We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

On a recent trip to Vancouver Island we stayed at this
quaint and clean motor inn. It was very affordable and
we very much appreciated the quiet, clean room. It was
situated beside a Smitty's and were given a 25 percent off
our breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MTnsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle, as well as the breakfast in Smitty's. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. All facets of this hotel met our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly. Ideal location and within easy walking distance of anything in Sidney. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here in Sidney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Don't have much to say about the property itself .
We have booked the room closed to midnight ( a couple of hours before the planned arrival ) but was not able to get there and enjoy the staing due to the bussiness troubles .
I have been working whole night a few miles from the Motel ....hard time and a lot of working preassure .
When I asked to cancel this deal in the morning and explained all of the circumstances - the front desk staff were not helpful and did not agree to cancel this deal .
I was asking to talk with generall manager (Scott ?) - he was away . I left the message with my phone number - NO RETURN call .

My point is follow : sometimes people forget that they are working for the benefit of the customers.
Finally - they got $142 for the services they have never provided ...and lost me as a customer (corporate customer) ...

You may have a wonderfull stay with this Motel , but do not expect any understanding and flexibility .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Maxim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with the Inn. Our guests have confidence and take comfort knowing the room they have reserved will be held for their arrival. Cancellations are taken up to 24 hours before the guest's scheduled arrival. We held accommodations for you until after your confirmed and scheduled arrival, turning away other clients who had wished to stay here. Subsequently you were charged for those accommodations when you did not arrive. Please contact me if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a second visit for my husband and myself and we found this experience as good as our first! My husband has mobility issues so we stay in the room specifically for a handicapped person and it is very comfortable for my husband. This time the staff provided a bath seat which made having showers much easier for him. The staff are always attentive and the room is always clean. Sidney in the summer is delightful with the Thursday night market and wonderful views.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for the room designated for the handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and for your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make you comfortable....we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Good property, close to everything $12 taxi from Airport. Walking distance to numerous resturants and grocery stores. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and quiet. Smitty's had good food and the service was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank E8835WRkennethm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. Sidney has a lot to offer with its unique shopping and amazing recreational activities, all at our door. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The rooms are well appointed and clean and the staff is very friendly. But the hotel was quite noisy, even on week nights. One could hear everything going on the corridor and each time anyone opened or closed the key card lock... It was quite disruptive for our sleep.

Other than that, no complaints.

Free Wifi.

Close to Victoria Airport. Bus #88.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aperel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your comments. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed during your stay. I appreciate your comments on the rooms and the cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been here on two separate trips, and frankly, the only thing this place has going for it is location - it is convenient to the Victoria airport (about a 10 min drive), and close to the main strip in Sidney where all the amenities and restaurants are, as well as a short walk to the waterfront. The rooms are small and stuffy. The king sized beds are comfortable but they barely fit in the rooms. The bathrooms are very small, the bathtubs are small. The decor is ugly and dated. Front desk service is ok, but nothing special. The breakfast offer is just a scam - a few dollars off at the Smitty's next door. The prices are very high for what you get and should include a full free breakfast. I will most likely look for something else next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize we did not meet your expectations. I will be happy to discuss your recent stay with you directly and to talk about our planned upgrades our relationship with adjoining Smitty's Restaurant and your next visit to Sidney. Please contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
165 reviews
15.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
16.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £95 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing