We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Small room with an overpowering cleaning agent smell. Had to keep the door open to air out the room. The night staff were very unfriendly and hostile. Quiet time is 9 pm. Do not try and return to the hotel later than this time or will be harassed by Night Manager. Tried to sit on balcony/patio by myself at 9:30 and was advised patio closed. I paid for a courtyard room. Had to sit inside and endure the awful smell. The breakfast was in the basement with no windows. Any request was refused. We are frequent travellers and this was the worst experience ever. Would not recommend. Day staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I'm not sure what the "overpowering cleaning smell was" as all our Housekeeping cleaning products conform to the National Green Key environmental standards and are Hypo-allergenic and non-toxic so that we can maintain our earned Green 3 Key rating. If there was an issue with odor in your room I wish you would have contacted our Front Desk so that we could have addressed your concerns asap. As for our patio, I am aware that as part of the sports team that were registered in the hotel, we did have several noise complaints from other guests and our Night Manager was only asking the group in the courtyard to abide by our posted hotel policy that states the courtyard is closed at 9 pm out of consideration for all our guests. And I'm not sure what your referring to when you say "Any request was refused". As mentioned in many other reviews I' feel our staff take great pride in their work and would gladly do their very best to accommodate our guests requests whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    108
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
89
91
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a one night stay at the Travelodge for a kids sports event. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, beds were comfy, all extras usually found in a hotel were in the room and there was a little balcony. Another room had a door right to the pool area, which would be great with kids. The pool area is surrounded by rooms with a nice patio with tables, chairs and gardens. The continental breakfast was average with cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice, yogurt, muffins, coffee, tea, etc. which is more than enough unless you are looking for bacon/eggs. The downfalls were that the air conditioner was on the louder side, the toilet in the room didn't flush that well and the breakfast room is in the basement which is fine except that it was very hot and stuffy in there. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunter2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It seems that you were able to enjoy our garden courtyard and pool area and you found the bed and room to your liking. I'm sorry that you experienced some difficulties with the plumbing and in-room A/C unit. For future reference, please don't hesitate to contact our Front Desk staff if you encounter any concerns with your room. Our staff is very skilled at ensuring that our guest issues are dealt with quickly and satisfactorily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived late so didn't get to enjoy the lovely pool area. But comfy beds and quiet. Great spot when u have early flight. Would stay again. 10 minutes from airport. Clean and good coffee in room. Aging but still good spot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully when you do come back you can stay long enough to enjoy our pool and beautiful garden courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a great Travelodge Hotel. It was one of the cleanest ones I've stayed at. The room was large with a refrig and micro. Decor was updated. Beds were comfortable. The location is great. It is a short 7 block walk down to the waterfront where you can walk along the shore, watch fishermen trying to nab crabs off the dock, and just people watch. There is a visitor center right across the road for maps and information. It is on the same corner as a gas station, McDonalds, liquor store and Pub. The breakfast had a waffle maker, several fruit choices, yogurt, breads, muffins, cereals, and hard boiled eggs. The only strange things was we had to go to the basement to find the breakfast room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got a chance to visit our beautiful town of Sidney by the Sea. We hope to see you come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and found the facility to be very clean and well run. The only issue noted was the noise factor from other guests. That problem is common to many places. The breakfast was good but is now in the basement a bit out of the way but good nonetheless. Rates were very reasonable and the desk staff very very helpful. It is an easy walk from the hotel to anything of interest in Sidney. The airport is 10 minutes away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased we were able to provide you with a stay that at the very least met, but hopefully exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I would classify this hotel as reliable. the staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was ample with a decent assortment of cereals, yogurt, eggs/cheese, fresh fruit, coffee, juice and the inevitable waffles. We received a coupon for dinner at the Pub, but when we got there the place was noisy, music blaring and it was smoky(not sure where that came from) so went elsewhere. The pricing was reasonable compared to others in Sidney for pretty much the same comfort and service so all in all, a good place to stay to catch a plane the next day. Our stay was quite satisfactory.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors as there are rooms near the pub and the halls are busy/noisy, at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomashardy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNCVat, General Manager at Travelodge Victoria Airport, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our complimentary continental breakfast. Our pub is an English style neighborhood Pub that is frequented by many locals, in good part due to our reputation for our food, so it can be busy and might be considered noisy. As for the "smoky" comment, I'm afraid I cant explain that. We are totally non-smoking as per all other establishments in the province. You might have been standing by someone who just smoked outside. We do hope to see you again and perhaps next time you'll give our Pub another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Beacon Inn at Sidney
#1 of 8 in Sidney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Victoria Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Victoria Airport

Property: Travelodge Victoria Airport
Address: 2280 Beacon Ave, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1X1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Victoria Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main street of Sidney, just minutes from the Victoria Int. Airport and the main BC Ferry Terminal with free shuttle service to both. All our rooms have fridges & microwaves or we have kitchenette rooms for long term stays as well as pet friendly rooms. And please enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast and seasonal outdoor heated pool while staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Victoria Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sidney
Travel Lodge Sidney
Sidney Travelodge
Sidney Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Victoria Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing