We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place yet !!!!!”
Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Podollan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i stayed 2 nights here, what a great hotel pleasant staff,comfy beds, awesome breaky very clean would definitely stay here again on my way back and letting family and friends know where to stay A+++++

Room Tip: southside rooms are quieter and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked online as suggested by the group rate email we received, we then inquired about the group rate were were supposed to get but no one was able to help us with it at the front desk. We were asked to inquire in the morning with a different night manager when they arrived. Off we went to a Family re-union event wth my 8 month preganant wife. We arrvied back at our room in the Motel style locations in the back. The sound proofing in this building is dreadful. We were able to hear screaming kids and footsteps well into the night along with the 'hot water knocking' sound described by other travellers. This noise is definately enough to wake most people.The bed was old, soft and worn out. We left the Motel exausted at 5am and tried to resolve the rate issue with a diffent Night Clerk to no avail.
We then phoned to resolve the problem with the quoted rate again and have been pushed to the manager. Good thing the Family reunion was great! Do not stay here, the seats in my Toyota provide better sleep and rest than this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed overnight on the 3rd floor in a newly-renovated tastefully decorated 1 bedroom. Beautiful walls and furnishings. The bed was very comfortable; best dream sleep in a long time. Will return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask to be in renovated areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at the Podollan for one night on business. Upon check-in, I was given a ground floor room in the "motel" unit behind the building. As soon as I opened the door to my room I was disappointed. The decor and finishings were dated, the tile floor was uninviting and dirty. I requested a different room, as I don't usually take ground floor rooms when traveling alone anyways).
It was a busy night at the hotel, and I got the feeling they were short staffed. The woman at check-in was patient and pleasant to deal with despite the long lineup and irritated guests she had to deal with. I asked for another room, and specifically asked for a remodeled/renovated room, as per their web site. She told me that she was new and didn't know which ones were renovated or not, and that they were short rooms due to a lack of housekeeping. At this point I just took the new room she gave me in the main building.
Again, when I walked in I was disappointed. The decor was horrible, the dank lighting made it appear even worse. It really bothers me when hotels advertise images and descriptions on their web site and then when you arrive you find the complete opposite. I booked into the Podollan because it was marketed as a boutique luxury hotel. I can assure you, it's far from that.
Besides the dated decor and dirty feel, the in-room coffee was disgusting and the wifi was free but terrible. I could barely work from my laptop and gave up after awhile.
There is no gym at the hotel, which I was disappointed to find but that was my fault for not confirming that before I booked.
The pool was huge, and seemed very nice. I didn't use it as it wasn't warm enough and I was only there overnight.
What I look for when traveling and booking a room is: clean modern decor, good wifi, comfortable beds, good quality in room coffee (hey, it's important to me to wake up comfortably and that's what I need), and a decent gym/fitness centre. The Podollan failed on all of these things. So I won't be returning.
I also ate dinner with a client at the restaurant there. The wine list was small and lacking in quality wines, which surprised given the location (it's wine country there). And the food was terrible. I started with flat breads and dip. The presentation wasn't very nice and it was obvious they used low quality ingredients (for example, the cheese was bagged/packaged and not freshly grated). The garlic dip was horrible, like it came from a jar and it was cold. Overall, it seemed like everything was pre-packaged. I then had the mushroom salad with salmon and couldn't even finish it. The salad was over dressed and the salmon was over cooked. My client had the crab cakes to start and steak for dinner. He never complained so I'm not sure how those meals were.
Next time I'm in Salmon Arm I'll definitely be trying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room specifically when you book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caribbean_Zingara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our executive Chef at Table 24 offers only fresh local cuisine with everything made from scratch. We support local farms and suppliers, offering only the finest fresh ingredients, including local organic coffee. We do not serve processed food. We are proud to say we don’t even have a microwave. We are sorry the flavours in your meal did not match your palette. We generally have excellent WiFi speeds but on occasion when it’s busy like it was during your stay, the speed can be a bit slow. If we had been made aware of it during your stay, we may have been able to rectify it with a few solutions. We are proud of our rooms and our staff. It was unfortunate your room was not in line with your style of taste during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was disappointed with my room at this property. I generally stay at Best Westerns when traveling through smaller towns but thought I would give this property a try. Mostly because the Salmon Arm Best Western only accepts reservations for 2 nights or longer in the summer and even though this was not a issue for this time of year I wanted to try and find another property that I could rely on all year round. I made two reservations a week apart but have since cancelled the second one and rebooked it at the Best Western.

I was given a ground floor room in the “motel unit” at the back of the property. It was a quiet room and had the usual amenities such as TV, wi fi, fridge, and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean aside from some ceiling stains. Unfortunately that is where the good news ends. The window blinds were tissue thin and did nothing to block out the daylight so forget about sleeping past break of day. The ceramic tile floor was very dirty around the edges and under the bed skirts, many dead bugs and some sort of unidentified pile of something, which I didn’t even want to know what it was. My bath towel was torn. I was also charged an additional “utility usage” fee of 2.95 plus taxes, which I assume is for the large pool that I didn’t use. I really dislike being charged hidden fees or "extras" with hotels and car rental companies. I find it rather dishonest and prefer to know the rate up front.

I had the feeling the hotel is attempting to be an upscale or boutique property however the décor and lack of attention to detail makes it anything but that. The core basics I want in a hotel are cleanliness; comfortable beds with good linens; window coverings that block out light and of course welcoming properly trained staff.

Salmon Arm is a busy place in the summer and there are few choices for overnight stays. They could really use a few more mid range chains to up the competition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marshall-689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie L, Director of Sales at Podollan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Your experience is not what we are used to hearing from our guests. Our housekeeping team takes great pride in the condition of our rooms. We have rectified a labor shortage in housekeeping that was the cause of the oversights you experienced. We take every guest experience very seriously and we hope you chose to visit us again, and experience the true Podollan standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I enjoyed a short stay at the Podollan Inn, clean - well appointed - gorgeous grounds and the service in the lounge was wonderful. The check in was quick, even though the hotel was full the night before. The meeting room was also very well appointed for our meeting during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Given the mixed previous reviews, we weren't sure what to expect but had followed the advice to ask for a room away from the road and in the main building. This turned out to be a smart and very comfortable en suite room with two queen beds. It was very well provided with storage, lamps, though the overall lighting could be described as perhaps a little subdued. There was a fridge, microwave oven, and the usual filter coffee, etc. There were two layers of window blinds, a/c, flat screen TV, and free wi fi.

There was a large work surface and mirror in the bedroom opposite the bathroom, and which would be much more useful with a large mirror and light over it.

The bed was rather soft for us.

The room overlooked the long narrow outdoor swimming pool, not at all noisy but the Inn seemed to,have few guests. At the far end of the pool, it became free form, and was surrounded by attractive flower beds, seats and loungers. The temperature was a bit chilly but improved with swimming! There was also a hot tub. Drinks and food could be ordered for poolside by phone.

We ate in the Table 24 restaurant one evening, a very pleasant experience. A number of locals were eating there. We were offered 15% discount vouchers for breakfast and dinner for all our stay. CAD 5 was offered in vouchers if you didn't use the daily housekeeping, and could be redeemed in the restaurant or spa. We thought this was a good idea but apparently the vouchers couldn't be used with the other discount vouchers offered.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are away from Hwy 1. The main building was very comfortable and had an elevator to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Salmon Arm
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
16.1 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
#6 of 8 in Salmon Arm
366 reviews
19.3 mi away
Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Address: 1460 Trans Canada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Podollan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by a large stunning resort style outdoor seasonal pool, hiking trails and views of Shuswap Lake, Podollan Inn Salmon Arm is the area’s premier resort-style luxury boutique hotel. Featuring 71 rooms and suites designed to take guest comfort to new heights, we offer a warm, friendly and independently owned alternative to the chain-style hotels in the region. Our hotel is set back from the Trans-Canada Highway and within walking distance of the charming downtown centre, Shuswap Lake and the area’s largest wharf. We’re surrounded by rich farmland, charming wineries, forested highlands and mountains that make the Shuswap & Okanagan Valley one of the most beautiful destinations in British Columbia. In addition to spacious rooms and suites with kitchenettes, guest comforts include fresh, locally-sourced cuisine at Table 24 Restaurant, complimentary continental breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi as well as indoor and outdoor settings for meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn And Spa
Podollan Hotel Salmon Arm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing