We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet resort by the sea side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quiet resort by the sea side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is very close to the Swartz Bay ferry terminal. Rooms are lovely as is the hotel. All staff were very helpful any time help was needed or with inquiries. Amenities all close by. If you are looking for more, you need to go to Victoria, rather than Sidney. It is nice and relaxing. At the end of my stay, the hotel even provided me with a ride to the ferry terminal for my trip home to the lower mainland.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the spa, you should look at booking prior to your actual trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helrobchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    128
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
101
216
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, however Lisa, the front desk clerk seemed put off that we were even there, like we were disturbing her. We had called the hotel an hour before we arrived and were told that indeed they had rooms and the different types. Upon our arrival Lisa was not very pleasant and to top it off she would not honor the the trip advisor free upgrade coupon that the hotel has posted. She said she didn't have any upgraded room to offer us. But as I said we had just called the hotel and they listed all the different rooms available.
Our room had patio doors but no balcony, it's just blocked off. To see the ocean we had to stand at our window, yes we could see the ocean from the 3 floor, but we could also see every other room, balcony, and the roof over the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiangiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Sidney pier is conveniently located minutes from Swartz Bay ferry terminal once you arrive, it OSA quaint sea side hotel with a pretty view of the harbour and amenities close by.

However, the cell phone reception is poor in the lobby, restaurant and conference room. In fact I had to step outside to use my cell phone.
The rooms are nice but I noticed cracks in the sink and tub, wow for a new hotel, do they not inspect their rooms?

Haro is a nice restaurant but with a limited menu and the deserts were ok but portions are huge

I didn't check the spa but it was full when I arrived to try a last minute booking. Parking is free with check in. Also there are people who own suites and many are seniors, so don't expect to party too hard or you'll get a call from management

If you want to drive to Victoria, be wary of the time you leave due to heavy traffic to and from downtown Victoria.
Overall the price is moderate but Sidney pier tries hard but it just doesn't wow me to come back to stay here for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Better to stay on floors 3 or4 for more quieter stay if you open balcony doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indotraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is lovely and the location is great,but the room is definitely not worth the $194 rate we paid. I have never felt compelled to post a photo before, but I think it is important for people to see what they really get when they pay for an "ocean view". We were also disappointed that the balconies are not private at all. We asked if we could move to another room and they would not accommodate us. The staff are polite but not friendly and don't seem to care about pleasing the guests.

The rooms are large and well-appointed but the mattress is much too hard, and there are not enough pillows. We asked for extra pillows and were told there were some (2) in the closet; they would not bring more, despite the "pillow library" mentioned in the guide. The bathroom is lovely but the shower head is so low that anyone over 5'10" would hit their head. Strange because the ceilings are high and they could have placed it at least a foot higher up.

Room service was fast and the fish and chips were excellent; seafood curry was just okay. But we were surprised to still see our dishes there in the hall every time we left our room, and they were still there at 11:30 the next day when we checked out. When you're paying these kinds of prices, those details matter.

I was very surprised to see a TripAdvisor award at the front counter. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor and ask to be as close to the water as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCBusinessTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I agree that the details are very important, and we did not meet your very reasonable expectations for the room or service. With regards to the seaview room category, I have reviewed our inventory, and will be re-branding rooms the second floor rooms above the Atrium in the center of the building. While there is a view of the water, it is not a full, unobstructed ocean view as you note.
We take great pride in our service and providing excellent value to our guests. We take action when we fall short of our standards, and to that end we have reviewed your notes as a team, and reviewed how to have handled the service side of your experience with more hospitality and understanding.
I would very much like to invite you back to the hotel to enjoy all that Sidney has to offer. Please contact me directly and I will personally make the arrangements.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, and I look forward to an opportunity to speak personally with you,

Natalie King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

20 of my favorite family members and myself ascended on Sidney last week. The Sidney Pier service was exceptional in every way and the character of Sidney is one of my most favorite things in the world. I also highly recommend Haro's and Georgia's.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillypheobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
422 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a sunday night in Sidney this past week, having arrived from the Gulf Islands earlier that day, and needing to wait until Monday morning to catch a flight out. We had previously tried almost all of the other hotels in town over the years, and were variously unimpressed with their quality versus price point, so we decided at the last moment to give the Sidney Pier a try.

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very modern and roomy, clean, and environmentally friendly (the waste basket even has four discrete sections depending on what it is that you are disposing of).

Given that the stay was off season, we are sure that the rate we paid is nowhere near what we would have to pay in the summer. Rates in Sidney go through the roof after June 1st. As a result, we were very pleased with the value we received for the amount we were charged.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A small group of us visited Sidney for a memorial service. Since we were travelling together, we wanted to stay together. I didn't do the actually booking but stayed one night with 3 others.
We were able to get the 1 bedroom suite and one room adjoining.

I was surprised how beautiful and modern it was! We had a stunning view of the water with huge windows, and the layout was really suitable for a group of people to socialize and spend the time needed to have a few laughs and remember the departed. The finishes were very modern and clean, and having the kitchen and fridge meant we could keep the wine chilled and have snacks too.

There's a spa too but we didn't use this. It was a quick trip and we mostly stayed in the room.

Room Tip: The waterfront suites have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyalasagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Property: The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing