We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing despite the picturesque location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Vancouver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing despite the picturesque location”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here recently. The pictures on the website looked so inviting and, indeed, as you approach this hotel which is situated by a lake, one expects this to be a very special place. I was expecting a quiet country inn with good food and a peaceful room. Not so. Firstly, their restaurant AND cafeteria closes at 8:00 p.m. which presents a problem given (1) many guests arrive in the evening because this place is quite a drive from most major centres (2) you have to drive a twisting 14 km very busy mountain road to get to a restaurant in Revelstoke which can be quite harrowing when it is dark and you are hungry and (3) there is no room service. The early closing food service is very surprising given how remote this resort is. The towels while clean were of a very cheap quality - they were thin and not at all plush - quite stingy for a "three star" hotel. The room was a tad dated but the bed was quite comfortable. More concerning was that the rooms have poor soundproofing: I was awakened at 3:00 a.m. by a noisy tour group yakking away outside my door: similar noise from other rooms continued right until 9:00 a.m. No attempt was made to locate us away from the busy part of the hotel upon check in. The restaurant for breakfast was OK - not bad, not great. All in all, a lovely looking place from the road but if I had to stay in the area again, I would choose a Coast or Sandman or even a Travelodge in Revelstoke - at least the towels would be thicker, the rooms less noisy and the food service more convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guest1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your comments – we are in a very picturesque location and most guests find 3 Valley Gap to be a very special place. Unfortunately our Restaurant and Cafeteria do close earlier in the off-season, especially on quiet nights. The Front Desk, however, is open 24 hours and we offer sandwiches, muffins, etc... after Restaurant hours.
We appreciate your comments regarding the towels in the hotel rooms. Because of your concerns we went to our linen supplier and have found a more plush towel that does not require any extra electricity for laundering and have begun to replace all towels on the property.

We apologize for the noise coming from the hallway at 3am. We enforce an 11pm quiet time and once notified of a problem we act on it immediately.

We are sorry you do not plan to stay with us again – but hope you change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    148
    87
    40
    34
See reviews for
158
137
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The history of BC is an amazing exploration as Gordon & Ethel Bell have so beautifully worked at expressing in their development of Three Valley Gap over 50 years. Unfortunately their decendants have proven that they are unable to move past circa1972. The cafeteria is reminiscent of a bus stop circa 1968 but without nostalgia or style. The property boasts antiques and artifacts yet the eating areas are stark & without atmosphere (no background music) so you'll get to know the staff names as they yell, or talk about each other .Hard to ignore or avoid the stale air. I would suggest that the sandwich & pastry offerings were also made circa '72 and hot dogs on a roller with a bag of cold buns on top is anything but appealling. For an operation that boasts its own hydro electricty system, they make it obvious they care nothing of the environment with their excess use of styrofoam soup bowls, plastic utensils, & pre-packaged condiments. I would excuse this if it was a bus stop in the middle of nowhere and thats all thats available, but we're supposed to be inspired to stay and spend more money taking the "Heritage Town" tour, enjoy the gardens, tell our friends to come stay here.........and spend money in the gift store (again circa 1972) The food served in the "DINING ROOM" is no better as a bland and uninspired menu (again circa 1972) is presented without passion, flavour, heat, or style, yet at high-end highway prices.
Staff at the front desk shows the same lack of professionalism that seems so prevalent throughout this establishment There is an obvious underlying current of something not right that left us feeling uncomfortable. Dressed in attire for a golf course or slouching on a couch...this is not what I expect to welcome me to a $200. room. (No, I do not want to hear about YOU...I am the paying guest and I expect a professional attitude in what SHOULD BE a professional business.
Do any of the management ever get out into the real world to find out how things are going in the year 2011?? Go to other destination resorts if you want to see how it is really done.(You can't rely on the Ghost Town for your only source of atmosphere!) We are of the opinion that Mr. Gordon Bell would not be impressed.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traveler154932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The fact there was no cell service and i was not informed until check in, i found to be unfair. The guest should be informed BEFORE booking. Not held hostage as it is late and nowhere else to go - especially with 2 yourng children in tow.
The restaurant in one work - GROSS. Unexceptable.
The location was amazing. The mountains, lake and sights were breathtaking! THe ghost town was informative.
Could be a great hotel if they improved the food - heck get a new resturant. Inform guests that there is NO cell service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pleasedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your comments - we're happy to hear you enjoyed our location with outstanding mountains, lakes and sights. Cell service has recently become a huge issue for many travellers. Unfortunately there are many areas in BC still without cell service, and this is out of our control. However we understand that we may be getting cell service in the near future.
We are sorry you were disappointed with our Restaurant. We are making many changes in that area including renovations and updating the dining room menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We had a great time staying at Three Valley Gap with our two boys. We enjoyed all of the amenities, including the rail museum, ghost town and playground. They especially like the Thomas and Friends wooden railway table in the lobby.

No air conditioning on a hot night was a little uncomfortable at first but it cools off quickly in the mountains after the sun goes down.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddymejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The title says it best. Lots to do within walking distance and if you so desire you explore the area by boat or helicopter without having to drive anywhere. We would return with out a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrynBerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We have visited 3 valley gap every summer for many years. Make sure you take in all the heritage tours & the cowboy show, makes the experience even more fantastic. I particularly enjoy the pool-it's the warmest pool I've ever been in (as I can't take the heat of any hot tub-I really enjoy a warmish pool). The scenery is special. My father told me stories about how the highway was built and the 'bottomless' lake ghost story (a train went over, and it's so deep they never, ever found wreckage-maybe a tall tale, but to this day I believe it!). Buy a 3 valley gap historical book from the gift shop (also the best gift shop ever!). It's a great story about how the valley was discovered, and about the Bell family who started it all.

Room Tip: The scenery is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doll2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We love this hotel...we have been coming every year for at least one weekend per year since 2001. We have stayed in the Eagle's Nest suite with its amazing views in all directions, the Cave Honeymoon suite which was so unique and intimate! We have also stayed in different rooms from the 1st to 4th floor overlooking the gardens and facing the lake. It is a very unique place...with the titanic themed indoor pool and hot tub, indoor gardens, outdoor gardens (our kids love to run around on the paths), playground, beach, ghost town & round house (love all the train cars you can go in - we find it better than the railway museum in Revelstoke!). We love the rich history and the amazing relaxing atmosphere. Even when the hotel is full it still has an intimate and "get-away" kind of a feel. We always try to get in on the bbq dinners in the ghost town as they are such a neat dining experience, and great for kids! The restaurant has great family food and the cafeteria is wonderful for lunches and snacks. The hotel is situated in a wonderful valley setting where you can watch the trains pass by thru the tunnels. We have come as a couple for romantic weekends, as a young family with small children, and I even came twice for a girlfriend's weekend! We come every summer and will continue to do so! The rooms are comfortable and all have patios or little decks where it is nice to sit out and look over the lake and gardens and read a book. I can't say enough wonderful things about the great staff and the Bell family that run this Three Valley Lakes Chateau!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
13.1 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
12.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#12 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
11.9 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#8 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing