We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Little Place”
Review of Canyon Hot Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Revelstoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canyon Hot Springs
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Canyon Hot Springs for a night recently. We stayed in one of the pine suites (301) and thought the unit was lovely, very clean. As we were only staying one night we did not really miss having a shower/bath in the room or a television (forced us to talk to each other!). We were a bit afraid that the trains would keep us up but this did not really happen! Price was reasonable as it included accommodations, pools admission (24 hours no matter when you arrive), and breakfast. Food availability was very limited but prepared okay. There are items for purchase in a "gift shop" area, but unfortunately products are kind of just placed out in bargain-store fashion, which makes them seem dollar store. This is the part of the main building that really could use some type of renovation. Pools are great. We found the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    34
    29
    54
See reviews for
92
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It just doesn't compare to Banff Hot Springs - it's much better! A great cabin, plenty of room for our family of 5. Clean, well maintained but basic, just as advertised. If you want TV go somewhere else with all the others. If, however, you are after a basic but safe haven for your family on your trip along the Transcanada Highway #1' then this is the perfect stop. The springs are lovely, quaint (very hot) and the accompanying pool is a perfect temperature to slide into afterwards and big enough to swim with the kids.
There are a few short walks nearby and the amazing but not so well advertised Meadows in the sky trail which is quite outstanding and not to be missed. It was made for Queen Victoria so there's a serious amount of thought put into it as you would imagine. Don't miss it. We even had the pleasure of seeing Bears on the way down.
Breakfast, included, was healthy, served with a friendly smile. Quite expensive overall but when you consider the pool, springs, cabin and amenities (shop and food availability) in this relatively remote part of BC, then it's worth it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin for 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As far as campgrounds and locations go this place is my favourite. My family and I have been here at least once a year every year for the past 25 years. The pools are pretty basic, not too fancy, but the temperature is just right and my skin is always glowing after a swim. The longer I stay the better my skin looks. We always enjoy chatting with the owners and the staff while we are there. They have camp sites to accommodate everything from small tents to giant RVs. There are stalls surrounded by trees and green space that are nice and private. There are also bigger open lots in the lower campground to accommodate larger groups. The cabins range from the small and affordable Campers Cabin to the luxurious yet homey Honeymoon Chalet. (We've stayed in all of them) Yes the trains come through quite frequently but I personally love that. If you or your family are train enthusiasts you can stand and watch them come through. Often there's a chance to wave at the engineers and have them wave back. It's a lot of fun for kids.

If you're looking for a mountain getaway steeped in luxury or a rowdy camping trip then this is probably NOT the campground for you. BUT if you are looking for a nice clean place, filled with good people, where you can spend some quality time with your loved ones, I would highly recommend Canyon Hot Springs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Quirze del Valles, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked two cabins as the manager told me they were good for only two people when we got the keys and saw the cabins we realized they could accommodate up to 5pax. Cabin 205 was extremelly smelly, we are pretty sure there was a sort of death animal somewhere inside. Cabin 206 was not much better but at least it was possible to breath inside.
We headed to the office to complain and they agreed we stayed the four of us in just one cabin and refunded the otherone, I supposed they agreed on that as they were fully booked and had people waiting for availability (don´t understand why ?).
Back to 206 after 5 minutes going arround it and having experienced extremelly unpolite threatment from the people behind the front desk we decided to leave, returned the keys got refunded of our money (surprinsingly also the second cabin) and headed to The Sutton Place Hotel at the outskirts of Revelstoke just at the foot of the ski resort lift. Uncoparable value for money (same price for a two bedroom fully equipped suite with kitchen, aircon, gyn and pool access, etc..).
Would not recomend Canyon Hot Springs for any reason.
Be carefull with the two asian origin women at the fron desk they migh bite your ear if they can !!!.

Room Tip: sorry, no good rooms at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We hadn't read any reviews prior to staying here and will agree that many of our complaints were the same already mentioned.

The hot springs look more like a wading pool than a hot spring, and too many kids splashing around in the 30c pool to make a lounging swim enjoyable. The train passed every hour for early evening and then every two hours or so during the night. Upon checking in the young lady at the counter was less than polite and my husband had to remind her of her customer service.

Styrofoam plate breakfast was way overpriced and less than appetizing and ice cream was good but again cost more than what you pay for.

The maintenance staff take very good care of the property, lots of flowers, greenery and bathrooms and pool area are very clean and nicely maintained.

The one good thing, was when we arrived we asked for a return on our 3 night tent spot (raining) and was instead offered one night in a small cottage with only a futon and desk... we stayed only one night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desert Hot Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews I had to comment. If they could read the signs before
they enter or even pay to swim they would have read there are no street clothes. Swim suits only.
It is a law they have to abide by. Chlorine is a must in any pool. Ever had swimmers itch? Be thankful they take the time and effort to make sure their pools are clean and at the correct temps of which they do several times a day. The property is pristine. The staff is warm and friendly. The food is good and consistent. We found the train not bothersome at all. Actually they have no control over the trains. If you have a hard time with the trains maybe you should check out your vacation plans before hand. Many campsites have nearby trains. And they seldom use the whistles. You will have a hard time finding sparkling restrooms as clean as these. The grounds are clean and have flowers everywhere. It is a beautiful site as well as all of Canada.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

As with most things, Canyon Hot Springs has its good things and of course the not so good things. On this occasion, we enjoyed our stay. We booked a small cabin that had a sink, toilet, and 4 bunks. Bedding was included and we loved the feel and coziness of the cabin. We were able to place a playpen for our two year old to sleep in. Stayed 2 nights. So let me tell you what we thought:
The good- beautiful views, mountain surrounding the campsite, large area with different cabins, different sizes, RV and trailer areas, tent or cars with tent areas, large area to walk around, very clean and well taken care of, easy to find, friendly service, great pool (the main pool is 30 degrees Celsius and the hot pool is 40 degree Celsius), breakfast for all three was included and included coffee/juice, eggs,toast, bacon, pool pass was included in the price.

The not so good- close to train tracks (can be annoying, we got used to it after the fourth train, our two year old did not mind it at all, would have been upset if it woke her up), some things are expensive ( eg. Chicken fingers and fries and soup cost almost $20,breakfast $10, shower $3 ( or you can use the pool shower with a pass), thirty min drive to Revelstoke.

Overall, we really enjoyed staying here. I did not read the reviews until after we left and was glad that I did not read them before our trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank crash2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
16.6 mi away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
16.8 mi away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#12 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
Best Western Plus Revelstoke
#2 of 18 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
17.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#8 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
17.7 mi away
Powder Springs Inn
Powder Springs Inn
#15 of 18 in Revelstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Hot Springs

Property: Canyon Hot Springs
Address: 1-7050 Trans Canada Hyw, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Revelstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Canyon Hot Springs Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing