We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
cheyenne, United States
1 review
“Best of Best Western”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Best experience I have had in years. Hotel is clean and modern like it just opened yesterday. Staff beyond helpful with directions, service and courtesy. Food was faster than McDonalds and way better. Caution bring an appetite the plate was Full! Will stay there on my next trip for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kerry S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.
Thank you for the comments about our restaurant, we are proud of the service and product we provide and it is nice to hear the feedback. We hope you had the opportunity to take in some of the beauty of the Alberni Valley.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    156
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
113
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our group stayed at this hotel for one night before our early morning departure on the MV Frances Barkley. It was a very comfortable hotel with all the amenities. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the overnight stop

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobVan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear RobVan888,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.
We hope you enjoyed the ride on the MV Frances Barkley, it is a beautiful trip, many guests come to Port Alberni and stay with us while taking the same trip.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I were in Port Alberni for a family gathering and wanted to stay in a hotel rather than with relatives. We like the freedom of a hotel room and the ability to come and go as we want. We stayed at the Barclay because the rates were reasonable and the restaurant serves great breakfasts. Our room was on the top floor and very quiet. Staff were very obliging and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms are clean and comfortable and a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightdog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear nightdog46,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We always appreciate the reviews that mention our team members, all of us take pride in making our guests feel welcome in our hotel and offering advice on seeing the many different places that make up the Alberni Valley. Thank you for the comments regarding Stamps Café, we pride ourselves on offering a wide variety of choices to satisfy almost every palate. We hope you enjoyed your family gathering in Port Alberni.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent two nights here to see nearby Cathedral Grove and found reasonable pricing a great relief after a week in fancier city and resort hotels. Comfortable, large room, somewhat outdated in style, but very clean and homey cottage style furnishings. Like all hotels in BC the A/C was too strong and hard to control but having an openable window helped. Restaurants are family type plain fare, home style cooking &reasonably priced. Plenty of free parking, didn't see any bell staff and didn't need any. Ideal spot for family on a budget.

Room Tip: Don't let the (paper mill?) plant across the street discourage you - there was absolutely no sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Deb S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.
We hope you enjoyed Cathedral Grove and were able to take advantage of some of the other beautiful places in the Alberni Valley during your two days in the area.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

After a long day of travelling from Vancouver, by ferry and bus we straggled into the Port Alberni, Best Western at the end of a blistering hot day. The hotel staff welcomed us warmly. The rooms were large, cool, well appointed, and immaculate. Dinner was very good with large enough portions to keep our 3 young adult sons happy. The pool area and gym were all clean and open late enough for people arriving in the evening. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank dagmar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear dagmar91,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. I am sure the dip in the pool was a welcome and refreshing experience after your long day of traveling, especially after the recent warm spell we have been enjoying. It is also nice to hear your feedback regarding Stamps Café, we have recently introduced a new menu in this outlet and we have been hearing a lot of positive feedback on the food and selections.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Best Western in Britsh Columbia and Vancouver Island had an offer of a free one night stay if I booked three separate visits to different BW hotels. After staying at Squamish, Courtenay and Port Alberni and planning further visits to Tofino and Campbell River I asked about the 'Special' only to be told that it was only valid to Canadian Residents! I had no regrets at staying at the first three, but I didn't stay at the others on principle.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'quiet' rooms at the back in Courtenay! The metal surface of a road bridge nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear chris r,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.
We are sorry to hear that you could not take advantage of the BEST WESTERN Summer Promotion as it is only open to North American residents. I do hope you enjoyed your travels to Vancouver Island and had enough time to take in some of the unique sights and experiences the west coast has to offer.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were very pleased with the hotel and the staff. They went above and beyond to make sure we were feeling welcome. No one rushed us - gave us directions - you name - everyone was just plain nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBarclayGM, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Lynda B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor survey regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel in Port Alberni. Your feedback is important to us as we use it to continually improve our service and product to all of our valued guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel. We enjoy meeting people traveling to Port Alberni and we try to make them feel welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel and the Alberni Valley. We are happy to offer advice and directions to assist people in finding the many beautiful sites and natural splendors that we have in our area.

Again thank you for taking the time, and when your travels bring you back the Alberni Valley we will be pleased to welcome you back to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel.

Peter G. Mugleston
Owner/General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
0.9 mi away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
39.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing