We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unwelcome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel
Ranked #12 of 20 Revelstoke B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My girlfiriend and I stayed at te Mulvehill Creek in the Moose Grove room for 4 nights. The website looks and reads well, but falls short in reality. The hosts have owned the B&B for 18 years and they are winding the business down. We showed up 15 mins before designated 3 pm check in, and the host (Rene) pointed out we were early but lickly they could take us in. They only had one more couple during that time! Rene immediately tried to upsell us to a more expensive room with a lake view. We got the impression they wanted us to sleep, have breakfast and be gone for the rest of the day. The pool was full of dead bugs, there were no chairs or umbrella set out. The grounds were nice looking out front but the rest of the garden was unkept. We were not able to use the lounge that is adverstized on the website, the hosts use the dining room for dinner and watch TV and listen to music. While we were visiting, the weather turned cold and rainy, sitting outside wasn't an option and we sat down in the lounge but were asked by the hosts to go down to the Mole Grove, which is a games room in the basement. It is cold, dark and moldy. The only sitting option there are hard wood chairs. Not the best place to lounge around. After they finished dinner the Rene come down and started a chatting with us. Couldn't help but feel the hosts were keeping tabs on our whereabouts the entire time we were there. If they wanted to visit with us it would have been a lot nicer if they invited us to visit in the lounge.

The B&B is located about 10 mins from Revelstoke, the road down to the B&B is terrible! There are so many potholes that unless you are driving a SUV or truck your car will bottom out a time or two. There is a ton of mosquitous around the grounds, and no citronela candles or torches to help chaise them away. The hosts told us they take B12 everyday so they don't get bitten, instead it is their guests that get eaten!

The first night we were there, someone broke into the property at 4 am. Even though RCMP was called in the hosts didn't even mention anything until we asked about the noise.

There were redeaming feature though, the breakfast were great, Conny is a very nice cook, the beds were comfortable and it is super quiet.

There has got to be better options!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were in the Revelstoke area as part of our vacation time with another family. We saw his sign at the top of the highway and on this particular day we wanted to go see what it was all about. After driving a distance in, down the gravel road, with the 'interesting' display of signage along the way we were a bit leary as to what we may find. We got to the parking lot at the bottom and as we were turning around the proprietor came out, stared us down and when we were on our way back up to the highway (after slowing to see the beautiful waterfall to one side of the gravel road) - LOW AND BEHOLD THE HE WAS CHASING US DOWN AND TAKING PICTURES OF US WITH HIS CAMERA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Even if we were going back to Revelstoke we would NEVER stay at Mulvehill Creek or recommend it to any friends going to Revelstoke. I read some of the negative reviews and can see how their stay could/would have been. We never even got out of the truck and he made us feel totally unwelcome. Not a Canadian way to run a business!!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cheesecakeangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulvehill, Owner at Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

This man drove in like hell with 4 minors on the bridge of his truck. I tried to stop him to tell him that's illegal and live dangerous, but he drove out with same speed. I took a picture and reported him to the RCMP! That's his answer! Keep our chiuldren safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Great rooms, great service and a wonderful experience! Great value for the money!
We regretted having to leave. Rene may rule the place with a strong hand but you have only to look around and see that it is for the best. The rooms and facilities are immaculate. The saltwater pool a dream. The entire property is a haven of peace and quiet. The breakfasts something to look forward to each morning. We stayed two days and it felt like we had been there for two luxurious weeks. We didn't mind at all being chided about footwear. The place is advertised as +16. It is a sophisticated adult setting that we were very happy to find. Anyone looking for a place off the highway for the kids and the camping gear can easily find a suitable establishment a few miles north in Revelstoke or at the Blanket Creek campground a couple of miles to the south.
The Mulvehill Creek Inn is a rare gem!

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms. Every one is exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tunvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Arriving an hour before the designated check in. It was clear we were not welcome. I believe they only do this service under sufferance as it is clear they did not want to have people around. It is adverised as an inn with gourmet meals. After a long day on the road we had to return to Revelstoke 20km each way in order to find an evening meal of any kind.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We were apprehensive about staying here based on a couple of negative reviews, but having travelled all over the world, this is by far one of the best places we have stayed.

We really enjoyed a couple of days rest and relaxation here at Mulvehill Creek. Rene and Conny were great hosts. It is an amazing place. we spent a great day exploring the property, boating on the lake, and chilling in the pool. After spending the previous few days driving, we really appreciated chilling out here.

So please do not pay any attention to negative reviews which I promise do not at all represent this great hide away!

We stayed 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

My parents and I took a break from the Olympics in Vancouver and headed east (about a six hour drive) to Revelstoke for some skiing and to experience the Canadian Rockies. If you're looking for solitude, beautiful surroundings, great breakfasts, and an inn into which its owners have really put their hearts, this is a great spot that lives up to the hype from Frommer's. It's worth noting that the inn is about a 25 minute drive from the town and ski mountain of Revelstoke, and you'll probably want a four-wheel drive vehicle. We really only had one negative experience during my stay. When we first showed up, no one was at the front desk. I heard some voices coming from the living room and, assuming they were other guests or staff, opened the door to ask about registration. I was quickly and rudely scolded by the woman, who informed me that this was a "private area" and that there wasn't always someone at the front desk. Definitely not the most hospitable welcoming after six hours on the road! Luckily, from that point forward, the stay was a delight.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We considered ourselves "lucky" to have secured a last minute booking at Mulvehill Creek during BC Holiday Weekend. We soon changed our minds. Despite having made it very clear that we were traveling with our children (aged 6 and 2), our reception and treatment during our stay was unfriendly, unhelpful and rude. Warning bells began to ring as we passed an information sign at the gate, with an outline of children holding hands and the international symbol for 'NO' struck across it. Upon arrival we were made to feel like third class citizens (after the dogs and the guests without children), and our very well behaved children lectured on not jumping on furniture, running in corridors, or making any noise whatsoever.
We arrived late, weary from our journey, and had to travel the 20 minutes into Revelstoke to try to find the children something to eat. The next day, our door was rudely knocked exactly one minute after our allocated breakfast time and we had to request that the pool cover be grudgingly lifted to allow the kids a swim before we left. On the stroke of 11am, our door was thrust open as we were closing our cases and the sheets ripped off one of the beds while we were still in the room. Through it all, we remained polite and gracious, to the point of leaving a sunny comment about the location in the Visitor's Book. As we left we politely asked which walk in the grounds of the hotel would be most suitable for the kids. To our amazement, we were told in no uncertain terms to "get off their land", as they could "not insure guests on their property after 12pm". It was 11.15am. Having chosen Mulvehill Creek for its amazing location and good reviews elsewhere, we were utterly disappointed to have arrived late and then be refused the chance to enjoy the surroundings the morning we left.
We found the proprietors obstructive, rude, and utterly unpleasant to children. If they dislike young people on their property this much, they should not have accepted our booking. I imagine this hotel would be a wonderful find for a couple traveling without kids, happy to stick to the 'rules' like glue, and unphased by the feeling that you are intruding on the private world of the proprietors and their dogs.
On a positive note, the setting is stunning and the breakfast excellent. Unfortunately, for us, Mulvehill Creek was by far the worst hospitality experience we have had in many years of traveling the world with our children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveljules10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Revelstoke
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 20 in Revelstoke
903 reviews
14.3 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 20 in Revelstoke
236 reviews
10.1 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 20 in Revelstoke
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
9.1 mi away
Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast
25 mi away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel

Address: 1220-4200 Highway 23 South, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Revelstoke
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet (16+ yrs) park-like setting with romantic chapel. Forested peninsula on Arrowlake. All rooms en-suite bathrooms, Honeymoon Suite; full breakfast included, gourmet cuisine for groups. Lounge, fireplace, library, billiards, darts. Sundeck, outdoor heated saltwater pool, hot tub, trails, 300 ft waterfall, free canoes, all quiet summer and winter sports (packages). Weddings, seminars, retreats, Xmas specials. Awards: several environmental and touristic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn and Wedding Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing