We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay-cation!”
Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Podollan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We didn't have to go far to find a special, romantic getaway, right in our hometown! We stayed in the Tuscany room, and enjoyed the evening immensely. A cozy fireplace in the corner, couches for lounging, a huge, comfy king-sized bed with WAY too many pillows:) The jacuzzi tub in the room topped it off. Dinner at Table 24 was fresh and delicious, and was especially enjoyable as we sat beside yet another fireplace! Cozy and romantic. Thank you, Podollan, for providing a perfect venue for those of us too busy to go far, but feeling the need of a "winter getaway"! (We'll definitely be back for another stay-cation.)

Room Tip: The corner suite was quiet, private and a lovely space to spend time together. Didn't feel like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 250TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

this is my 2nd time stayin at the podollan and will definitely return again friendly staff, clean rooms , close to town attractions and comfy beds. The staff go out of there way to accomodate you and the restaurant is handy A+++++

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Ive stayed at this hotel twice, once in the summer and once in the winter. Both times I stayed in the motel style building in the back

PROS- the room is very clean, beds are comfortable, and are quite modern. The staff are excellent to deal with. Parking is plentiful, even if you've got a large truck or trailer or whatever. Easy access of the TransCanada highway. The restaurant was very tasty with great service (although they don't do room service to the motel building, not that I blame them really). The plus however to the motel building is the balcony and access to the swimming pool and hot tub (outdoor) which in the summer is by far the greatest swimming pool at any hotel ive ever stayed in. Its huge and well maintained. I thought it was pretty good value for the dollar.

CONS- the room I stayed in the last time was a little noisy, you could hear water running through the pipes. Older building so whatever, but I hear the main building is better in that regard
wifi wasn't very strong, but that's not a shock staying in a hotel. Again, I heard the wifi is better in the main building

overall very nice place, best place in salmon arm for sure. Ill definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Id get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I don't usually gush over a hotel but this is a real find in the scarce pickings of the Salmon Arm area. The King bachelor on the third floor was an excellent room in every respect, with the bed especially comfortable and downy. The room is a good size and well equipped, as is the bathroom, and overall I was very impressed by the cleanliness and condition of everything in it. The staff is exceptionally friendly and capable, the views are wonderful, and the overall hotel is A1!

On the day I checked in a whole tour bus full of children was in the hotel and the din in the lobby would have shattered glass. I fully expected to be up all night long but I didn't hear a single peep all the time I was in the room. I don't know if the management duct-taped the kids' mouths all night or if this hotel has the best soundproofing on the planet but I was extremely grateful for the quality of tranquil sleep I experienced. If I have one single nit to pick about this hotel it would be that it would be really nice to watch something other than SD channels on the large, new HD TV.

This is a factor that is outside the hotel's control but beware if you're driving out of the hotel turning left to head towards downtown onto the wide sweeper curve of the TransCanada. Even though the speed limit there is 50 kph, 18 wheelers regularly double that. It's somewhat tantamount to turning onto an F1 racetrack except that instead of lithe, maneuverable Ferraris speeding along you have huge logging trucks hurtling down the slope with the pedal to the metal that you have to dodge. It's a mystery how the RCMP detachment (which is just up the hill) earns its paycheques while letting this blatant mega-speeding go on 24 hours a day. I strongly recommend that you only turn right out of the hotel (the average speed is a bit lower on the uphill) and then turn left at the next light, then take your first left again and that will allow you to merge onto the downhill in a much safer manner.

If you drive a fuel dragster and can merge onto the highway with four-second quarter mile acceleration in order to avoid becoming a splatter on the grille of a speeding Kenworth, then I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as it's a rare find in the Shuswap!

Room Tip: By all means pay an extra few dollars and stay in the tower. Wonderful, new, clean, and the north fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Was booked in by company-account so accepted it but... if my choice, would look around. Room access is up some stairs - and definitely not soundproof rooms. Front desk has some confusion-issues and had another guest stroll in with a keycard when they were assigned the room right after me. Night shift not trained on fax machine - just those little things that are acceptable, maybe, at a " mom and pop" motel but for the presentation of this "resort", definitely not acceptable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to Lobby so you won't have far to walk if you have a complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i stayed 2 nights here, what a great hotel pleasant staff,comfy beds, awesome breaky very clean would definitely stay here again on my way back and letting family and friends know where to stay A+++++

Room Tip: southside rooms are quieter and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked online as suggested by the group rate email we received, we then inquired about the group rate were were supposed to get but no one was able to help us with it at the front desk. We were asked to inquire in the morning with a different night manager when they arrived. Off we went to a Family re-union event wth my 8 month preganant wife. We arrvied back at our room in the Motel style locations in the back. The sound proofing in this building is dreadful. We were able to hear screaming kids and footsteps well into the night along with the 'hot water knocking' sound described by other travellers. This noise is definately enough to wake most people.The bed was old, soft and worn out. We left the Motel exausted at 5am and tried to resolve the rate issue with a diffent Night Clerk to no avail.
We then phoned to resolve the problem with the quoted rate again and have been pushed to the manager. Good thing the Family reunion was great! Do not stay here, the seats in my Toyota provide better sleep and rest than this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salmon Arm
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
16.0 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Prestige Harbourfront Resort
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
Travelodge Salmon Arm BC
#6 of 8 in Salmon Arm
358 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at the Ninth Hole 5 star Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Address: 1460 Trans Canada Hwy NE, Salmon Arm, British Columbia V1E 2S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Salmon Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Salmon Arm
Price Range: £66 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Podollan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Framed by a large stunning resort style outdoor seasonal pool, hiking trails and views of Shuswap Lake, Podollan Inn Salmon Arm is the area’s premier resort-style luxury boutique hotel. Featuring 71 rooms and suites designed to take guest comfort to new heights, we offer a warm, friendly and independently owned alternative to the chain-style hotels in the region. Our hotel is set back from the Trans-Canada Highway and within walking distance of the charming downtown centre, Shuswap Lake and the area’s largest wharf. We’re surrounded by rich farmland, charming wineries, forested highlands and mountains that make the Shuswap & Okanagan Valley one of the most beautiful destinations in British Columbia. In addition to spacious rooms and suites with kitchenettes, guest comforts include fresh, locally-sourced cuisine at Table 24 Restaurant, complimentary continental breakfast buffet and Wi-Fi as well as indoor and outdoor settings for meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn And Spa
Podollan Hotel Salmon Arm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing