We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting at the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumrunner Pub

Rumrunner Pub
Ranked #18 of 84 Restaurants in Sidney
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1990, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has served delicious seafood and West Coast cuisine in a spectacular setting along the Sidney waterfront at picturesque Port Sidney Marina. Patrons enjoy a warm ambience, great food, and unforgettable views of the ocean, Gulf & San Juan Islands and Mount Baker. The cozy restaurant and bar both boast warm feature fireplaces, and in warmer weather the two outdoor patios allow diners the opportunity to enjoy sunshine and sea breezes. "Staff are friendly and cheerful,and we have a great kitchen staff," "Our pub menu is first class." At the full-service bar, customers can choose from a large selection of beverages - there's local and import beer in the bottle and on tap, as well as a wide selection of wines. Owner Bill Singer worked for 14 years in the Oak Bay Beach Hotel's venerable Snug before opening the Rumrunner in 1990. Since then, the Rumrunner Pub & Restaurant has become a favoured spot for locals, a regular stop for visiting boaters, and a great find for visitors to Sidney.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice setting at the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We wouldn't have found this place if we hadn't strolled along the waterfront through the park. Beautiful setting. Food was good. What one might hope for from this type of restaurant. Service was OK - we had some trouble getting to see the "specials" menu, because we were a few minutes "too early".

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ricki-in-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    104
    40
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Souris, MB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was a great view with great food and service. The Yorkshire pudding was the size of my head! Roast beef was good but actually too much to eat for us, but they boxed up what was left and it was good on sandwiches the next day

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel Co Down N Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic view as you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Rumrunner was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. the view was superb and the food excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the prices were reasonable. Would highly recommend the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gideon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One Of Our Favorite Dining Spots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This business offers both a dining room and a pub, depending on your group. Great views from just about any table but our favourite is to try to get a table by the fireplace in the cooler weather in the pub. Pub fare food done to perfection, with many daily options to try. So comfortable to be here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb View and Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came across this waterfront pub by mistake while driving around looking for parking and a place to eat with a view. The Rumrunner actually has three or four parking spaces – a bonus I could not resist, and a millionaire's view to boot! There are two large patios overlooking the gulf to the west and the marina to the south, so you can't get a bad seat when it comes to West Coast eye candy. The service was a bit slow, but when our food came, it was well worth the wait. I had the crab crepes with yam fries and a salad – really good, and a pint of local Piper's Ale, which went down very well on a hot June day. The menu is varied, offering both surf and turf options and we checked and the tuna is ocean wise, so we indulged in a plate of seared Ahi tuna sandwich which was perfectly cooked. I'm surprised the restaurant wasn't packed, but it was a Thursday afternoon, so I'm going to recommend brunch reservations because I have a hunch it's not always so easy to get a table. It's cosy inside, so I think it would be a good choice in stormy weather too. Great spot and highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burtinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumrunner Pub also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Rumrunner Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing