We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and we were arriving late at night. The room was wonderful, looking out toasted th water. We walked around for several hours in th morning and found the area was beautiful, filled wig stunning flowers with a path along the water. Nice breakfast muffins downstairs, too.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

My sister and I stayed 2 nights in a suite that had great ocean views , a seperate bedroom, kitchen, sitting area and dining table. Good balcony to watch the boats go by There is a small walkway /park area between the hotel and the ocean but this makes for great people-watching with the boats going by in the background.

Our room was not ready when we wanted to check in. By 4 pm, the "gauranteeed" check in time, it was still not ready and it was 35 minutes of hanging out in the lobby before it was finally ready. It is VERY annnoying to have to wait to get in to your room when you are tired and it is past the check in time promised. Plus, the sofa bed was not made up so we had to call down to get housekeeping in to make up the bed, The response was quick but still.......and the room next to ours must have been part of a weekend wedding party as there were people coming and going all day and all night and we were actually woken up in the middle of the night as there was a couple arguring right outside our door.

These things left us with a very guarded opinion of this hotel. I figured if you are made to wait on a room that should be ready, the least they can do is shuffle you into the bar and offer to buy you a drink, To be kept waiting in the lobby, getting more and more impaitient, is not the way to treat guests.

Having said that, the room was great, the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were lovely and I MIGHT stay here again if the service improves. I would be on my guard the next time I stayed and hope that the service has stepped up a couple of notches. We did not use the spa services so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had the pleasure of staying here for a one-night getaway. The rooms are a good size and very clean and in the bathroom shampoo, conditioner and soap dispensers are provided. The hotel is nicely situated for enjoying an evening stroll along the waterfront and admiring the boats in the marina. A very pleasant setting indeed. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and of high quality and the service was outstanding. Overall a great evening was enjoyed and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The hotel is right on the ocean and the rooms were beautiful. The staff were amazing! It is fairly pricey but we really enjoyed our stay there. We had been in downtown Vancouver previous to this and Sidney was like heaven. It is really quaint and quiet and relaxed. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy45h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Our stay of four nights was perfect. The hotel grounds, lobby, and rooms are lovely. I was amazed that staff working at the desk knew who we were no matter what the hour of the day was when we had a question. They had good suggestions about things to see and do in the area. We ate at the hotel restaurant Haro's and it was very good. The restaurant staff were also very friendly and the food was very good. Get to know Dave the black lab at the hotel if you are a dog lover. He is a good looking and friendly black Lab. Taking him for a walk was fun and gave us our "Lab fix" while we were away from our Lab at home. Our room was modern and very clean. We had a beautiful water view and it was quiet both during the day and night. Overall, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgetoutofdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 2 week trip around the Pacific Northwest from the UK.

We chose the hotel as we had already stayed on Victoria's Inner Harbour, and wanted somewhere handy for the ferry back to Vancouver, plus we knew our 9 year old son would love the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre which is part of the same complex. We got a good advance booking rate on the internet on a seaview room to clinch the deal.

The hotel forms part of a seafront development just by Sidney Pier, the rest being private apartments. Our apartment was spacious and comfortable, with good quality fittings throughout, a gleaming bathroom and all very clean. We had a king bed with a sofa bed for our son. The guest coin-operated laundry next to our room was very handy at this stage in our trip. We had mistakenly thought that having a spa, there would also be a swimming pool, but there isn't - our mistake rather than the hotel's.

Our only problem with the room was our neighbours - we could hear them as they arrived, never a good sign. Inevitably, they disturbed our sleep. We did ask about moving room, but the hotel was pretty full - reception did offer us a change of room, but we decided to stick with it and fortunately, our inconsiderate neighbours departed after one night so our second night was much more peaceful.

The location is great - very pleasant to stroll around the pier, small beaches, with great views towards the San Juan Islands. There are some small whalewatching operators from Sidney, and they have the advantage of being nearer to the whale action but they use small open boats. These are great in good weather, but looking at the forecast of rain, we opted to drive back to Victoria to take a larger covered boat with Orca Spirit - we had a great trip with fantastic views of 60+ Orca from J and K pods near San Juan Island, and we kept dry!

The Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre is also very worthwhile, focusing on local exhibits with some pretty spectacular displays, enthusiastic staff and nice touchpools.

Another highlight of our stay was dining at Haro's Restaurant which is on the ground floor of the hotel. We noticed when strolling around that there is a herb garden next to the hotel, and the restaurant makes extensive use of its produce. The place is deservedly busy, so best to book. The first night we had a lighter meal as we had eaten a late lunch at Fisherman's Wharf in Victoria, but the pizza was great with an unusual range of toppings, and the honey creme brulee dessert with lavender shortbread and minted salad was really something.

The next night, we had our best meal of the trip with a super shared antipasti dish (smoked fish, pate, chorizo), and excellent mains - mine a spot-on rack of lamb while my husband declared his hazelnut encrusted pork tenderloin with herb risotto, maple mushrooms and pea puree to be one of his best meals ever. Hard to argue. We finished with fantastic basil ice-cream (you have to try it), and strawberry and champagne rhubarb shortcake with lemon thyme ice-cream - simply amazing. Plus the staff are a joy, wine list very good and it has a nice buzz to the place.

Note that the hotel only serves light breakfast, we went to Smitty's in Sidney which is has a greater range on offer.

So this place has many positives, though don't miss out on staying in Victoria, just this gives a nice next stop on the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and 17 yr old son stayed in a Signature Suite for four nights. The view of the harbor was amazing. We had room 409 and it also had a view of the band stand and the shops at the end of Beacon street. The suite is as described on the website. We got off season rates so the value was very high.

We ate at Haro which was delicious, and went on an amazing Whale Watching trip with the company that is inside the hotel, Emerald Sea Adventures (see full review listed elsewhere). The town is really cute with a number of nice restuarants, stores.
Note: no wireless internet in rooms, only wired. I think the fitness center is only available if you get spa services. Spa is closed on Sundays.

We took the Ferry over on Pacific Coast bus lines and stayed in Sidney instead of having the bus deliver us to Victoria. I hightly recommend this as Whale Watching from this location seemed like it was much more pleasant that it would have been from Victoria. It is also easy to get to Butchart Gardens from this location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,352 reviews
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa

Address: 9805 Seaport Pl, Sidney, British Columbia V8L 4X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sidney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sidney
Price Range: £94 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55-room boutique hotel, spa, oceanfront restaurant & lounge, and cafe, opened in May 2007. Located on the waterfront in the charming seaside town of Sidney, British Columbia on Vancouver Island - just 10 minutes from the Victoria International Airport, BC Ferries to Vancouver, and Washington State Ferries to Anacortes, Washington. 30 minute drive to downtown Victoria. Complimentary use of 24 hour Fitness Centre. 3 Meeting/Function rooms for groups up to 60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your The Sidney Pier Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidney Pier Hotel And Spa
The Sidney Pier Hotel Sidney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing