We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trip with a buddy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ski trip with a buddy”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Revelstoke was terrific in large part because of the great service from the Sutton Place hotel. Right on the mountain, and access to town. The only draw back is the ability to get into town easily. We had to rely on hotel service shuttles which run intermittently. Otherwise the room was lovely with excellent provision of cooking utensils dishwasher and laundry facilities. On balance it was 1one of the nicest places I've stayed in a long time. Not to mention the great skiing we enjoyed. Being from the east, skiing on softer snow with powder 3 of 6 days was a fabulous experience. Just make sure you do your squats, lunges and dips or work stair mister for month before going.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EricandCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    149
    34
    6
    0
See reviews for
204
225
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at the Sutton Place over Spring break while skiing at RMR. It was a great experience. The staff were very pleasant and helped us check into our rooms. The underground parking also extends across the length of the complex so you can always park close to the elevator nearest your room. It is also slopeside so going skiing in the morning is as simple as walking out the door which is a huge plus if you plan on skiing the resort. The facilities on the hill are meagre, but you're still plenty close to town to go there at night which we did. My only minor gripe with the hotel is that the pool/hot tub situation is unimpressive given the size of the complex, but other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTripReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here - the concierge staff were exceptional, thank you!

Slightly annoying to have to put outdoor clothes on to walk to the pool, but really not that bad. There was a hot tub in our building, so if you weren't bothered about the pool you could stay close to home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in a luxurious 3 BR suite with outside deck, modern fully equipped kitchen, 2 king beds, 1 queen and a pull out queen in the living room. Accommodations included a delicious full breakfast. Everything you need is at the base of the mountain. Gondola is just steps away. We had wonderful sushi at a Japanese restaurant in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyseruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Never disappointing with this hotel. Staff is great, accommodations are amazing and the hill is like nothing else!! I cant wait to come back to Revelstoke and stay at the Sutton Place. RMR is the best ski hill in the world!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom condo's are great for a couple and they are pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirandalynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel has a captive audience, because it is the only place to stay at the Revelstoke Resort. We enjoyed our room; though the bedroom was small with barely enough room to walk around the bed, we had a spacious sitting area and kitchen, and best of all, a washer and dryer. The bellmen were very friendly and helpful. However, the facility had a very concrete, sterile feeling. The halls were narrow with no natural light coming in. It was about 3 times as expensive as it should have been. The Olympics were on at the time, but we couldn't watch them because the satellite TV reception would not stay on. The resort is absolutely dead at night, there is a real dearth of eating establishments. You have a choice of one bar and one restaurant (both very concrete and sterile) and one coffee shop during the day. Pass this up and stay in town if you must. We will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This property is one of the most luxurious I’ve stayed in while on a snowboard vacation. We stayed in building 1 which is closest to the gondola. Our unit, 1513 looked right over the gondola so we could assess the line up each morning. The unit was a 2 bedroom, 2-bathroom unit and we were 2 couples. The hotel itself is fairly new, and smartly designed in neutral colours. The lobby is quite grand and has a lot of comfortable seating around a large central fireplace. We hung out there in the afternoons after our days on the hill. The lobby has a wine (Okanagan) and cheese available to guests after 4pm. There is a concierge in the lobby separate from reception as in most large hotels, which I’m not used to on a ski hill.

Our room was comfortable and clean, and the kitchen well equipped. Our major complaint was the oversized furniture. The rooms were well sized but the furniture was poorly chosen and took up all the space in the room. For example, the dining table could seat 8 people and its enormous size forced us to walk sideways around it. It partially blocked the entrance to one of the bedrooms. We just pushed it up against the kitchen island to create some breathing room. The bedrooms suffered from the same oversized furniture. You could barely walk around the bed. The dressers are so deep that you can’t really open them fully without hitting the bed. The closet doors swing out into the room and when fully open obstruct movement in the room. They should really just remove the closet doors and put in open shelving as they did at the Firelight lodge at Silver Star where we stayed just previous to this. Check out my review of that place, the designers there knew what they were doing. I think esthetics over function were on the designer’s minds for the Sutton Place. The room looked great before we unpacked! The beds were very comfortable too. Best beds I’ve ever slept in at a ski hill. One strange thing about our bedroom is that it was always a few degrees colder than the rest of the condo. Can’t explain it and couldn’t control it. No thermostats anywhere!

The whole ski base is lacking amenities but it’s still early in Revelstoke’s development. There is no place to buy any groceries but that may be due to the fact that the town is very close and there are lots of food and shopping options there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was fast and free.

Overall, very nice stay and will return to Revelstoke but would likely look for other accommodation options next time. This was a splurge stay for us, we’d likely look for more reasonable options for our next visit. If you’re a Vail/Aspen type, you’ll like the Sutton Place. If you’re more backcountry, stay in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
2.6 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 19 in Revelstoke
828 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 19 in Revelstoke
798 reviews
12.4 mi away
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 19 in Revelstoke
242 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 19 in Revelstoke
332 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#13 of 19 in Revelstoke
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort

Property: The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Address: 2950 Camozzi Road, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly The Nelsen Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort is a true ski-in, ski-out luxury condominium style hotel, consisting of 3 buildings connected by an underground heated parking facility and serviced by a beautifully appointed central lobby. This smoke-free property features 222 guest rooms and suites, premium amenities, and three on-site dining experiences: Rockford wok|bar|grill, The Mackenzie Common Tavern, and La Baguette located in the village next to the Revelation Gondola, minutes from downtown Revelstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing