We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MORE MIXED FEELINGS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

On Sunday 25 Aug we checked in to spend an evening along with Dinner to celebrate our Anniversary and a friend's recent Birthday, who along with his wife and Chocolat Lab also checked into a room on the "pet floor".
The Desk Person was very friendly. I informed him:
1: We were celebrating our 51st Anniversary
2; We would be entertaining our friends and their dog, who had reserved a pet friendly room on the 3rd Floor, in our room for a pre dinner drink and "nibblies" before dinner which had been pre-arranged through the Concierge.
He was aware of the arrangements, as well our friends name and the name of their dog and said there would be no problem if the dog visited in our room for the pre- dinner drinks and was returned to the 3rd Flr
There was no offer of assistance with our bags.
The dog was returned to it's room before we went to dinner
3: We went for dinner and despite the fact that a window table had been requested in the dinner reservation 3 weeks in advance there was no table available!
4:While we were waiting in line for a suitable table a Desk Person appeared inquiring who were the party who had a non-registered pet in their room.
After looking at each other we tried to explain to this person the circumstances which she did not grasp and to our embaresment proceeded to lecture us on hotel policy in front of all assembled!!
5:After many requests for some bread on the table one of our party went to the serving area and asked for bread service.
6:Our friends brought a unique bottle of wine to the table for which we shared the$20 corkage fee, and of which the Front of House shared a glass.
7:The a/m Manager, the Hostess, wait staff were all aware of this special occasion. There was 0 acknowledgement from the Front Desk, the Dining Room and through check out.

We will not return
Denis Moffat

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harold70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved the view from our room. It was a pleasant stay. The staff was helpful. The place was clean & classy. They delivered a small gift upon our arrival. It is right next door to the discovery center and whale watching.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We travelled recently from Friday harbour(Wa) by ferry to Sidney over a glorious sunny ride with Washington State Ferries.It was great to find ourselves warmly welcomed at the hotel and to enjoy the harbour views from our upper floor room.The hotel staff were courteous and helpful and the room and facilities offered very good value for money.The location is ideal to stroll by the ocean or explore the quaint downtown area and you easily take a city bus to explore Victoria .
Last but not least if you enjoy mussels...try the hotel restaurant (Haro's) which offers the best we've had since our last visit in Belgium !

Room Tip: "Choose a full seaview room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Today is our 5th and last day at this hotel. We have mixed feelings about our stay here, but will probably be back since our in-laws moor their boat up here.

We arrived by car from Portland and started unloading our bags on the sidewalk. When no one appeared with a cart, I went into the reception and asked if they had one. Without so much as a, "welcome to the Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa," he gestured casually to a cart lingering near the door.

I bundled all our gear onto the cart and wheeled it inside to check in. The same chap quietly took my card and ID and then got quite talkative pointing out that the "Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa was STRICTLY no smoking!"

Later that afternoon, I wanted to make a call to the local ferry line. After examining the facia of the telephone and trying the standard 9 and 0, I called the front desk and asked how I should go about getting an outside line. The check-in guy, told me I should press 9 and then dial the #. I remarked jokingly that given the plethora of information printed on the telephone facia on how to order a facial, room service, pink martini, etc., it would have been super convenient if they printed "press 9 for outside line." He sarcastically said, "Yes, that would be nice, and hung up."

Our first night's attempt at taking a bath was a bust. The plug leaked almost as fast as the incoming water from the faucet. The next day I let the chap know at the reception desk and he nipped into the back to emerge with a large flat circular piece of rubber.

Since it appeared clear that the bath plug (one of those metal insert deals) needed to be removed before the rubber UFO could do its trick, I called down and got our first check-in guy again. "Turn and unscrew the plug by hand," he said with a degree of authority. After several attempts at this, I got down to examine the plug closely. It needed a screw-driver to release the holding screw. Out came my Swiss Army knife and it was off. I called down to advise "Mr Friendly" I had solved the problem and that unscrewing it by hand was not the solution, but rather that guests needed to come equipped with a star screw driver. He said thanks and hung up.

Anyway, besides these pet peeves, the room was clean and the hotel is in a great location. The Georgia Cafe in the hotel lobby area is fantastic for delicious breakfast sandwiches and lattes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluntAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The staff alone is worth visiting here for. They were so kind to help us book a vacation for our retired minister. Upon arrival they upgraded him to a large suite with an ocean view without anyone asking for this favor. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Free bottled water in room. Robes and slippers in closet. Nice flat screen tv. But we never found a reason to turn it on. Very close to the ferry. No need to drive anywhere. Everything very close.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyinlove02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent two nights there. Bad experience with the care taker who clean the room. First, she seemed impatient, probably we didn't get out of the room early enough for her. She locked our room even we put "Do not disturb" sign on the door. We get out not long after 11am. Second, when we get back to the hotel, the room didn't get clean up probably. She left an empty garbage bin on the washroom countertop, and the garbage bin in the main room was not emptied, garbage was still sitting there. You really didn't expect that kind of service in a new fancy 5 stars hotel. We registered for four people (two adults and two kids - 6 and 2 yrs old), we only had two face clothes for 2 nights. The washroom looks fancy, but not practical, the bath tub has no full size curtain but a moveable glass door which only cover half of the tub, the water splashes everywhere when taking shower. The water tap was leaking whenever we turned it on. The coffee machine was leaking out water too when making coffee. We travel with a 2 yrs old, a proper fridge to keep his milk is necessary. It says the room has a "fridge" when we book it, but it turns out it's just a cooling unit. We had to continuously put new bags of ice to keep the milk cold enough for those 3 days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLYL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Quaint, boutique style, small hotel of 55 rooms. Great location, clean & relatively new. Very nice staff. Excellent service. Loved the coffee shop. Great restaurant. Fantastic sea-side walking trails right out the door. Walking distance to everything including restaurants, shopping, drug stores, boating, etc. Very close to ferries and airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TucsonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
0.1 mi away
Sidney Waterfront Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
The Cedarwood Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Emerald Isle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,400 reviews
13.4 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £105 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and TravelClick so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing