We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I always try to stay at Best Western hotels when travelling in British Columbia. The Best Western in Port Alberni doesn't disappoint. Never have I experienced such exceptional customer service and care from a hotel staff. This experience has spoiled me. The staff is friendly, professional and proactive. Manager Peter Mugleston went out of his way to quickly resolve an internet connectivity issue I was having with my laptop. The king business traveller suite has everything the business traveller needs, including an iron. The room and hallway was quiet and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Judith C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our business class King room to be to your satisfaction. I was happy to help with the Internet issue, and we are investigating as to why the issue occurred in the first place, as we have recently upgraded our Internet by adding new equipment and additional access points throughout the hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be happy to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is a bit dated and the décor is tired, but it is clean, has good amenities and is very well located in the downtown. We stayed as a family in two separate rooms, and both rooms were nice. The beds were good, sheets were good, and the bathrooms clean, which are the important things. The restaurant is okay, and the staff are very friendly. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and always appreciate hearing compliments on our cleanliness. We have some plans for the near future involving our lobby and front desk area which will include a new main entrance and décor. We are constantly upgrading different areas of the hotel to provide a better quality and more comfortable stay for our valued guests.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reception was excellent...both Annette (Sales and Marketing Manager) and Jackalynn at the front desk went out of their way to make me feel valued and welcome. They both have mastered the skills of hospitality....kudos to you.
The room was very clean, comfortable and well-appointed, with every amenity. Fast WiFi, convenient parking, a gym and excellent staff make this a preferred destination.
The restaurant offers tasty food and the hotel is convenient to everything in town.
Well-done.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Nigel G,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

I have posted your comments for all our Team to see. It gives everyone an extra boost knowing their efforts made a difference to our valued guests during their stay with us. I agree with you on your comment it's all about the quality of the staff, and am very proud to work with the team at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a surprise reception for our son and daughter-in-law who had been married overseas. Arranging the event was easy and enjoyable. All the staff we dealt with were super - pleasant and very helpful. Special requests (from large dance floor through extra milk for the tea drinkers) were accommodated. We had the "Barclay Sound Buffet" (Chef carved Baron of Beef) and it was great -everything from salads through dessert were delicious and nicely presented. Many guests commented on how good the dinner was. The chef had surpassed my request for one gluten free dessert by making a tray with two choices that were both fancy and delicious. Great value for a wonderful event!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your event at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. We were happy to be a part of this surprise reception for your son and new daughter-in-law and it definitely appeared everyone had a wonderful time.

Should you be interested in doing any other events, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very good accommodation: clean, comfortable and well equipped. My only criticisms are the lack of included breakfast and an extra charge for a refrigerator. However, the on-site restaurant served good food at reasonable prices. Good heated outdoor pool.


Jim Cooper
Courtenay, B.C.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear James C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We appreciate your comments regarding Stamps Café, we are proud of our product and service in all of our food and beverage outlets. We do not offer a complimentary breakfast as many of our guests have commented they prefer to order what they wish off of the menu, than have a limited choice off of a buffet.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed there for Thunder In The Valley drag race weekend. Clean rooms, excellent house keeping staff, the bathrooms a little small, reminiscent of an 80's motor home, and the toilet seats! 2 sizes too small! This is typical of west coast hotels, they have to cheap it out some where! When will they learn! Stamps Cafe excellent food, as well as the pub, good selection of beers and lagers, great pub food! Two nights stay, $228.oo, good value.

Room Tip: Ask if some rooms are larger than others, large bathrooms are good for multi gender families especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Carl G,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, and use this information to continually improve our service and product to all our guests.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Thunder in the Valley weekend is a lot of fun for our guests and staff alike, and we look forward to the event every year. Thank you for your comments regarding Stamps Café and Pastimes Sports Bar and Grill, we are very proud of the product and service we offer to our guests.

Should your travels bring you back to the Alberni Valley, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is pretty good and stamps cafe also good but I found they put a $1000 charge on my credit card for a 5 night stay. I won't stay here again. Also rooms don't have refrigerators. You have to pay extra for this. Also no breakfast. Most hotels nowadays have this.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at our hotel. Customer feedback is essential in our business to make sure that we are on the right path and bringing issues to our attention so we can fix them for the future.

I am concerned that we didn’t properly explain the $1,000.00 pre-authorization that we had on your card. This was based on your five night stay that included your room rate, taxes and other incidentals. We will only finalize your folio and charge your card for your stay upon check-out. Please accept my sincere apology, guest satisfaction is the goal at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and we take great pride to bring the level of our product and the service that goes with it above our competitors.

We are continually trying to improve our property with upgrades to both guest rooms and public areas. We have several projects either on the go or in the planning stages. The BEST WESTERN PLUS standard is also taken very seriously and followed.

Although one of our projects is to install fridges in all of our guest rooms, we do have rooms that have this option now or if requested we could have put one in your room during your stay.

It is always our desire to have our guests let us know if there are problems during their stay so we can have an opportunity to make their stay as comfortable as possible with no issues to cause any undue stress. It also our Front Desk Agents mission to ask, “How was your stay” and to make sure our guest's stay met their expectation level. I am sorry I did not get this opportunity to address your concerns before you left.

I know we can't change prior events but please understand that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Again, I apologize for your experience during your stay and hope if your travels bring you back to Port Alberni you give us another opportunity to serve you.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/GM
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
34.5 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
116 reviews
22.7 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing