We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavourable and tasty!”
Review of New Bombay Grill

New Bombay Grill
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Salmon Arm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Clearwater, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flavourable and tasty!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I went here for dinner with some friends who are local and they recommended it. A hidden gem! The new owners are from Nepal and were gracious and helpful with questions about various dishes. Every dish home-cooked with different amazing FLAVOURS! Dinner for 3 only $53! The mom came out and talked with us and their young daughter served and cleared dishes quickly with a smile! I would recommend this place and definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    36
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No service! None at all!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm really late with this review but here it is. We went to New Bombay Grill for the New Years Eve Buffet in 2012. We had eaten here a few times since the new owners took over and we found the food to be great but the cleanliness, service and decor to be lacking. Our experience on New Years Eve a year ago was the last time we went. We were there at the start of the dinner buffet and being the only ones there we thought we would get great service but we really couldn't get any service at all. The food was tasty as usual, but not very hot. The owners daughter was working front of house and could not have been more clueless and inattentive. She would not stop texting long enough to serve us. We had to clear our own dirty dishes and leave them on the bar while she gave us dirty looks. I went over to her to ask for a beer and she said "I'm not old enough to touch that stuff" and walked away. I assumed she would simply ask her Dad to serve me since she was under age but he never came out of the kitchen. Such a shame this place has gone the way of so many Salmon Arm establishments. We usually go out of town for good food now.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good local Indian food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My Mom, sister and I had lunch there in October. The food was really good, great value and nice service. Happy to have local Indian food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoosterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Great Diner”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We attended for the lunch special and it was great restaurant: clean, tidy and service great. We have also had takeout and it was great as well. We returned with friends a couple of months later and had dinner. Again, all of the above.

The owner's son served us and was inexperienced but was able to refer to his father to get answers to any of our questions. They did not have the wine we asked for and so his father went over to the liquor store (two doors over) and went out of his way to serve us.

Our friends are from England originally and have eaten at a great many Indian places and were impressed with the food.

I'm not sure if "KellyLPG" and friends were at the same restaurant. We would be happy to go back any time and recommend the New Bombay Grill.

Ken N

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“YUMMMMMMM!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We decided to order take out last night from the Bombay Grill. Was a little weary to try this place as there are never many people in the restaurant... To the whole familys surprise it was some of the best indian food we have ever had!! Great naan! Butter chicken, aloo gobbi, and dal makhani were great!! Highly recommend if you are looking for a bite to eat give this place a try.... When picking up the food the place was a little depressing.. no one inside... but maybe was just a slow night... anyways other than the atmosphere.. wow give this a try!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiefromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Bombay Grill also viewed

Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
 

Been to New Bombay Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing