We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Great Sleep”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location-Great Sleep”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My insurance company put me up in this motel 2 nights a week for 4 weeks. The owners were very accommodating to my varying arrival times. The rooms were very clean, very quiet and I slept like a log every night. Like other motels in Port, there were no teams running around or parties happening. The location couldn't have been better for me. Good restaurants, Beer & Wine, and a pharmacy all in walking distance. Around the corner was Victoria Quay where you could sit on a bench soak up the sun and watch the eagles and the boats coming in. If you're lucky you may spot a bear across the way or sea lion feeding on the fish.
The next time I have to stay in Port, it will be here.

Room Tip: The farther away from the office (the last 2 rooms), the weaker the Wi Fi. On occasion (not often...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    36
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
42
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This motel is not the usual motel. You are greeted by a dazzling array of the most beautiful flowers. The Office & Staff are cheerful,happy,helpful and very caring of your needs. Hans & Janice make sure your visit to their motel is an experience to remember. Hans took Norman and me fishing. As well as catching salmon for the Barbie ( cooked by Hans) we caught salmon to send to St Jeans cannery to be canned & sent home, we saw seals, 3 sea lions, 1 porpoise, and a huge grey whale & baby which played around our boat for about 30 mins.The motel is spotlessly clean with all facilities needed. Cooker,Fridge Freezer,Microwave,Coffee & Tea maker,Toaster etc etc.We have visited for 7 years and would go no-where else. Thanks Hans & Janice. See you next year.

Room Tip: We always have room 105 but they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deabell7245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Exceeded our expectations. The riot of flowers around the motel are wonderful!
The "cottage" is really a 2 bedroom house and it was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. A real gem, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed in this motel only for one night, but found it to be very well equipped. Shampoo, hairdryer, minifridge, hotplate, comfortable bed, good cable, wifi, onsite laundry etc. The only issue (if you can really call it an issue) is just that the site needs a bit of updating (aesthetics only). The room was clean and had everything we needed. It is located only one block from the waterfront, so you can easliy take a stroll on the boardwalk. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiesPosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Our son was playing in the Provincial Squirt Boys championships in Port Alberni for the weekend. My son has allergy induced asthma and needs to stay in a place that has never had pets in it. We arrived to find this beautifully renovated room with two beds and a kitchenette. Very clean and fresh. Everyone we ran into, staff, owners, were incredibly kind and helpful. What a great place. Being a small business owner ourselves, we can appreicate it owners strive to do and be their best. Thanks Riverside. If we are ever in Port Alberni again, we are certainly going to stay at Riverside again...

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MDee_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The cottage was very nice, well furnished, and comfortable. It had a full kitchen with an assortment of cooking utensils, pots and pans. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets were of good quality. Noise from the street was minimal. My only complaint is the lack of detailed cleaning. The bedroom doors had obvious smudge marks from peoples hands and they looked like they had not been wiped clean for quite a long time. The bathroom cabinet tops and fan cover were coated in dust. This is unfortunate as it would have otherwise been a perfect place to stay. I would stay here again, buy hopefully the cleaning is brought up to a better standard.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkydiverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Exceeded our expectations, checked in by cheerful efficient staff member. The motel exterior was a riot of colourful hanging baskets and roses, the room' s decor and fittings were of superior quality as was the linen. The proprietor was most helpful with his advice on where to go (and how to cultivate hanging baskets)! Port Alberni is a pleasant and interesting town and the salmon were leaping upstream whilst we were there and bears were fishing in the river. Extraordinary.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swept Away Inn
Swept Away Inn
#5 of 13 in Port Alberni
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 5065 Roger St, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 3Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and close to all amenities including a beautiful walkway along the river just around the corner. Close to the "Bears on the Boardwalk" the famous "Clam Bucket Restaurant" as well as the Lady Rose Marine Services and the Multiplex arena. Standard Queen Rooms, Rooms with a Queen Bed in the front area and a Queen bed in a separate Bedroom as well as Kitchen suites with a Queen bed in the front area and a Queen and a Twin bed in a separate bedroom. We have air conditioning, wireless internet as well as great hospitality. There is a barbecue area for our guests to use and socialize. Perfect place to use as your home base while discovering Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Motel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing