We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The managers were the worst staff possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Revelstoke Gateway Inn
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Revelstoke
Reviewed 14 March 2008

Myself and 2 friends stayed at the Gateway Revelstoke on a recent road trip. We had planned on a 2 night stay but after the first night we had to find somewhere else.

The room layout was absolutely ridiculous with 3 double beds in one room. The managers were rude and unfriendly. The breakfast was worth about 50 cents - stale bread, watered down juice and "rock" muffins. This was enough to make the night stay bad enough.

The first morning we woke to the shower not working. As we were in a hurry, we made use of the bath as best we could and on the way out mentioned that the shower didn't work and that suggested a part refund might be available. The manager went to check the shower and came back down accusing us of breaking the shower and wanted us to pay for repairs (which he wanted us to wait for a plumber to come out and give a quote).

The treatment we had crossed the border to harrassment. We repeatedly told him that we hadn't done anything wrong but he decided then that he would call the police. At this we decided to just leave, at which point he followed us down the street like a stalker.

Basically on our return to Revelstoke 3 days later for our second night we stayed at the Sandman Inn for the same price, with excellent staff, excellent amenities and really good value for money.

Avoid the Revelstoke Gateway Inn at all costs.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roadtripper1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2007

Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Staff was very friendly and helpful in pointing out local information. Room contained fridge and microwave. Beautiful setting, although a tad far from downtown. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EngStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I booked a family suite (there are 6 of us) for a one night stay enroute to Banff from Kelowna. The motel has had a facelift recently and the suite we were given was large and clean, but no thought has been given to layout and facilities. We had 2 double bedrooms and 2 queen beds in the main large room which also had a TV and a fridge (no microwave as advertised) so there was plenty of room to sleep, but the place has absolutely no soul - so bare and univitiing and with such a huge room could easily have a kitchenette put in which would have helped us out no end. No wardrobe space in bedrooms, just a small hanging unit in the main room. The motel is right next to the railway line, so we had the pleasure of the trains passing and as for the free continental breakfast, I had no idea how to access it (and didn't ask because I'd actually forgotten it was included and was not reminded at check in). When I went to check out, I saw people with styrophone cups of coffee and toast sitting in the reception area - didn't look too inviting.

All in all, I was disappointed, though we did use the free pass to the aquatic centre which saved our evening. Only use if desperate is my advice ..........

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DuckieSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

My wife and I stayed at this motel in September 2006. There is no doubt that this is basic motel style accommodation however it did have a small kitchenette, inclkuding a stove and a fridge.

There was everything we needed: cable TV, air conditioning, queen bed. A small breakfast was provided comprising toast, coffee and juice and was collected from an area just outside the office.

The receptionist at the hotel was extremely friendly and very helpful. We had some problems with not being able to charge our mobile telephone and she went out of her way to assist us.

There was a regular train that went past but it was not loud enough to bother us. Probably the only negative issue was that the air conditioning unit was quite noisy.

Overall, we found the motel to be more than adequate, especially for the price. - CAN$73.60 including tax.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David-QPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank breilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nad2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
0.8 mi away
Powder Springs Inn
Powder Springs Inn
#18 of 20 in Revelstoke
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#7 of 20 in Revelstoke
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#12 of 20 in Revelstoke
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
0.3 mi away
Alpine Inn & Suites
Alpine Inn & Suites
#17 of 20 in Revelstoke
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#16 of 20 in Revelstoke
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revelstoke Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revelstoke Gateway Inn

Address: 1500 First Street West, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly R Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price Range: £53 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Revelstoke Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Revelstoke's best valued accommodation with 44 newly renovated guest rooms with and without kitchennettes, spacious family suites, full cable, air conditioning, new queen beds, fridge, microwave, hot tub and fitness room. All guests receive a free Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and pass to Revelstoke's Aquatic & Fitness Centre. Ski, Golf and Snowmobile Packages. Walking distance to downtown Revelstoke and adjacent family licensed restaurants. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Revelstoke Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revelstoke Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing