We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Best Western standards that I am accustomed to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been here on two separate trips, and frankly, the only thing this place has going for it is location - it is convenient to the Victoria airport (about a 10 min drive), and close to the main strip in Sidney where all the amenities and restaurants are, as well as a short walk to the waterfront. The rooms are small and stuffy. The king sized beds are comfortable but they barely fit in the rooms. The bathrooms are very small, the bathtubs are small. The decor is ugly and dated. Front desk service is ok, but nothing special. The breakfast offer is just a scam - a few dollars off at the Smitty's next door. The prices are very high for what you get and should include a full free breakfast. I will most likely look for something else next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize we did not meet your expectations. I will be happy to discuss your recent stay with you directly and to talk about our planned upgrades our relationship with adjoining Smitty's Restaurant and your next visit to Sidney. Please contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very good rooms and service. Has an elevator for second floor. Free parking. Lots of interesting shops and stores of every kind within walking distance. A variety of restaurants. Good bookstores. Every Thursday evening during the summer, the main street in town is shut down for a large street fair. Walk to a nice waterfront park. Convenient for ferries, airport, kayaking, whale watching, No breakfast, but you get 25% off at a decent family restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your comments, you described the town of Sidney's attractions very well! We have a great selection of independent shops to choose from, activities for everyone and the Thursday Night Summer Market is an event worth a trip. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was centrally located. Not cheap!! Tried to book in early and was eventually accommodated. Instead of a continental breakfast, one receives 25% off at Smittys - not a very good deal in my mind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Fastwalker4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. The 25% discount in the adjoining Smitty's Restaurant gives our guests the benefit of a large selection of choices, prepared to order. A feature many of our guests appreciate, I apologize it did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend checked into this hotel yesterday after getting off of the boat from Washington. When we got into our room we discovered that it wasn't the room we reserved at all. We reserved a King Bed room and ended up with two twin sized beds. When we asked the front desk about the mix up they just told us that they were completely sold out. Not only that but the room had a strange smell to it. We also didn't get any information in regards to our stay for example we had to call the front desk and ask what the Wifi password was. We didn't get any information in regards to the on site eatery and the supposed 25% discount you get for breakfast (had to find that out by reading other reviews on Trip Advisor). The hotel itself was in okay shape and its in a good location. Price was very nice but its unfortunate that our stay was plagued with problems.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SpookyFries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. Though we have been busy, it is no excuse. The incidents you recorded will be reviewed with the staff here for our improvement. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have no complaints about our stay at the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly, efficient and professional. It offers free parking, free wi-fi and good security. The coffee in the rooms is tasty and the glasses are large enough to actually pour a drink, if you're so inclined.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen_and_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle in Sidney!
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has great curb appeal, excellent security, free parking, a discount at the on-site restaurant for breakfast, free wi-fi in the room, two sinks (a rare but welcome touch in a hotel room), and is immaculate. The staff are friendly, professional and efficient.
Who could ask for more?
My mom is moving to Sidney and I'll be spending lots of nights in the BW Emerald Isle!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Killarney building, which was quiet and well-secured (need a room key to enter the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, in Sidney. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. I look forward to meeting you, so I can assist you on your future visits...your Mother has made a great choice in relocating to Sidney...will you be far behind?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel has great curb appeal, excellent security, free parking, a discount at the on-site restaurant for breakfast, free wi-fi in the room, two sinks (a rare but welcome touch in a hotel room), and is immaculate. My mom is moving to Sidney and I'll be spending lots of nights in the BW Emerald Isle

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Travellin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Thank you for the wonderful 5 STAR review, I hope the move was a success, and we look forward to having you stay with during your visits.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
165 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,400 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £88 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing