We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Nice Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Nice Accommodations”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Picturesque location, close to the water, with a nice view of Mt. Baker across the Strait of Georgia. It has the feel of a European boutique hotel, but with larger rooms and proper beds. We stayed one night, traveling next day to Washington state, and it's just a few minutes to the ferry terminal. There are a few decent restaurants nearby, we did not try the restaurant on the premises.

Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaFlyer-321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your post; very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    130
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
102
220
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The rooms are larger than most other standard rooms at hotels. The staff are very helpful and every time I go there (2 times) it has been a great experience. After a couple of stays they give you a vip card and you can get 15% off their restaurant and spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindness_matters2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! So nice to hear about experiences like your own.
Our Corporate VIP card can be used in conjunction with our Pier Points loyalty program too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Although we were happy with our hotel room we weren't with other aspects of the hotel. At check in, there was a line up and no one around. After several minutes of waiting someone came. The man ahead of us was a walk in guest asking for a room but she chose to check us in first as we had reservations. At the restaurant, although table were available we were told we couldn't sit outside. Our order was taken promptly but took a very long time to arrive. An apology was given and the server left. Before I took a bite of my food I found a hair in it (not mine as it was a different colour). We finally brought it to another servers attention who took it away. There was no apology. There was no follow up. After another 10-15mins my food was put in front of me, again without a word. My husband didn't eat all of his meal and his plate was taken away without asking why it was 1/2 full still. Not somewhere I'd recommend.

Room Tip: A sea view is lovely and we also had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzyWadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and I do apologize for the sub-standard service delivery. Our Restaurant Manager has replied to your comments more fully on our Haro's Restaurant page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've stayed here several times before and use it primarily as a "stopover" hotel when needing to connect to/pick up from a flight (or early/late ferry). Staff, on the whole, have been very friendly and professional. We have been pleased with our rooms - large, clean and with partial ocean views. Beautiful setting in the heart of Sidney and no issues with any noise. As far as we're concerned, it's by far the best choice in the area. Haven't timed our visits right these past few times to see Dave the Dog... Did have an issue with Haro's Restaurant regarding what they considered "a pint" of beer to be... Also, a touch put off by the high charge for the 3rd adult (our daughter) in the room, who was using existing bedding (the 2nd Queen). But, we knew "the rules" and accepted this at the time of booking. It would, however, have been nice to have had the room fully prepared for the additional occupant with little things like a 3rd coffee cup, etc. Not a huge deal, but still a sign of lack of attention to the extra paying guest.

Room Tip: So far, the rooms we have been in faced Beacon Ave. (rather than Seaport Place) and have all been ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricki-in-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Pier, and for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate your comment on preparing a room for more than 2 guests, and we will work on this important detail.
Dave has been struggling with some issues around old age, and is moving into 'semi-retirement'! It's a dog's life!
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Natalie King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A smaller waterfront hotel, rooms have beautiful view of the ocean & Mt. Baker. Large rooms, exceptionally clean, very comfortable bed & quiet throughout the night. Good size bathroom , lovely shower & deep tub. Would return in a heartbeat !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Natalie King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Close to Victoria airport and beautiful night on the water. They have large modern rooms. We really liked the built in luggage area by the closet and near the bathroom - a well thought out design. Also close if you are catching a ferry in the morning or coming off the ferry late in the day.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSM9805, Director of Sales at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We took advantage of the gals-get-away and what a treat it was! The suite was amazing with wonderful views and perfect setting for enjoying the room. Everything was provided for our convenience. This hotel is situated a few steps away from the lovely town of Sidney and also close to the water which can be enjoyed by a stroll along the promenade. Restaurant and spa attached to the hotel provided excellent service. We have to thank Trevor again for his friendly and excellent help when we need it.....this type of service makes you want to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleneM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie K, General Manager at The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. Girlfriend get-a-ways are so important! Thank you for choosing the Pier - we are so happy to hear you had a great time!
Natalie King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Property: The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing