We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel !”
Review of Riverside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great little motel! Has all the kitchen facilities and is very tastefully decorated. Don't let the exterior fool you. This place is very comfortable and the staff is willing to go the extra mile to make you feel really at home for your stay! Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here after a kayak/hike to Della Falls in Sep 2012. We were exhausted and called around to find a decent price for a good nights rest. We were upgraded to a suite, the room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The room had a full kitchen and a large round kitchen table. Good prices and very nice people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EulalieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

An absolute delight! I've driven past this motel many times, thought the flowers outside the rooms a nice touch, but did not think it could be the best motel in town. I was totally, 100% wrong - it is by far the best accommodation within the city of Port Alberni. It is an older building, but clean rooms that have been beautifully renovated, comfortable beds, quality linens and towels certainly make up for whatever might be lacking in the original design.
Some very nice, homey touches show that the owners/managers care about this business - the little rubber ducky that sat in my shower was too cute!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a tub and a shower, so request one with a tub if you prefer to bath rather than s...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhilborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janicegoorts, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you VERY MUCH for your review. We love to hear the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked this so that we could explore Vancouver island and take a trip on the Frances Berkeley down to Bamfield. The room was spacious and peaceful and was good value. In walking distance of restaurants and shops.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights in August 2013. We had booked a suite, but were upgraded to the 2-bedroom cottage (which had queen beds in both rooms, and two more beds in the living room). The motel exceeded our expectations in the size of accommodations, the general cleanliness and comfort, and location. Very short walk to the Victoria Quay boardwalk, where you can watch bears across the river in the early evening. Clam Bucket restaurant also a very short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Riverside Motel in Port Alberni was recommended to us, but still it exceeded expectations. The exterior is typical older style motel, with pots of flowers providing splashes of summer colour, and a covered sitting area where our group relaxed at the end of the day. The redecorated rooms were very clean, with good bed linens and towels, WiFi, and a suitably equipped kitchenette. The rubber ducky in the bathtub was a playful touch. Service was friendly, altogether very good value.

Room Tip: In our two bedroom unit, the back bedroom had an air conditioner, the front a fan above the bed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at this motel from July 4 until July 10, we went to Port Alberni for a family reunion. The room was fabulous, clean and comfortable, the flowers that grow and are planted are beautiful and give off a lovely scent. Close to cafe's, bistro's, main street, Marina, they were quick to help us find our way around. We would totally recommend this Motel good place for a good value.

Room Tip: Did not have a pool of a fitness centre
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debralee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.7 mi away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
135 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
Sproat Lake Landing Resort
#2 of 13 in Port Alberni
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 5065 Roger St, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 3Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and close to all amenities including a beautiful walkway along the river just around the corner. Close to the "Bears on the Boardwalk" the famous "Clam Bucket Restaurant" as well as the Lady Rose Marine Services and the Multiplex arena. Standard Queen Rooms, Rooms with a Queen Bed in the front area and a Queen bed in a separate Bedroom as well as Kitchen suites with a Queen bed in the front area and a Queen and a Twin bed in a separate bedroom. We have air conditioning, wireless internet as well as great hospitality. There is a barbecue area for our guests to use and socialize. Perfect place to use as your home base while discovering Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Motel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing