We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much more $$ to stay here and worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Location, location location. Even the street view rooms have a view of the ocean. This is still a well appointed, beautiful property. The rooms are quiet and more than comfortable. A local motel wanted $110 for a dated room - while the Sidney Pier was $144 and so worth the extra few dollars.
A couple of minor things that could be improved. The televisions are small. Maybe 29" flat screen? The bathroom needs extra lighting as the sink is in the corner but the light is centered...leaving one side of your face in the dark. And the staff are a bit too formal for our liking. They could loosen up a little and have some personality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonic_Muffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Looking for sanity at the very best place ... and found it!

All the brilliant reviews for this hotel are true! My room was gorgeous, and from the large windows you could view the purple and pink sunrises rising over the ocean. There is a walkway next to the ocean for wonderful walks, or turn the other way and visit the unique Sidney shops. The front desk staff were incredible and helped answer all my questions. Being in Sidney, it is a short drive to Victoria or up to Swartz Bay for a ferry ride to one of the Gulf Islands. No gridlock and no big city sirens, just peace and quiet. Dave, the hotel ambassador, is a true treat and very photogenic!

Thanks to the staff for making this break such a wonderful experience. I can't thank you all enough! Now, I just need to plan my next get-a-way!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCHeart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This was the perfect location for an overnight stay before we caught the ferry back to the mainland. We were delighted with the swank decor and many updated conveniences in this hotel. Parking was convenient and we could walk to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CajunLady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This comfortable hotel provided us 3 days of wonderful relaxation. It is one of the nicer dog-friendly hotels I've found. We did not technically have a view room but it still had a gorgeous view of the pier and water to the south. Linens and furnishings were all very nice, and I appreciate the "green" emphasis. We had no problems with the service, and our dog was quite happy here as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanaSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

On arrival we paid a few dollars extra to upgrade to a "view room", and....we were pleasantly surprised.

We ended up on the 4th floor, and the room was HUGE....based on present day hotel standards. When was the last time you had a DINING ROOM table in your hotel room ...with four chairs. Plus...the standard couch and a couple of easy chairs.

Quite frankly, we ended up ordering Room Service for dinner. Normally we never do that preferring to search out a local cafe for dinner.

The front desk was friendly, and Jake....the dog, the hotel's mascot, was quite attentive especially if you had a treat for him.

All in all a good stay. I'll rate our stay a 4+.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

the location of this hotel is excellant. lots of restaurants, shops, cafe's in the area. had a nice suite room with unobstructed view of the water. i would recommend requesting a room on a higher floor. we were on the second floor and people walking by would be able to see in our room and we could hear music from the restaurant/bar below.
the sound proofing leaves a lot to be desired. i could hear clearly the conversations that went on in the room next door and people in the hallways. had some issues with the staff and the room not being ready.
the balcony was great, decent kitchen facilities and comfy beds. i think it was overpriced and the price would probably make my decision on whether i return or not. but you can't beat the view. a pool would have been nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

This hotel was a revelation It is well placed with beautiful sea views, the rooms are lovely, comfortable and well appointed. The staff are helpful and friendly....all in all staying here is a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,266 reviews
24.9 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
15.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £96 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing