We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Revelstoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Williamson's Lake Campground
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Kids loved it here. The staff is very friendly. Great family atmosphere. The bathrooms were a bit dirty but I loved our stay there. The scenery was breathtaking. The price was reasonable. I would definitely recommend this campground to families and can not wait to come back again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We were suppose to have wifi but did not work for our whole stay. We were in one of "best" spots if you consider a tenter right on your door step the best spot. This campground is just too packed with families and really strange to see it like that.

If you have a big trailer or a 5th wheel I would not even suggest stopping here...very packed in here. Also I seen one guy drive too far off the loop (road to the beach) and he had difficulty backing up the hill as he could not turn around at the bottom. There should be signage no RVS past this point.

Anyways, we were looking for other spots to stay at next time.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sheldon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night only as we can only get the weekends off from work. But we loved every minute there. It is a smaller campground with lots of kids. The facilities are very clean. Mini golf is available - a bit out dated but good enough to have some fun with our 4 year old. The lake was good for a swim and there also is a little sandy beach. A huge playground was there, too. Mosquitoes weren't too bad when we were there. Unfortunately there was a fire ban in effect and we didn't get to have a camp fire. That was the only disappointing thing. Oh and some ignorant people that took their dogs into areas that clearly stated no dogs allowed. But you always get those kind of people.
The campsite was right at the lake. Yeah, quite a few roots but we found our spot to set up the tent. We were told at registration that there is no WiFi. To some people that might be a major drama. We were there to relax, so no internet was just fine.
I recommended that campground to my friends and I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NikkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Onceagain a late reservation and they accomodate us. Campground was almost full due to a major accident on TransCan and they close the road for more than 12 hours some peoples went spent the night there. You have to know thete a campground there because it far away from the road with no advertising. Its more a local use campground than a tourist one. Williamson lake is small and smell fish because is full of them. Not a big deal for kids who wants to play in the water. Last year we caught a Northern Pikeminnow there and release it it after with research on the web I realised that was a pest fish who eat salmon eggs. I annonce it thos year to the new administration, let see what they will do about it! Otherwise, a family campground very quiet surround by mountains ;)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pinkgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Williamson Lake (should be dubbed as "Mosquito Lake") is a family-oriented campground, with a waterfront view – the lake is temper and even has some fish. There are fire pits and clean washrooms/showers (free for use).

If you are visiting this campground – make sure to bring enough mosquito spray, or you risk being eaten alive. We have over-welcomed our stay by about 20 minutes, and were politely asked to leave by a member of staff. The spots are right next to one another, and are not separated. There kids playground is between the lake and the RV park. Some leafy trees are present on the campground.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimpleVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this location for six nights in our fifth wheel. To start with, we were put into a site that wasn't long enough and we had to remove our bikes off the back of the rv and back in right against the fence behind us. We had to park out truck beside the RV by driving over tree roots. We were left with no room to enjoy the site and certainly were not able to have a fire as we would have burned everything up. The wi-fi was less than adequate (and we stressed it was the most important service we needed while staying there). The laundry facility has two washers and two dryers which were available to the whole campground as well as anybody visiting the lake? It appears the new manager this year is way beyond her ability as we understood this used to be a very well managed campsite. We definately will not be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Marg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

after returning to this campground for a third visit we couldn't help but leave feeling very disappointed.we will not be returning here again.the campground is under new management this year and from having to pay half of your stay at booking (which we never had to anywhere else)to arriving and finding out they no longer offered cable t.v..the management almost appeared over-whelmed by their job.there were rvs put into sites that they were to big for and tents being set up in pull-through sites it was ridiculous.they offer free wifi but it is almost impossible to get a signal except when most people have checked out.imagine my surprise when taking a shower and having no curtain divider between myself and the other woman changing from her shower.i went to the office and complained and they immediately addressed the problem but it should never have occurred to start with.we found that there was no control over people entering and exiting the campground so there were cars driving past our site all night long.we were booked in here for 8 nights and had we not been meeting friends here probably would have left the first day.my friend from work had also reserved and pre-paid for a tenting spot only to drive 6 hrs and be told that she had no reservation.thankfully she had her confirmation number in her email so they gave her a rv site for no extra charge.several people that were camped around us all expressed there disappointment at the sites,the wifi service and said they would not return again.i feel bad for the city of revelstoke as it is one of my favorite destinations and the former manager did an amazing job there for over 15 years and built a tremendous reputation only to get it destroyed in one year

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#1 of 20 in Revelstoke
877 reviews
12.2 mi away
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
1.9 mi away
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
Coast Hillcrest Hotel
#3 of 20 in Revelstoke
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#6 of 20 in Revelstoke
261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 20 in Revelstoke
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Powder Springs Inn
Powder Springs Inn
#18 of 20 in Revelstoke
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamson's Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamson's Lake Campground

Address: 1817 Williamson Lake Rd, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Revelstoke
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing