We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't Be Back!”

The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #15 of 83 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Victoria B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We won't Be Back!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Four of us thought we would try The Stonehouse Pub for dinner last night and only one person enjoyed his meal! One person had Fish Tacos and didn't like them...too bland. Another had a pizza which she said was tasteless. She asked for some Parmesan cheese to add some flavour and it helped a bit. To our dismay, when we got our bill, we were charged .75 cents for the Parmesan cheese! One person had a hamburger and the taste was overwhelmed by barbecue sauce. The only one who enjoyed his meal had Shepherd's Pie...he said it was excellent !

The service was OK and the setting was nice; however, we won't go back because 3 out of 4 of us were not happy with our meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coopershawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    62
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“quiet wooded patio”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had lunch at the Stonehouse Pub today. It is under new management since we were last here. At first, we were not sure we would get service out on the patio, but once they found us, as went well.

The menu has good variety, lots of seafood, and most entrees around $13. The three fish tacos were so very flavorful, can't wait to have them again. My companions both ordered fish and chips, and ate all of their chips, declaring them perfectly cooked and seasoned.

The patio was freshly rainwashed. The flagstone patio and stone walls are surrounded by both cultivated and wild flowers. We heard birdsong and a chatty squirrel. When the sun is shining, there is no better patio around. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great place all around”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Held a family birthday dinner. Everyone was pleased with their meal and the service was good.
Very accommodating and we really appreciated the setting. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheilagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Recently reopened - doing most things right”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The expanded patio allows more folk to eat outside on a nice day. Unfortunately they do not appear to have enough staff to handle to space.
The new menu is outstanding and the food was delicious. I didn't try the enticing pizzas but folks at neighbouring tables raved about them.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantravellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Really enjoyed an early dinner here. Great surroundings, attentive staff and the fish tacos were fabulous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Livelovelaugh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Stonehouse Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing