We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern spa hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Modern spa hotel in great location.”
Reviewed 24 May 2009

A large, modern spa hotel in a great location, with spectacular views out to the nearby islands. Somewhat expensive, as are the local shops, but the staff are friendly – especially Dave the resident black Lab who is a Guide Dog for the Blind drop-out. The food in the restaurant is excellent – try the signature Bouillabaisse if you’re really hungry. Complimentary water in the room is a nice touch, but was puzzled by the lack of a plug for the sink in the bathroom – which was also poorly lit. Overall pretty good, but lacks a pool which is a shame for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    130
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
102
223
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, B.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My husband and I just returned from staying at this hotel. From the moment we arrived my expectations were met or exceeded. The young man at the counter was extremely friendly and helpful. He let us know right away that our room had been upgraded free of charge, and the check in procedure took less than 5 minutes. Our room was beautiful. Very modern decor, comfy bed and fluffy robes in the closet. There was cream in the fridge for our coffee and many bottles of water. I had booked a few spa services as they have a salon on site. They were extremely professional and the building was beautiful. Because we had a package special, it included a discount for dinner at their restaurant. Our table over looked the water and the food and service was fantastic. There is a good choice of entrees and the prices are mid-range. When we returned from dinner, there was a small plate of desserts on our table with a small card thanking us for our business. I can not think of a single negative aspect to this hotel. Everything was superb and everyone was very friendly. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

My fiancee and I stayed at Sidney Pier Hotel and Spa over the weekend after Valentine's Day to celebrate our 5th Anniversary together. When we were looking for a place to stay I found Sidney and looked at their website, but it told us there was nothing available, and so I gave up, but my fiancee insisted on calling to check. I am so glad we did. The person who booked us in was very helpful and extremely friendly. He asked me if this was for any special occasion and I told him about our anniversary and he said he would put a note on our reservation.

When we got to the hotel we were checked in within seconds and had a parking pass to move my car to the underground lot. We got our stuff up to the room and boy were we pleasantly surprised. For our anniversary they had upgraded our room to a top floor ocean view 1-bedroom suite. On top of that we found a really nice touch on the coffee table in the form of a miniature sand garden with the words Happy Anniversary scripted into the sand.

The room was immaculate and looked brand new. There was a wall mounted 27 or 32 inch LCD TV/DVD player mounted on the wall a fireplace, a kitchenette with nice IKEA stylings. The bedroom was a king bed and very comfy although I could have done with a bit softer mattress. The bathrooms (yes 2) were also very nice. The ensuite had a soaker tub, and glass enclosed shower, as well as two sinks and a seperate toilet area with a door for those private moments. The other bathroom was just as nice, but without the tub.

On the second night of our stay we had a few problems sleeping sue to excessive noise from the party that had booked almost half the hotel and then decided to all gather in the room below ours and play Rock Band (who takes Rock Band to a hotel?). We complained twice, once on the phone and once in person at the front desk. Shortly after the second complaint things quieted down.

Upon checkout the next day the manager personally apologized for the noise issues the previous night and told us he would be discounting our last nights stay 15% and taking care of our parking fees. A very nice gesture I thought on top of what they had already done.

The town of Sidney is only about 20 minutes away from Downtown Victoria driving. We spent the better part of two days there and still managed to see a lot of the small town of Sidney. Sidney has a lot of really nice shops to explore and if you love reading there are only about a half dozen book stores as well.

The only disappointment we experienced was Dave the Black Lab Ambassador of the hotel doesn't stay at the hotel on weekends. Next time we stay we will definitely be taking him some carrots and take him for a walk.

Overall this was one of the best experiences we have had at a hotel thus far, and the hotel staff should be commended for their friendly and professional attitudes. If you're staying on the Island this place is tops on our list.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjw716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

We stayed at the Sidney Pier Hotel for several nights in July 2008. It is a new hotel with very nice accomodations. Only 20 minutes away from Victoria by car, yet you have a much more laid back experience here. An excellent value compared to Victoria. And there is a bakery to die for one-half block away where breakfast goodies abound.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

What is not to like about a modern contemporary hotel that feels like home and has a black lab as the ambassador! We stayed in one of the Signature Pier one-bedroom suites. These are on the corners have have beautiful ocean front views. The living room has a comfortable sofa bed, but no drapes- so be prepared to get up at sunrise. There are two bathrooms in the suite as well as a fully stocked modern kitchen. There is no oven, but there is a convection oven/ microwave combo. We have one of these at home, so if you aren't use to cooking in one of these, the hotel was nice enough to provide the manual in the drawer below. Great flat screen TV/ DVD player which is on an adjustable arm, so it makes viewing very easy from the couch, leather swivel chairs or even the dining room. The bedroom is small but cozy. This hotel does have air conditioning! Which is great just for air circulation. It would be great, though, if they would put ceiling fans in the bedroom. There is free WiFi in the lobby and coffee cafe on the ground floor, and wired Internet in the rooms. (A tip: buy and bring with you an Apple Airport Express WiFi base station. They're cheap, tiny, and will let you have wireless in your room!) The hotel does get some noise from airplanes as the town of Sidney is at the end of the flight path for takeoffs from the airport. This did not seem to be a noise issue when the windows were closed (and there must be some time regulations as we did not hear anything from 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.) We would and will most definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Two bathrooms!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Msredhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okotoks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the Sidney Pier just a few weeks ago for a wedding.

Location is amazing - it is exactly where the name of the hotel says it is - at the Sidney Pier!! I stone's throw from all the lovely places that Sidney has to offer.

Great staff - extremely friendly !

Lovely artwork all over the hotel - with featured artists each month. I really enjoyed how they showcase local talent.

The rooms are nice and clean - lovely room with a nice view.

As for the area itself, I wished that there were more local gift shops that offered ocean-type of souvenirs - there are a lot of home decor shops (import items from all over), and aside from the salt spring soap store, there wasn't really much else.

That was a bit disappointing.

However, there are some nice locally made souvenirs in the hotel lobby and if you see it and wish to purchase a locally made souvenir - the lobby would be the place to get it.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiegal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

My initial experience with this hotel was less than satisfactory as I encountered some major issues with booking online, being quotes a great rate, and then found the hotel would not honour it.

I am happy to report that upon making my unhappy experience known to the manager of the hotel, I experienced the best case of service recovery that I have had in a long time.

Instead of the standard "our apologies for how you were treated", the hotel, from the manager down, all seemed bent on making sure we had the best experience possible.

Our stay was divine. The food was wonderful, the spa excellent, and our room was everything we could have wanted and more. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and have done so since my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouversurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,177 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Property: The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing