We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay for Lacrosse Team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here the Weekend of May 10th for a boys Lacrosse team. The rooms were clean and well appointed. A few of our families had suites which were a nice size, and made the visiting easier.

We were disappointed that the pool was not yet open for the season. The boys would have loved to have been swimming especially since the weather was sunny and warm.

One caution is that we did allow the boys to use the hot-tub. When they went into the sauna to look around my youngest (5 years old) accidentally bumped into the sauna rocks and was burned fairly badly on his arm.

The location of this hotel is excellent, a short drive from the arena, and close to the park and river where we sent the boys to run around and play.

We did not eat in the restaurant, but did enjoy the fact that there was a liquor store on site.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear curlergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were very lucky with the weather as you said which gives the children a chance to enjoy some of our outstanding parks in the area.We are sorry that the pool was not opened as of yet, we generally wait until the long weekend in May to open the pool as the weather is quite unpredictable before then. We apologize that your son got hurt at the sauna, we were unaware of his injury and would have been happy to help with any first aid required.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Clean and comfortable. Rooms are a nice size, has cable tv, beds comfortable. Bathroom is a great size and plenty of counter space for toiletries. Restaurant on site and reasonably priced, good food. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Judy F,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

Thank your for the kind words, we take great pride in the cleanliness at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and try to provide the friendly service that will make all of our guests feel welcome and looking forward to returning. We hope you had an opportunity to see some of the natural splendor that makes the Alberni Valley an incredible place to visit.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family of 3 stayed at this delightful property in mid January. We had heard it was THE place to stay in Port Alberni. We weren't disappointed. The Hotel has been updated with the latest colours and decor. From carpeting, trims, furnishings in the room everything has the feel of new and classy.
We had a drink in the Sports Bar- Pastimes - outfitted with a beautiful big screen TV surrounded by multiple
Smaller screens. The service was impeccable.
We ate dinner and breakfast in STAMPS- delicious , reasonably priced with generous portions.
The room we stayed in was clean , bright and furnished with it looked like all new case goods. Finally the check in was seamless and effortless.
Finally , I have to say for the price of a room here . I highly doubt any Hotels in this area can compete with everything this all encompassing property has to offer. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robwen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Robwen777,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We appreciate the kind words regarding our property and service. We have posted your comments for all of our team members to read. It gives everyone an extra boost to know their efforts made a difference in your experience with us.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was copied off Best Western's own site...
MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY AT A BEST WESTERN PLUS
Our Standard Services & Amenities
What to expect when you stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS*
Upgraded bath amenities—in case you forget anything, we have you covered
Breakfast available to help you get the right start on your day...

Did you see the asterisk? "PLUS" doesn't mean anything until you check with each hotel. "PLUS" didn't mean anything "extra" for our stay this time...breakfast wasn't included. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK

MOST disappointed...won't happen again

Room Tip: It's a lovely new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear bigJ65,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are sorry about the situation that occurred and obviously affected the enjoyment of your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. We have a full service restaurant that offers a wide variety of menu options for breakfast, but we do not offer a complimentary continental breakfast. We can see where the BEST WESTERN advertising might lead one to believe that all the hotels include a complimentary breakfast. As a PLUS we are held to a higher standard of beds, linens, and room amenities to offer the guest a more comfortable stay. I see that apart form this one issue you did enjoy and appreciate the hotel.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for a week with a number of colleagues recently while involved in a work project in Port Alberni. Rooms were clean, quiet and in good condition. We had hit and miss experiences at the pub and restaurant in terms of food quality. Location was very convenient for us. Check in was handled remarkably well given that we had some complicated requests. The absolute highlight was the staff. Every person we dealt with was accommodating and very friendly. One member of our group left an expensive electronic item at the front desk when checking in and it was safely set aside for him when he realized it and returned looking for it. Another member left behind a phone charger on check out and contacted the hotel looking for it. The manager responded promptly that it had been found and made arrangements for it to be returned. All in all a great experience and would definitely recommend this location for anyone needing a quality hotel in Port.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0mmaBear75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear M0mmaBear75,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. Our hotel is very proud of the magnificent team of caring and friendly people we have working with us and we believe that people make the difference between a stay in a hotel and a memorable event in a hotel.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Always is predicable that you receive good service and clean/nice accommodations. It is conveniently located in town and not far from the beach/lake/river/mountains... We always have a nice stay here highly recommend based on price and quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Barry P,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and friendly service to our guests and it is always nice to receive comments that reflect our commitment. We have a very central location in the Alberni Valley that allows access to the many attractions that are available in the area with a very short commute.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The room was nice; the amenities ample. No negatives except parking is a little difficult if you are pulling a trailer. The room was clean and a decent size. The area is very busy during rush hours, so I just stayed in during peak traffic hours.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombassinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Tombassinger,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this Tripadvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we get many comments regarding our central Port Alberni location which is close to the shopping areas, Multiplex sports centre, Alberni Valley Museum, and many attractions in the area. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the beauty of the Alberni Valley during your stay.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
320 reviews
50.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
31.0 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing