We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally a good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spitfire Grill Restaurant

Spitfire Grill Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Generally a good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Spitfire Grill is a good place for a good value meal. The menu is quite varied and should give a good selection to satisfy everyone at the table. My only criticism is what happened to your great french fries? We got typical frozen and fried square cut fries. I was quite disappointe as I had recommended these to our guests.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
307 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Warehouse space with a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you enjoy watching planes come and go while you eat-- and don't care about the restaurant otherwise, this place is for you.

This place is in the back of a corrugated-tin warehouse, with concrete floors and no ceiling. So much for atmosphere. However, there are nice big windows overlooking the runways so you get a nice view of the aircraft coming and going.

The waitstaff are OK and the food is OK: liver was a bit dry. Nothing much to complain about and nothing to commend it either.

If you want a night out you're better off going elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We went for a late Sunday breakfast (not a brunch) and on a beautiful sunny day. Seated quickly, order taken and coffee served. Breakfast was as we ordered it and very tasty. The restaurant was pretty full and the staff were working full speed. Only regret was that there were very few landings and takeoffs at the airport - Spitfire Grill is a great place to watch the airplanes at YYJ.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusual venue but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have used the Spitfire during our trips to Vancouver Island for many years. It never fails to impress, the food is fairly simple but great value for money.
The popularity is obvious as there seemed to parties during each visit we made. The venue is made all the more interesting by the aircraft movements literally outside the window.
Looking forward to our next trip

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The food is excellent, everyone in my party thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Lots of variety, nice atmosphere and service. Very busy, make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spitfire Grill Restaurant also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Spitfire Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing