We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Nothing Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poppi's Private Room Hostel
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, Nothing Great”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hostel is a good low price option located in downtown Revelstoke. It's close to restaurants and pubs and right off one of the main highways. The rooms are clean and beds are about average. There is 2 bathrooms for 5 rooms that would hold about 10 people at capacity, so that is a bit of a problem, but for $70 that's fine. For those checking out the Mountain Resort, you;d have to take the Mountain's shuttle or drive about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    13
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were booked into the HOstel down the road. We arrived during a power cut and the women there was so rude we walked out. She later turned out to have been a cleaner who couldn't care less about the guests. Anyway this led us to Poppies and we were warmly welcomed and the whole place was really cool and relaxing! Great rooms, fun hockey game and free internet! Poppie herself was so helpful and friendly! She even lent us her Car!!! I doubt she does this all the time though so don't ask!! Revelstock has some great bars and eating places, some good walks and bike rides and we saw BLack Bears just outside the town on a bridge. Revelstock is a good stop off point on the way to Banff or Kelowna. At Poppi's you get free access to the swimming centre which was also fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianonedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port vila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed only the 1 night here and I probably would not have done more than that. Poppi's is located right across from the rail tracks and main road and is noisy for light sleepers. Kitchen was well equipped but we had a shared bathroom in our 2 bedroom unit. Our host was very entertaining though and we had fun here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebellePortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Pretty expensive if you're just looking for a hostel, but I can't fault it for what it is- really clean, well furnished, laid back kind of place. I guess it's probably better suited if you're looking for a weekend away, rather than for weary travelers who will take anywhere with a roof.
Feels like staying at a friend's house. Free laundry facilities, free internet. Nice communal spaces and great location!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We rented the cottage at Poppi's for a group of friends.
It was dated, but clean, and had all the amenities we could need. Lots of kitchen suplies, and tons of room, tv, computer with internet, towels in the bathroom, and great parking.
Only downside, we were told we had access to the hot tub in the nearby communicty centre, but learned it was out of order when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebirdskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I'm writing this review after staying at Poppis for the second year in a row (as part of a now annual ski road trip I take with my father). While labeled a hostel, it feels much more like a guest house. All rooms are private, and you're not crammed into a tiny living space with a ton of other people. The owner is fantastic and personable; always trying to accommodate our needs. My father and I take skiing seriously, meaning we like to go to bed early. Unlike many other places in the area (like SameSun), it's been nice and quiet for us. It's equipped with a storage shed for skis, 4 boot dryers, and plenty of space to hang up wet equipment. Just be sure to book early, as this place is quite popular.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were extremely disappointed of the services at Poppa's guesthouse. First the price is exorbitant given that there is no breakfast, the rooms are tiny and the bathroom is shared.
We will never go back there because it is super easy to find a bnb cheaper with better services.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetitia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Revelstoke Lodge
Revelstoke Lodge
#10 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#8 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppi's Private Room Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppi's Private Room Hostel

Property: Poppi's Private Room Hostel
Address: 313 First St East | PO Box 202, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Poppi's Private Room Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing