We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Inn at Sidney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Ranked #1 of 8 Sidney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is a very nice and comfortable B&B. The soaker tub was lovely, and they even supplied bath salts for a lovely soak. The décor is tastefully done. They even have a bed turn-down service in the afternoon, so you don't have to bother with removing quilts or decorative pillows. The gas fireplace was a nice touch, as was the very cosy couch. The bed was very comfy.

The breakfast that was supplied is made with care and love. There's plenty of private parking behind the Inn. It's not a cheap place to stay, but if you compare prices with the rest of Sidney hotels, it's not the most expensive. So if you're looking for something special and a step up from the rest, it's a beautiful and peaceful place to stay.

I'd recommend this especially for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
79
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Is it a B&B or a small hotel? Either way you choose to describe it, you'll love this beautiful peaceful little treasure.
Warm friendly staff.
Extremely clean and well maintained.
Comfortable beds with cotton sheets (no hot poly blends).
All day access to coffee, tea, fruit and baked goods.
WiFi
Palate pleasing generous breakfast.
Free parking in back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeonVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We liked that this B&B was just 2 or 3 blocks from the ferry dock(Anacortes to Sidney) and just a couple blocks from the bus to Butchart Gardens. The staff was very accomodating to let us check in early and dump our suitcase, so we could get to the bus stop and spend the afternoon at Butchart.(Bus $2.50 each way-have correct change). When we returned the Sherry was set out and we enjoyed our sips as we looked through their book to choose a restaurant with the friendly staff input. All restaurants were within easy walking distance.
We stayed in the Mayne Island room, one of the less expensive rooms on the 3rd floor. (No elevators).Nicely decorated with a big soaker tub plus shower and a fireplace.Lovely breakfast in the morning, with the nice surprise of freshly baked molasses cookies. Can you have dessert after breakfast? Sure, you're on vacation! Again, they were happy to accomodate us the next morning to store our suitcase while we wandered around and went to the aquarium before catching the noon ferry back to Anacortes. You do hear plane noise, but we were already awake at 7am.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here for two weeks in April 2013 while moving a relative. This is a lovely B&B style very small hotel (9-10 rooms) all designed in an Edwardian style. It has the feel of an old English mansion, but with modern bathrooms. My room called "Galliano" was on the second floor looking west from large windows over the small parking lot, hedges, trees and neighbouing residential area. There was a big soaker tub as well as a shower in the bathroom and complimentary Wifi. The hotel is only one block from the main street in this quaint little seacoast town. It is 3 blocks to the water and the fabulous walking paths along it.

The staff here are very friendly and anxious for you to enjoy your stay. The breakfasts are gourmet and served in a beautiful little dining room. There is always fresh fruit and baking available as well as the ability to make coffee and tea anytime. Sherry (at no extra charge) is put out in the dining room at 5PM so that guests can have a glass and meet fellow travelers if desired.

I loved it here.

Room Tip: Every room is different so you need to look at the website and talk to the hotel to help pick the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan, British Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in December. Great location, walking distance to downtown but on a quieter street. Comfortable cozy rooms, nicely decorated, super clean. We stayed in the Mayne Island room. This is one of the less expensive rooms, in the back on the 3rd floor. It was quiet, included a fireplace and a soaker tub. Staff were helpful, professional and everything we asked for was provided with a smile. This hotel has a really nice breakfast room, with fresh baked goodies available all the time, coffee and tea, cereal. Hot breakfast was just the right amount and delicious. We will stay here again when we return to Sidney. Comfortable, classy and good value.

Room Tip: Mayne Island room was small, but hadl the amenities of the larger rooms, and less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sawmill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Beacon Inn is in the wonderful little towno n the Washington Ferry terminal, just 12 miles north of Victoria. Most folks bypass the town on the way to Victoria but we loved the day we spent there. Beacon Inn is an elegant old building with nice room guest rooms and private baths. Parking is off street in the rear. They have tea and cookies out all day and even offered us sherry in the afternoon. The breakfast was very good. We were very comfortable in the room and it was quiet. We were upgraded for free since another couple needed the room we had booked on the main floor. The staff was helpful but it was run as an inn, with staff during the day, rather than an intimate B&B setting. Lots of good restaurants and bookstores and shops nearby. It is a bit pricey however.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are up steep stairs with no elevator so if stairs are a problem, ask for a main le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradocowgirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spent 2 nights in early August and chose the Inn based on its reviews on TA and the nearness to the Washington State Ferry System dock. Having been "on the road" for 10 days in BC, we wanted comfort and quiet within walking distance to restaurants. Our room was located on the second level (American) and it was beautifully decorated with all comforts of home+. Since it was quite warm outside, we enjoyed cool afternoons watching the Olympic Games before dinner at Bistro Swiss - a wonderful restaurant - so good that we dined there for both nights!!! (That is a rare day for us.) Breakfast was tasteful, served in a lovely setting,tho a bit formal; and my dietary restrictions were met. The chef/desk help gave us a wonderful suggestion for a drive along the water to Oak Bay, around Beacon Hill Park and ending in downtown Victoria - we enjoyed seeing some beautiful residential neighborhoods as well as water and views of Olympic Range of mountains in Washington State. A quick drive back to Sidney on the freeway followed.
Since it is close to our home in Seattle area, I am sure to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lover-of-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.2 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
16.4 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn at Sidney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn at Sidney

Property: Beacon Inn at Sidney
Address: 9724 Third St, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 3A2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Inn at Sidney 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "One of Canada's Top 10 B&B/Inns for 2014". The Beacon Inn offers 5-Star luxury in the heart of Sidney. Centrally located in quaint seaside community of Sidney, close to Victoria, Butchart Gardens, BC ferries (to Vancouver & Gulf Islands) and WA State ferries (to San Juan Islands & Anacortes), as well as the Victoria airport. The Inn offers complimentary full breakfasts; afternoon Sherry; coffee/tea/snacks; off-street parking; local phone calling; and WiFi. Nine beautifully appointed guestrooms with feather beds, spa-inspired ensuite bathrooms, gas F/P's, CD players and A/C. An easy stroll to many unique local shops, a great selection of eateries, coffee houses, and the spectacular Sidney waterfront just 2 blocks away. Area activities include, golf, wine tasting and tours, whale watching, cycling, kayaking and boating to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Inn at Sidney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing