We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hotel Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Emerald Isle Motor Inn in Sidney British Columbia for two nights. I would definitely recommend this hotel - the room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Although there was no breakfast offered in the hotel, there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and guests of the hotel received 25% off their bill. The free wi-fi worked great which made my 14 and 11 year old children very happy. We preferred to stay in Sidney because it is closer to the ferry dock (approx 10 minutes away), only 20 - 30 minutes to Victoria and prices for hotel rooms are cheaper than they are in Victoria. My only negative is that there is not much counter space around the bathroom sink.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle. All of us here are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sidney and the Saanich Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport and amenities. The 25% discount for the restraunt came in handy. The hotell although a bit tired is well maintained. If you get a chance stay acroos the driveway at their newer section. The staff is extremely helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Fernando S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We will be starting to upgrade our rooms this fall to make them fresh again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a cool little hotel. Reasonably priced, with restaurants and shops nearby.

And the wifi is blazingly fast!

For travers, you'll know that cell data plans for foreigners in Canada are way too expensive, so you'll appreciate the wifi.

The TV was huge! But their system has many 'unsubscribed' channels, so you might waste time surfing through them trying to find something watchable. It'd be nice if they had a paper guide in the room, listing the major channels that are watchable.

I'll stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank HelloMarkSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and your endorsement of our property and the town of Sidney. I regret you did not find the TV listing guide in the room! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is an older property with updated rooms. Our king room was quite comfortable and very clean. The pillows were lumpy (need replacing) and there was some road noise. The restaurant, attached to the hotel, is your basic coffee shop food and has good service. Do use your 25% off coupon for breakfast because it is cooked to order and quite good. Check-out was painful, as there was only one desk clerk. Same clerk, when it was reported that there was curdled cream at the coffee maker (in lobby) did nothing to replace it. Sloppy service and that's why I say this hotel is okay for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and I regret the level of service at you departure did not meet your expectations...ours either! We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you we have acted upon the concerns you expressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel was clean, comfortable and had excellent staff. No free breakfast but 25% off Smitty's (attached to motel). I would definitely stay here again if in the area. Walking distance to all the shops on main street and to the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and your enjoyment of Sidney. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for a night whole attending a concert in Sidney. Check in was painful. Very disorganized and uninviting . It was clean ,quiet, very basic. Smitty's Grill is connected and Sidney is a very pretty town. Ok for one night but that's it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your quick visit to Sidney. Please accept our apologies for your arrival experience, it is not what we strive to deliver. I encourage you to spend more time in Sidney on a future visit. We offer shopping, dining, museums, whale watching, golf, cycling and adventure tours, cultural events, wine tastings plus Butchart Gardens all close by. We offer much more than being the location for the airport and the two main ferry terminals. Come experience what is "Distinctly Sidney"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I have to be honest, I was not expecting much...I am surprised sometimes. Great location in Sidney. Great clean room with a tub to soak your feet at the end of the day from walking everywhere as everything is close. If I have a complaint it would be that there is one washer and one dryer and it is in the other building across from us. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b2bcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Best Western PLUS Emerald Isle. I am thrilled to see we exceeded your expectations, except when it came to doing the laundry! We look forward to welcoming you back and we can assist in getting your laundry done....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
165 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
13.2 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel

Address: 2306 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X2, Canada (Formerly Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £88 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel in Sidney-by-the-Sea. PLEASE refer to the Management Photos as these are our new Hotel photos, we have renovated. Our location is perfect for an early or late flight as we are only a five minute drive from the Victoria International Airport. The BC Ferry Terminal at Swartz Bay, and Washington State Ferry to Anacortes WA are both five minutes drive as well. We are the closest Best Western to Butchart Gardens, Butterfly World, Church and State Winery, and the SHAW Ocean Discovery Center is 7 blocks away! Experience Sidney-by-the-Sea also known as Book Town with over 9 book stores. Everything is at your doorstep of our clean and quiet Hotel. Enjoy a beautiful walk along the Ocean front and watch the seals and otters play, Be sure to check out the Manager Photos not the prior Traveler or Expert photos as those are very old, We are Newly renovated, large comfortable rooms, free parking, free internet, options of Kitchen Suites, or Family suites or a large standard King or Queen Bedded room. Come and see us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing