We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for ferry/airport connections in Victoria BC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot for ferry/airport connections in Victoria BC”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Cedarwood was a great location for staying the night before flying out of Victoria BC. We had a nice walk into Sidney for dinner. Very reasonable parking. Taxi to airport took about 10-15 minutes. Room was dark due to wood panelling, but room was clean. Coffee maker was a nice touch. Best room and parking package I found.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Galiano room. Convenient to car for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1950Jam2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    57
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
58
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We used the Cedarwood as the location to start our vacation. They offer very nice rooms which are convenient to the Victoria Airport and also offer "car parking" for a nominal fee. The rooms are very clean and functional. Ours was a King bed which had a full kitchen, which we did not need but comes with the King bed designation. The room is well appointed with free WI-FI and a comfortable bed. The front desk person arranged a wake-up call and also pre-booked a cab to the airport. We had to make a change of times after we settled in, but this was also handled efficiently. The Cedarwood now charges a nominal fee of $15 to park your car for up to 3 weeks. Above 21 days there is a $3 per day additional charge - all of this a very reasonable rate for parking at the Victoria Airport. In fact, our overnight stay and parking charges for 24 days was approximately 1/2 of the amount quoted us to park at the airport - a real bargain with a great night sleep thrown in. We will certain use the Cedarwood again, and are actually thinking of a mini vacation there - the location on the ocean is gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusikAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed in the cheapest room. It was very dark - all wood, the only window faced the parking area. It was clean and simple. Nothing wrong with it but very basic and a expensive for it was. Only had a coffee filter, no microwave. Good location - right on the water. It was fine for a motel but definitely overpriced for what you got. Reception lady was friendly but did not seem to have much knowledge about the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutkin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights earlier this month. It provided everything that we needed.
The location of the Cedarwood Inn is perfect for anybody leaving Vancouver Island either by air or by by ferry. {either Washington Ferries or B.C. Ferries). In fact the hotel allows guests to park their cars on their lot provided you spend one night there ,either before or after your trip.
Our room contained a small kitchenette and all the usual kitchen utensils...it was very convenient.
The hotel provides a variety of rooms,from units resembling a small condo to small single rooms and the hotel grounds are attractive and well maintained.
While the furnishings and decor could use a little updating we found our stay to be just right....a quiet convenient haven with friendly service all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1tassiedevil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, both to airport, ferry to US, the sea, and ocean view restaurants. They offer free parking while you are away on holiday, and the taxi fare to the airport is very reasonable. The grounds are well kept with a beautiful garden, across the street from the ocean. Check in and out is easy and friendly. If you arrive after hours, they will leave your key for you. My only criticism is the rooms need an upgrade; furniture is getting a little shabby, walls need fresh paint, and drapes and rugs could be replaced. Several years ago, we stayed in one of their suites overlooking the ocean. It was lovely! We particulary enjoyed the gas fireplace. Their rooms are more mundane, typical motel rooms. However, their convenience to the airport and free parking service make this a good choice of a place to stay before leaving on a trip.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an ocean view, ask for one of the suites overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn C, Manager at The Cedarwood Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for using our park and travel package. We like to make things easier for our guests by providing free long term parking. With a short, inexpensive cab ride away from the airport, the Park and travel makes a great combination. Please spread the word and we look forward to booking with you in the future!!! We are glad you enjoyed you stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the James Island suite with my wife and son, having the extra space was handy as it felt like home. The location of the suite is nice as it faces the ocean and you get a nice breeze with the patio windows open. Our son enjoyed watching the ferry come in, and also the planes flying overhead. While some may find the constant traffic of planes annoying, our family is used to noise so this wasn't an issue.

Amenities are decent keeping in mind that this is not a high end luxury hotel, and housekeeping does a good job tidying up. Again, remembering that this is more like a home away from home type of hotel, keeping your expectations in line will certainly make the stay a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nismoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We found the Cedarwood online and were excited to note its location, conveniently across the street from the beach that we wanted to launch our kayaks from. We stayed in one of the Saltspring Island Suites on Sunday 8/26/12 the night before we launched (and also had a reservation for the night we were due to come off the water a week later). Steve and the staff at the Cedarwood were extremely friendly, allowing us to park our two vehicles in their parking lot for the week while we were kayaking. We found the room to be very clean, comfortable, quiet and cozy. The landscaping of the grounds is fantastic, full of colorful flowers. If you're planning a trip to the Southern Gulf Islands and want a great place to "bookend" your trip, you can't go wrong by checking out the Cedarwood! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumblingbear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.6 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Victoria Airport
0.5 mi away
Beacon Inn at Sidney
Beacon Inn at Sidney
#1 of 8 in Sidney
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedarwood Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedarwood Inn and Suites

Property: The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
Address: 9522 Lochside Dr, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cedarwood Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among award-winning gardens in a quiet, residential area of Sidney-By-The-Sea, the Cedarwood provides waterfront accommodation with a difference. When you stay with us, you are close to the world-renowned Butchart Gardens and within walking distance to the San Juan Islands ferries. You will have the opportunity to enjoy spectacular views of the waterfront and gardens by the sea, Olympic Mountains and Mount Baker. Just a few blocks away, there are restaurants, cafes, banks, supermarkets and unique specialty shops to serve your every need. Whether on holiday or on business, we invite you to stay at The Cedarwood, where it is our intention to provide each and every guest with a home away from home, all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Cedarwood Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedarwood Hotel Sidney
Cedarwood Hotel Sidney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing