We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the lasagna!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Latch Inn

The Latch Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Latch Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss the lasagna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's a bed and breakfast, right, but we ate one dinner here, and should have eaten them all! Luigi is the true Italian chef and the results were fabulous! Fresh eggs each morning, and produce grown in their own garden certainly add to the flavor and wholesomeness. We loved both rooms we stayed in (the larger one with the balcony was not available for all nights, but we did prefer it.) We felt like family after 3 nights with Valeria and Luigi and their sweet daughter and lovely Italian waitress. The architecture and furnishings are original and very interesting! We'll be back!

Room Tip: The large room has a balcony overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cemscindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were there for our parents 60th anniversary on June 27. It was a surprise for them as my daughter and I flew in to celebrate. We had arranged a special desert. And what a great baked Alaska ever! There were so many specials that we didn't eat anything off the menu other than the oyster Rockefeller. I've never had them before and will sure get them again. Swordfish was one if their specials. Cooked to perfection. The lamb was quite tastey. The raviolii was home made. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Luigi was so friendly and kind. I think it would be a great place to stay. The grounds are really pretty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SheilaJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Valerie and Luigi were amazing hosts from the moment we arrived until we departed. The atmosphere reminded us of previous trips around Europe. Breakfasts were tasty, plentiful, and fresh. A very quiet area in a very quiet town. Our only "complaint" is that due to family commitments we did not have the opportunity to sample the very inviting dinner menu. We will return!

Room Tip: Most rooms were unlocked and we did not see any room we would not like
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisD762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney bc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I do not understand why this place is not packed every night. The owners go way above and beyond . It's these ridiculous government interventions that are killing these small buisness owners . Soon all we will have is a few crap franchise restaraunts to eat at. Please support such an Amasing caring dedicated hard working family. LUV the latch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chefryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Owners are super sweet and caring and the restaurant food was superb with lots of local ingredients. Excellent atmosphere in the restaurant. My partner and I had dinner by candle light and a fire which was very wonderful since we hadn't had the chance to get out in a while. A must stay or just to dine!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Did not realize The Latch was a bed and breakfast as a local friend made the reservation on our behalf. Rather than having to share a room, they were very generous and let my friend and I have separate rooms. The Inn is a heritage site, formerly a home built for a wealthy individual. I loved the furnishing and decorations. Breakfasts were warm bread products, juice, coffee and fresh fruit. We normally stay in motels or hotels and this was a very nice change experience.

Room Tip: As it is a bed and breakfast, there are not lots of rooms. We did not have a choice and were very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I was quite excited about this B & B when I booked it. It is an old heritage house built in 1926 as a private residence for the Lieutenant Gov of BC (Walter Nichol). It has seen grand days. It is presently owned by Valeria and Luigi who are very pleasant hard working people but the place is tired. Our beautiful big room with a balcony needed to be aired out and dusted. The carpets needed to be replaced or at least cleaned and the plumbing in our bathroom needed work. The location is not convenient unless you have a car. It was at least a 30 min walk to the main area of Sidney. The breakfast was included and it was in a pretty room but couldn't be described as "gourmet"...just basic. I wouldn't stay again, nor would I recommend it to my friends but I did appreciate the beautiful details of this old house and how hard the hosts were trying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidney hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Beacon Inn at Sidney
#1 of 8 in Sidney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Latch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Latch Inn

Property: The Latch Inn
Address: 2328 Harbour Rd, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Latch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Latch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing