didn't strike me a new then. On the plus side, any location on Beacon St in Sydney is pretty good - this is a great town and Beacon St is the heart of it. But there are better places to stay on the waterfront. So this place is okay if the price is right, but I paid $200++ for a one bedroom 'suite' and have to say that I was disappointed in value for dollar. The little kitchenette would have been more servicable if there were any utensils or plates or .... anything.

But it was clean & quiet and the staff were unfailingly polite an helpful. Even the 1-800 tech guy was helpful when the internet wouldn't work. No fault found with the service in any way.

Room Tip: Shop for a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our Hotel, and please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. I appreciate your comments about the staff here, we are fortunate to have such a caring group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For the best in service, quality, helpfulness, cleanliness, attention to detail, and above and beyond service all round we have found Best Western to be tops. The staff are knowledgeable about the area, attractions, best places to eat, to visit and will do whatever they can to accommodate any request you make.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank raineydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wow, thank you for your comments! We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
145 reviews
15.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
16.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing